We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass on this one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed July 24, 2007

My sister in law booked a block of rooms in the lake view for a family get together. (She had gotten a good price) My wife and I decided to go a day early so on the way we called on the way. They said they had two rooms left - one bed and they were $158. I said that was way too much so they immediately dropped the price to $128. I said no and they dropped the price to $108. I took it. Because of the time it could not be cancelled. We rolled in to find the hotel as it says in other reviews was actually in two parts. An old mom a pop hotel circa 1950 in the front, and the newer four story beach front units that are shown in the pictures. Well, we were in the mom and pop units. It had a queen bed, tv, table and two chairs and absolutely no room to walk around in. The bed was hard. Certainly not worth $108, let alone $158. The next night we moved to the beach front units. They were roomy two bed units with a balcony with some cheesy plastic chairs. They were probably worth the money (not sure what was paid for them). As far as the beach, the lake has dropped and the picture was pre lower water level. The shoreline is about 60' further out and not real great.

As far as food - we didn't eat there the first day but it looked good. The second day we got there at 9:45 - they are open until 10:00 and other than bagels, everything was gone.

Given the number of nice looking hotels around, I would take a pass on this one.

Staff in office was not very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JerryU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 316 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2007

We were called at 7am the day of arrival to see if we were coming for our scheduled three night stay. (We were.) The person on the telephone told us an early (12:00 noon) check in was availble. When we arrived at 12:30 pm, we were told to come back at 3pm. When we went back at 3pm our room was still not ready. We were told to come back in 20 minutes. Our room was still not ready and when the manager found out, he went yelling and screaming across the parking lot to where the housekeeping staff were working. He treats his help just awful! A little after 4pm we were given a room that reeked of cigarette smoke. They gave us another room that did not have a screen in the window, but had also just been cleaned (and sprayed with air freshener), so it did not smell of smoke. We checked in, went to dinner, and when we came back, after being closed up for a couple of hours, this room also smelled of smoke. There were bugs on the ceiling so they sent a housekeeper to vacuum (!) them off the ceiling. We expressed our concerns to the manager who became irate. We asked for a refund so that we could move to a cleaner hotel in Mackinac City. (There are so many nice, CLEAN hotels to chose from!) He started yelling at us and told us to get off his property. He refused to refund our money. We filed a police report to help us secure a refund from the credit card company when we file a complaint upon our return home.
In addition, the "beach" is all rocks and smells of sewage. There is overgrown grass and standing water between the "beach" and the property, though we have not had rain in over a week. It was the worst travel experience I think we have ever had. With so many other places to stay in Mackinac City, I would not stay here. We stayed next door to this property at a very nice, clean hotel with a great beach and friendly help. It was also $50 per night less for a room with the same view and a private balcony!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelingwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2007

While we were checking in, the manager appeared, wearing a soiled shirt (looked like yesterday's dinner dribbled on it) and abruptly took over from the desk clerks. He attempted a "switch" offering an upgrade room for 1/2 of what the aadditional cost would have been. We declined, and he seemed miffed. Then, one of the clerks asked him a question that she was transmitting from a customer on the phone. Wearing a very unpleasant expression, he VERY brusqley, gave her an instruction regarding the phone call. the caller apparently didn't accept what she said, and the manager then got on the phone, and VERY VERY brusqley dismissed the caller, saying he will not rent a room at that price. As I was finishing the check-in process, I asked where the house computer was, and was dismissedly told by him that he "does not offer a business center".

The room was acceptable, though it had some cosmetic issues. The breakfast was EXCELLANT, in a spacious, tidy, sunlit room !!!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CopperKingCalumet_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2006

The hotel was ok. We were in the older part. The rooms were clean, but old. The screen doors didnt slide very well and glass doors were dirty. The shower didnt work that well, and had mold growing in it. The beach area was disappointing..not very much beach. TO get to it had to walk down a path through tall grass to get to the small not so nice beach. I could hear the people above us stomping around very early in the morning.

On the plus side, the maids were Very nice, and the beds were so comfotable. I slept so good. The pool was nice and warm, the hot tub was colder than the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lalala24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2006

We stayed for 2 nights with our two children. After we checked in they informed us the elevator was broken and we were on the 3rd floor. They said it was being repaired, it never was. Everytime we came and went we had to carry the baby, stroller, and bags. We asked a second time about the elevator and were told it was being repaired that day, never was.
The manger was rude to his staff in front of us when checking in.
The picture of the hotel shows a nice big sandy beach, it was not. Only a small strip of sand,maybe 5 feet wide, the rest was overgrown with grass.
We received an early wake up call, we didn't ask for.
My daughter left her pillow in the room, when we called about it, they hadn't seen it.
It was a camp pillow she had all her camp friends sign.Gone.
Choice hotels has a 100% satisfaction guarantee, BUT they will not stand behind these franchise hotels, so beware.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aerlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2006

Please don't be fooled by the picture of this hotel or the claim that is has the newest waterfront rooms and suites. While the hotel does have one newer building, the majority of the rooms are in older (at least 30 years old) buildings that must have been part of a "mom and pop" motel way back when.

I booked a 2 room suite and was told we would have a view of Mackinac Island, etc. The suite was in one of the old buildings. The bathroom ceiling was covered in mold. The beds were hard, and one almost completely blocked the wall a/c unit. The 2nd bedroom had no a/c, a tv that got only 3 channels and had no remote, and a sliding glass door with the screen leaning against it, totally off the track. And, no view but the parking lot.

When I complained about the lack of view and said their advertising was misleading, I got the sense the manager had heard this before, as his response was basically "too bad." The rest of the staff followed his lead and seemed to be either lazy, rude, or both. The hotel boasts a hot breakfast bar, which was ok...if the staff could be bothered to refill it. We got back to the room at 5:15 one night and the maid was just starting to clean it- we'd been gone since 10 a.m. Despite knowing we were waiting, it took her 45 minutes to make the beds. She didn't bother replacing towels, coffee, etc. We had to ask.

Their "private beach" is tiny with a few broken down chairs and lots of marshy grass.

Not the worst I've ever been at, but really disappointing.

Stayed: June 2006
7  Thank Jiveturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2005

We stayed on 9/15-9/18 which is near the end of the tourist season for the city.

Plus's: Rooms were clean and well appointed (fridge, TV, nice overall). Breakfast was excellent, and pool/jacuzzi was a nice amenity. Were allowed to use the breakfast room for a get together one evening.

Negatives:
I know weddings are a pain in the rear, but my new wife and I booked multiple rooms for multiple nights and were paying for it ourselves for out of town guests. The front desk was continuously confused about what to do when people arrived (give them their room key?????). We couldn't get the room keys to distribute before they arrived. The hotel was somewhat empty, but rooms weren't ready at 2PM (granted check in was at 3PM) even though ample information/requests were given. NUMEROUS phone calls to verify reservations were fouled up and panic inducing. The end of the tourist season seemed to coincide with the lackadaisical service.
Also, all of the chain hotels are run by the same management group in the off-season. We booked in May (just before the tourist season started), and learned that negotiating (needed 10 rooms for 2 nights, plus a few more for a 3rd night) was somewhat fruitless. These hoteliers seem to know that they have a monopoly, and the independents around there have to overcharge to keep up, it seems.

Would strongly recommend St. Ignace for staying at. Nice town, good food, hotels seem more organized and more flexible. We would have done this but for a semi-truck show that takes over the town in late September every year.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.0 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#12 of 39 in Mackinaw City
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#15 of 39 in Mackinaw City
209 reviews
1.2 mi away
Parkside Inn -  Bridgeside
Parkside Inn - Bridgeside
#17 of 39 in Mackinaw City
164 reviews
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Bridgeview of Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront

Address: 917 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range: $70 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Beachfront
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront Hotel Mackinaw City
Quality Inn Beachfront
Quality Inn Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing