We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Another nice stay in Mackinaw” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Another nice stay in Mackinaw”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the second time this past summer. (August, 2012) Both times we've stayed here have been very pleasant. The hotel has free parking, free breakfast, and guests have access to 3 different indoor water parks, which my kids really enjoyed. Check in was quick and easy. We were given discounts to local restaurants and activities. The staff was not overly friendly, but they were polite and answered any questions I had. The rooms were clean and spacious.

We booked a room with a balcony view of the beach, and it was well worth the small price increase. The kids loved going down to the beach and playing in the water. At night, there was a group of hotel guests out on the beach making good use of the bonfire pits. Our room had two beds and a sofa sleeper which worked well for our family of two adults and four kids.

The pool is indoors and just very basic. The kids used it one night for a few minutes, but really preferred to be in the water park or down at the beach. There is a free breakfast. It's basic hotel food, but it's free and is a nice way to start the day, as well as a decent savings for large families.

I would recommend this hotel to those staying in the Mackinaw area, and we will definitely be back the next time we are in town. Thanks for another great stay!

Room Tip: We booked a room with a balcony over looking the beach. It wasn't that much more than the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BethanneU4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    160
    112
    68
    41
See reviews for
252
150
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We enjoyed our weekend spent in one of the hotel's jacuzzi rooms. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I very much appreciated the information provided at the hotel including coupons and suggestions. The room was much larger than anticipated and loved the jacuzzi tub in the suite. The only downside was all of the stairs we had to climb (4 flights) in order to get to our room. Also the hotel is laid out more like a motel (all exterior doors) it was quite a ways to the breakfast area which was on the 2nd floor across the parking lot in another area of the hotel/motel. Thank goodness for the waffles and bagels (they were good) but the eggs and biscuits and gravy were probably some of the worst we've ever had anywhere. Needless to say we went out for breakfast to a great place in town on day 2. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, but had a couple of notable drawbacks. Still loved the city and the island. Will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Request main floor unless you're interested in climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeLindaB38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were very pleased with our recent stay here. Upon arrival, the front desk staff was very courteous and informative. Our room was on the top floor on the beach side with a balcony. It was a beautiful room and we were pleasantly surprised to have a vaulted ceiling which made the room seem even bigger. It was the perfect size for our family of 6. It was very clean. The breakfast was fabulous and the staff behind the counter were joyful and positive. In fact, all the staff we encountered had wonderful attitudes and were fantastic. We had a blast at the pool and hot tub. The first night the pool was amazing, it felt like bath water. The beach was wonderful. It was a bit too cool for us to use it this trip, but if it were warmer, I'm sure we would have sat out there and watched the kids play in the sand and swim. We were extremely pleased with our stay at this hotel and would very likely stay there again when/if we return to Mackinaw City.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knob Noster
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were pleasantly pleased by this hotel's first impression with respect to location (right on the lake shore) and appearance as we pulled into the check-in lane. Then the check-in crew was extremely friendly and helpful. Finally, we were surprised to find we had been upgraded to a beautiful two-room suite for apparently no reason at all. Needless to say we were bowled over by this positive experience. But most importantly, the rooms were clean and the complimentary breakfast was robust. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarmaple65336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We reserved a room through Choice Hotels 800 number for the Clarion Beachfront with the understanding it was a beachfront room with balcony. After we checked in and got into our room it was apparent that it was not a beachfront room and no balcony. We went back to the front desk and explained the situation. Fortunately is was mid-week in October, and the staff helping us indicated that mix-ups did happen sometimes with the reservation system and gave us another room overlooking Lake Huron. The room was very nice, clean and the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spingor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewater, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed at the Comfort Inn, Hamilton Inn and the Ramada Inn in Mackinaw City. The staff at the Clarion are the BEST! Understanding and they want your stay to be pleasant, unlike the Ramada Inn. When we arrived at the Ramada Inn to find the room that we had reserved was already occupied, we said we would stay one night (had reserved 4 nights). Called the Clarion and spoke with Dave. He reserved a room for us and was very understanding of our situation. The room we had at the Clarion was the best room we've had in Mackinaw City. The view of the Bridge and the Grand Hotel was fantastic! The breakfast area was spacious and the food was better than the previous mentioned motels. Definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rugweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanton, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I went around 3:30 to see if I could check in early. They checked me in but said my room wouldn't be ready till about 4:30. So I went and did some shopping while I waited got back around 5 just to be safe. Got my room keys and headed to my room. The room was big and very well cleaned. Bathroom was on the small size but the jacuzzi tub made up for that. The only bad parts about my stay were that I'm on the short size so climbing out of the jacuzzi tub was a bit of a challenge and the bed was not very comfy and I didn't go to break fast because of the location of the room. Other than those minor things I really enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renob88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#19 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridge Vista Beach Hotel & Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#26 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Property: Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Address: 905 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Mackinaw City
Clarion Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing