We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
A TripAdvisor Member
“charming and friendly”
Reviewed October 31, 2005

We, ages ranging from 28 to 62, were very pleased with this charming well maintained hotel in a good location able to walk everywhere. No you can't see the water, it is not in the midst of where all is happening but it is a wonderful place to return after a party night and hot touring day. The pool is large and pleasantly refreshing, the breakfast is good, the people are cooperative and helpful, and the rooms are large and well appointed. The playground is a treat from your porch to watch the kids having fun and all in all a nice place to be. Definitely a wise choice, happy we stayed

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    22
    33
    32
    98
See reviews for
95
53
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2005

The fiancee and I decided to have a little weekend getaway during the fall color season in Mackinaw. We are both low maintenance people who are willing to sacrifice a little luxury in order to save some money before our wedding. I was fairly dissastified overrall though.

GOOD: We had no problems at check in although the front desk area/room smelled like old B.O. The interior of the rooms was actually not bad considering how old and run down the exterior of the cabin was. We had the king size bed/ jacuzzi room. The jacuzzi was great and enjoyed the fact it was in a seperate room. The hotel location was very convenient to all of the shopping and ferries. The maids did a respectable job the one day we needed them.

BAD: The shower was ridiculous. First of all, you have to be about 4 feet tall to get under the shower head and the water pressure was almost non existent. The cabin's exterior was in horrible shape. The website shows them as painted white/cream in color which looks clean when in actuality they had an old worn out red barn color and were covered in spider webs at all times. There was no attempt to clean them at all and my fiancee is horrified by spiders. I understand we're up north and you will have bugs but to make no attempts to clean these old spider webs is mystifying. The bed was terribly hard and we both woke up with back aches and we are still fairly young people. (late 20's/early 30's) The continental breakfast/ indoor pool is actually at the sister hotel next door so you might as well stay there for the money.

CONCLUSION: We are not picky people and usually make the best of most situations but I won't return. These problems stem from simply not understanding their customer's needs or just plain ignorance. They weren't that much cheaper to justify the bad qualities. I would highly encourage you to not bring other couples/families with you should you dare to stay because it would be humiliating. The rating system should have 1 and half stars because it was far from "okay, but some problems" but not completely terrible.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SofaKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 12, 2005

This hotel was just geat. The staff, the room, and the free hot breakfast. The room and the grounds were so clean. To have everything fall together so well because the staff is on top of everything made out for a great getaway. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 18, 2004

We (2 adults) booked ourselves via information on the internet . We didn't want to spend a lot due to the fact we only needed the beds for nightime. (all day sight seeing) Then . . . . . we read the two reviews dated 4/30/04 & 6/26/04 after we booked. (shear terror set in) Checking in we asked to see the rm first. We were warmly greeted, professionly shown our rm. The Pool & Spa was also very nice. Later, we had a chance to view one of the chalets (cabin). It was very neat and clean. I don't know what had transpired between these people on these dates. . . . . . . If we go back to this area, we would definately use Econo Lodge again. We also did save money.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2004

Staying at the Econo Lodge Bayview was the worst hotel experience I've EVER had! We stayed in a cottage that was disgusting. It smelled horrible. The shower didn't work and there was a rotted soft spot under the tile in the bathroom. When we decided to check out after 1 night of what was supposed to be 4 nights, the clerk became nasty and rude telling us that we would have to pay for 2 nights. The manager was also VERY hateful and angry. We ended up paying for 1 night after a heated exchange. When I attempted to tell him about the shower, he said, "I don't care what was wrong." Awful is an understatement!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WestChesterOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 29, 2004

If you are planning to stay at this hotel (its not even a hotel) think again. We were traveling with about 30 family members. We were excited to be in 'cabins'. But it was the most dissapppointing experiance ever. It was even more embarasing being that i made the reservations. I didnt hear the end of it from my family. they were dirty, old, smelly and wrong. Stay at the hamilton across the street. Our hotel was so nasty we didnt even have continental breakfeast there we had to go across the street. thats was sad. so if you booked, cancel your reservations. If you havent booked.......RUN.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.2 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#13 of 39 in Mackinaw City
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#17 of 39 in Mackinaw City
195 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Bridgeview of Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
#8 of 39 in Mackinaw City
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Mackinaw City Waterfront
Ramada Mackinaw City Waterfront
#27 of 39 in Mackinaw City
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embers Inn & Tavern
Embers Inn & Tavern
#5 of 8 in Mackinaw City
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 712 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackinaw City Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Mackinaw City
Econolodge Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing