We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a great hotel to stay at if your visiting Mackinaw City i highly Recommend this one the staff is very helpful and nice, the breakfast was great with many item to choose from. great work Clarion!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    164
    123
    70
    44
See reviews for
270
159
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I would say flip a coin. Many nice hotels in area seem to be very much alike. This property gave us passes to two other properties with 'water parks'; aka indoor pools. This has outdoor walkways, so your door opens outside. But into a small alcove/patio and not directly onto the walkway. HUGE breakfast room. So, eat up! Parking lot would be most easily navigated in a smart car; very tight parking. Door dings possible; especially with wind-whipping. Beach is ROCKY/sandy. Mostly sand in water. Cold. A drainage ditch runs adjacent and dumps right into where this hotel's beach is. A bit less than aesthetically pleasing. But no harm I suppose.

In the end, the room is nicely appointed, two-room suite good for family with above average furniture. Slept well. Very convenient to boats and neat MC downtown tourist-y area. I would like to go back. The island itself proved expensive, imo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JSVTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel for a quick stop on the way to UP, clean rooms, and very spacious rooms ours had 2 queen beds and a king bed. Rooms clean with modern amenities which was nice. Great view of lake , and good breakfast as well. Staff at check in friendly as well as breakfast bar staff

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chefdaddy2472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, MI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

If you can't stay on the island, stay here! Excellent and roomy waterfront rooms, nice free breakfast, and just a short, short walk to the fairy! Loved everything about our stay here. And make sure you eat at Darrows!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzze T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel has gone downhill over the years. It used to be a great place to stay because of the two room suite option, but now all of the cons far outweigh the two rooms. The overall attitude we got was that since it was end of season, we should just be happy with what we got. Our request for a quiet room on the top floor was not originally met and when they finally moved us to the top floor the room was musty and we thought maybe they had already been shut up for the season. The front desk then put a family of 11 in the room next to us, so the "quiet" was not happening. We moved yet again and the suite was even worse. There were cobwebs in the windows and dead insects. One of the heaters did not work and there was no coffee. By that time we decided to just suck it up and finish our stay. The staff kept getting an attitude when I would walk across the parking lot to the lobby area for more towels, coffee cups, etc.
Our stays here in the past have been better, but for whatever reason this time was a comedy of errors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This Clarion is quite large compared to many Choice brand hotels and is 3 stories, with several stairwells in each building. We asked for a quiet room (king) and no sooner got settled in on the 2nd floor, adjacent to a stairwell, than we noticed clearly hearing everyone thumping up and down the stairs. We asked to be moved and the desk staff cheerfully gave us to a top floor room with 2 queen beds. The balcony with a harbor view was a bonus. Everything was in good shape and clean.
Breakfast is served in a large hall with ample capacity, maybe even enough to keep up in full summer tourist season; unusual for most hotel breakfast rooms. Good selection of choices, too.
We would certainly stay at this hotel again, but probably not during their busy season.

Room Tip: For quiet, go to the top floor and away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great getaway hotel with a beautiful view of lake huron! We were upgraded to a suite that had two bedrooms and a balcony. The room viewed downtown mackinaw city, top of the mackinaw bridge, lake huron, and the islands. The room was clean, comfortable, and overall well maintained. The décor is a little outdated and the one wall unit heater/ac didn't seem to work correctly. The parking area is a little odd but that is being picky. Overall it is a great hotel and if you want to be on a sandy beach it is perfect. On the edge of town but easy walk or drive to downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd or 4th floor if you want a great view. Ask for the two room suite that overlooks mackina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.3 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#23 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bridge Vista Beach Hotel & Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#17 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Property: Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Address: 905 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Mackinaw City
Clarion Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing