We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel is one of the better Choice Hotels in Mackinaw City. Our room was large on the lakeside, clean and comfortable. The breakfast room was large enough to accommodate many guests in October on a rainy, windy weekend. The breakfast room was a long chilly walk outside as was the pool house. Breakfast was typical, nothing special.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Holland49423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel Beachfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 634 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was the nicest hotel I've stayed in for many years. People at the front desk were smiling, welcoming, and so efficient. The rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful, way beyond a continental breakfast. The housekeeping is just excellent and the housekeepers were polite and friendly and took very good care of us

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is really only a 3 star. Outside view of the hotel leads you to believe its very nice. However, rooms are dated, stained carpets and overall old feeling. For the price we paid, we were disappointed. Stayed in much nicer for a whole lot less money. Staff not overly friendly, come off rude. Internet was not good, however, after calling front desk, Dave did fix it for us and it worked great from then on. Dave is friendly and does help you to have a pleasant stay. However, it changes somewhat the minute you check out, he seemed to not be quite as friendly anymore. Only one ice machine for the whole hotel, not conveniently located by pool area. It was close to ferry dock though and beach front is pretty . Breakfast is not bad, however, found staff to hide behind in the kitchen and not pay attention to refilling unless asked. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomcat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We booked a 2-room suite, which was spacious and beautiful. They placed us in Room #421, which was the highest floor and a stellar corner balcony, from which we could see both The Mighty Mac and the Lake. I wanted to stay on the balcony the whole time -- it was that beautiful. The Hotel sits right next to Arnold Ferry Line, which isn't a bother at all. It's cool to see the ferries arrive and depart. You were able to close off one bedroom from the other -- very nice! The breakfast was a nice array of hot and cold items. Check in/out were quick and easy. They give you a travel guide that contains coupons. I worried that this Hotel was far from downtown, but it really isn't. Great location, great views, great room!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpringFaith74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

From check in to departure it was a great stay! Everyone was extremely helpful & friendly. The resort was booked full so we didn't get a lake view which would have been great. Although we received a 2 bedroom suite on the 3rd floor which was really nice and for the most part spotless. Not a huge deal but where our room was located you took the stairs and with luggage it was a bit to do. The room featured 1 true size king and 2 queen beds. Which was way more room than we needed but it was fun. 2 huge big screen tvs, microwave & fridge. Breakfast variety was good but, not very tasty. All in all I went with EXTREMELY low expectations but, this resort truly surprised me. It was wonderful...thanks for a lovely stay!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank disneyaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at about 8:30 am. We went in to the desk just to let them know we were there. The desk staff went out of their way to tell us about the area, arranged for a shuttle to take us to the ferry, tell us about what to see and do, and gave us coupons. Our room was quiet, comfortable and clean. We were in a corner and did not mind it at all because then we did not have anyone walking by our room at all hours. The breakfast room was large and the food was good. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a family trip to the UP. We had gone to Mackinac island for the day and had walked 14 miles. We really needed the hot tub to relax in. Hot tub and pool were relaxing. Pretty view of the lake. easy walk to restaurants. Large breakfast area with plenty of food. Beds were comfortable. Rooms were clean. We had a big bathroom too which was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pandita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.1 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#21 of 39 in Mackinaw City
918 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#12 of 39 in Mackinaw City
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 39 in Mackinaw City
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Address: 905 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range: $78 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Mackinaw City
Clarion Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing