We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing Customer Service!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Customer Service!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Love the Clarion!!! Dave is amazing and provided us with Great customer service! We had very poor customer at the comfort Inn cabins across the street .....Dave stepped in and saved the day! Thanks for everything.....we will be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Loneil22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    163
    123
    70
    44
See reviews for
269
158
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I recently visited with my girl scout troop and their moms. The staff were very helpful in putting us in adjoining rooms and all together. We had seven courtyard rooms and all of them were very nice and clean. The pool is in a separate building in between the two buildings of rooms. It was also clean and the girls said the water was warm. The breakfast room was in the opposite building than our rooms. The food was your standard continental breakfast with waffles. It was nice to grab a quick breakfast before catching the ferry. The pool and breakfast room having to be accessed from outside was a tiny bit inconvenient but that was because it was freezing outside. Had the weather been nicer it would not have mattered.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

First, it seems there just isn't much from which to choose when it comes to a Mackinaw City hotel. I chose this one because it was the only one I saw that didn't include in its photo those nasty polyester bedspreads. So, it had that going for it . . . but not much else. We had a room with two queen beds and it had too much furniture, or the wrong kind of furniture. If two people are in the room, it is very difficult to move. And one can't access the giant armoire without blocking the tiny little path to the bathroom. There is a table and chairs in front of the heating/cooling unit that makes it difficult to access the temperature controls. It's also difficult to regulate the temperature and the unit is incredibly loud. The beds are uncomfortable -- lumpy and soft. Between the noise from the heating/cooling system, the extreme fluctuations in temperature (with the unit on it became far too hot and with it off, far too cold) and the saggy bed, we got very little sleep.

The hotel does sit on the beach. Well, part of it does. It, like the rooms within, is designed awkwardly. I took a stroll on the beach; It's a rather ugly stretch of beach and, I think, not terribly conducive to beach activities.

A breakfast buffet is offered . . . in a second story room in another wing of the hotel. It seemed like a very small selection was scattered around a very large space. We decided to go into town and have breakfast instead.

There were a couple positive aspects: The room was actually clean (but it did smell of stale smoke), even though it was worn and out of date. Check-in and check-out were very quick and the front desk staff very polite.

Overall, though, I was not particularly impressed with this property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellywho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek,MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We just returned from staying at this hotel. It just opened for the season this weekend. The staff was GREAT! We had problems not having hot water in our shower. The problem didn't get fixed but the manager on duty took responsibility and offered another room for us to shower in and a credit on our bill for the inconvenience. The breakfast was wonderful!!! Best one I've ever had at a hotel. The beds were very comfortable. We had a suite and the only concern that I can see might arise if you have a full group for the room is that there is only 1 bathroom. We went to one of the water parks that comes with the room and I would recommend that you bring goggles with you. The clorine level was extremely high and our eyes were burning right away. The pool and hot tub at the hotel were perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 236 and it was the perfect location. Right down the hall from breakfast and acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blisters62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have stayed here twice. Both times we were not impressed AT ALL! The rooms were nasty smelling, and very dirty! The second time we stayed here, we had to switch rooms because the first one was so filthy! The staff was anything but nice. The breakfast area ran out of food before we even got down there to eat (it was like 8:00 AM). I refuse to ever stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowbaby1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Decent hotel but avoid room 201. This was their last available room which we accepted after going to 3 other hotels with no vacancy. The price was comparable for the area but not for room 201. The king bed room is right above the lobby and the only 2 windows face the the road and sidewalk. The lighted clarion sign is so bright that the room was still light with the curtains closed. With the windows open you could hear people's conversations on the sudewalk and cars driving by. The room is also very small. I would avoid this hotel in the winter if you want to use the pool area as it is in a different building. The breakfast is crowded and the food is almost inedible accept the cereals, breads and waffles. Avoid the eggs and sausage. It is nice that the Arnold ferry line is right next door and it is a short walk to the shops. The beach looked nice but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kdxdana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We really love this hotel, we had a nice deck over looking the lake and two of the ferry lines. We were almost next door to the bike trail heading south. Very close to everything and a nice place to eat across street. A nice anniversary treat and great color tour. They have a large breakfest buffet.

Room Tip: We asked for upper room overlooking lake, the room is extra nice with high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rex_Sheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#17 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridge Vista Beach Hotel & Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#28 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Property: Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Address: 905 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Hotel Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Mackinaw City
Clarion Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing