We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all it's cracked up to be.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Bridgeview of Mackinaw City
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed September 19, 2007

The room was not too bad, but a few things bothered us. It was fairly clean, but never up to my standards!

We asked for a bridge view, we could barely see the top of the towers, not exactly a bridge view.

The breakfast room was so small, there were not enough seats. So we decided to go outside to eat our breakfast, we sat in the wooden swing out front, the seagulls were happy to see us!

The chairs on the balcony had so many spider webs, that we decided against using them or the balcony.

The doors in the motel slam shut when you let them go, you can hear the doors throughout the whole motel slamming which meant we could not go to sleep for hours.

The bathroom sink is out in the room, so if you use the bathroom in the middle of the night, you have to wash your hands in the dark, because the light over the sink would have woken everyone up.

It was nice being close to the park.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MCTravelerMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (863)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Bridgeview of Mackinaw City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

849 - 855 of 863 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2007

King room with balcony was very very small and the balcony was the public porch. Room old with very dark and drab drapes, bedspread ect. Not the cleanest. Coffee was terrible. the cheapest of the cheap brand. We have stayed in Mackinaw several times and there are so many nice choices of hotels. We had friends who also stayed the same weekend and asked if their room was any better than ours and they said No. And, no way would they stay there again. One more thing, they need bug control. Spiders all over the outside...balcony/porch area. I asked for a different room and they said none were available. Hard to believe.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barney2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

Hotel looks very nice on the outside with log style siding. But the inside of the hotel was very worn and tired and has seen better days. Our room had the same worn, tried and bland look. We paid way too much for a bridgeview room and barely got to see the bridge on our tiny balcony. The toilet backed up and overflowed in the evening, called front desk, and a toilet plunger wrapped in a garbage bag was given to me by an employee who could only say that they were off the clock. I had to fix the toilet and clean up the mess myself. In the morning the manager couldn't be found to voice my complaint. The breakfast area is no more than a closet sized room with way too many people waiting for stale doughnuts and watered down juice.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevin543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2007

Me and my mom stayed there in the first week of August of 2007; the website said the hotel had bridge views. NO Bridge view at all; it was obstucted by the high pine trees and the motel across the street. I only got to see just part of the south tower. The room we had was not the $225 a night at all!! The room we got was dinky. The staff was rude and the maids didnt clean our room til almost 5p in the afternoon! Next month when we visit we're planning on staying at another hotel in town.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KzooGuy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2007

Cleanliness of hotels seems to be a coin toss regardless of the chain the hotel represents, so to harp on it is somewhat pointless unless it is dangerously dirty. My concern was the door that had is latch duct-taped open. This was the door that lead from the outside to the elevators at the far west end of building. It had the securtiy slide right there, but my guess is that it wasn't working, so they management decided to put their guests at risk and simply tape the latch down. It would be one thing if it were done that morning, but it was quite obivious that it had been like this for a very long time, perhaps the entire summer. There is no camera on this door and it as far from the check-in desk as is possible and has complete access to the elevators that lead to all the floors. There are too many ways for any kind of criminal to get in and wreak havoc and judging the comments on management you would be hard pressed to get them to help you out of a bad situation.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lizzietig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

Very dissapointed in our two night stay at the Super 8 Bridgeview, room 203, second floor. For starters, the service manager was very unfriendly and talked extremely fast and unpersonal. The bridgeview was obstructed by tall pine trees and a very dirty window. The air conditioner vent was filthy. My son suffers from allergies and although is fine with daily medication and slept on the bed furthest from it, he sneezed the whole time in the room. The carpet was not vucuumed. The toilet ran all of the time. There wasn't a vent in the bathroom and the blow dryer unit kept coming unattatched from the wall. Although the room was booked for four, each day, it was only supplied for three. The free breakfast room was not kept clean and was small and crowded.
Not to be totally negative, the beds were comfortable and the refridgerator kept items really cold.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BertMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

Like my 16 year old son said, "They have just enough of everything to say they have it in their ads, but when you get here you see it is all crap". Rooms? small and never finished being cleaned until 5:00 PM. Staff? Very unfriendly, would not look you in the eye. This all starts with the manager who cursed in front of my kids when we complained. Game room? Unusable, old stuff. Hot tub? Small. Sauna? Smaller. Free breakfast? Crowded and small, with dirty tables and long lines.

We have called corporate headquarters to file a complaint.

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank blairrboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#21 of 39 in Mackinaw City
918 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites-Mackinaw City-Bridgeview Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Bridgeview of Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Bridgeview of Mackinaw City

Address: 601 N Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range: $84 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Bridgeview of Mackinaw City 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Bridgeview of Mackinaw City is the only fully log cabin hotel in Mackinaw City. The Super 8 Bridgeview is conveniently located directly across from a thousand feet of beach on beautiful Lake Huron right at the base the spectacular Mackinac Bridge and the Straits of Mackinac, where Lake Michigan and Lake Huron meet. We have bridgeview and lakeview rooms with private balconies so you can enjoy Mackinaw City's natural beauty. Colonial Michilimackinac and Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse, two of Mackinaw City's treasured historical attractions are within 500 feet of the hotel. Downtown Mackinaw City shopping and restaurants are located just a few blocks south of the hotel's excellent location. Enjoy a drink at the historical Dixie Saloon or O'Reilly's Irish Pub & Restaurant just moments from the hotel, a free nightly video light show inside Mackinaw Crossings, and free concerts in Conkling Heritage Park. Mackinac Island ferry service is also within easy walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Super 8 Bridgeview of Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Mackinaw City/Bridgeview Hotel Mackinaw City
Super 8 Bridgeview
Mackinaw City Super 8
Mackinaw City Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing