We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, outdated and unclean”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Metro Detroit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old, outdated and unclean”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Econo Lodge for one night on the way home from the UP. We got a cheap deal on a room but we were in a really old building behind the cabins. The hotel room was horrible and the bathroom was dirty. I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    33
    33
    98
See reviews for
96
54
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Nice hotel if breakfast not important

Overall, this is a good hotel. It is clean, comfortable, and conveniently located. We did not notice any stains on the sheets or mold in the bathroom. The new wood walls were a nice touch.

The attached water park also nice. It was clean, warm enough, and not too crowded. It is not anywhere as big or fancy as someplace like Great Wolf Lodge, but it kept our two boys entertained for hours (at a fraction of the cost).

Before staying here, there are two things you should know:

(1) Breakfast needs some work. At least two hotels share the same breakfast. On top of that, it only runs from 6:30 to 8:30. As a result, by 8:00 there is quite a line for the hot items (eggs, sausage, waffles). The room is not quite big enough to seat everybody, and there isn't quite enough staff to keep all the stations full. We had very few problems when we were up and to breakfast by 7:40; but on the days we slept in, breakfast was not pleasant. (Of course, if you are an early riser, or don't eat breakfast at the hotel this won't be a problem for you.)

(2) Prices at this hotel vary considerably. We watched hotel prices for about two weeks before booking our hotel. During that time prices for the first two weeks of August varied from $59 to $139 per night. For those who intend to use the water park, anything under $70/night is a great deal, and anything under $100/night would be a good deal. I wouldn't pay over $100 for this hotel at any time of the year.

In summary: I don't think that we could have found a better value for this particular trip. We would be happy to stay here again if we planned to use the water park; however, if we weren't planning to have a lot of time to swim, or if the price was over $100, we would almost certainly look at other hotels first.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gvlaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Axe, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stay here every October during the Fall Bridge Run. This year was our third year staying at this facility. The rooms are very clean and the location is convenient for walking to restaurants or to you lots of shopping.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms behind the new cabins. They are located so you can basically walk to town an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Checked into cabin at 10:30 PM. The heater in the room was not working. Outside temp was 31. Called front desk and they sent someone who fiddled with the controls and said it would take about 20 minutes to warm up. Half an hour later it was still not blowing warm air. Was finally moved to another cabin. The heater works but it was not turned on and took a very long time to warm up the cabin. Worst place I've stayed in a very long time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camperjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

ANNA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were there in July, 2012. The photos of the cabins found in the AAA book really looked nice, so we made our reservations through the Mackinaw City website online. We stayed 3 nights in a very small, one room cabin that was hidden behind the "nice" looking ones in the photo. It looked horrible from the outside, and on the inside, there was hardly room to walk around the bed. The bathroom was large, but no soap dishes, towel or grab bars in the shower (no tub). I had to use an upside down wastebasket for soap, shampoo, etc. My husband was afraid to get into the shower. There were no comfortable chairs to sit on. There was no closet, just hangers on a rack, no place for suitcases except the floor. We spent a lot of time at the lakefront because sitting in our car was more comfortable than being in the room. On our 10 night vacation, this was the very worst place we stayed --- and the most expensive. We do not recommend this place to anyone. Mackinaw City should be ashamed to show it on their website.

Room Tip: Nothing good to say about this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank JOYCE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We made an on line reservation which was confirmed in writing and specific to a chalet with a Queen bed. When we arrived the staff stated the website showed just a Queen bed (even though we had the printed confirmation to the contrary and they had called that morning to confirm the reservation). It was the beginning of the holiday weekend and they tried to force us into a very dirty second story, old room with a Queen with $10 off. We then had to find another hotel and of course the adjacent one (share the same staff...hmmm) offered us a clean room for more than double the price at the Comfort Inn. Can't help but be suspicious and was certainly dissatisfied.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Unpretentious208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

when we got there, we were early so it was understandable the room wasnt ready, but when we came back, they gave us a room key and when going to our room, the room still had the cleaners cart in it. We had to wait in the hall for 45 minutes before the room was ready. When entering the room, we noticed hairs on the towels in the bathroom, disguisting.
Also the woman at the front desk was rude.
They also misrepresent themselves on the website. They say check in is at three, but it is at 4, and they say there is a basketball court but there hasn't been one in four years.
The breakfast is excellent but it is in another location and is shared with 3 hotels, equaling a lot of guests, and the silly part about that is it is only open between 6-830 am, pretty stupid considering three hotels share it.
We would never stay here again.

Room Tip: stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.2 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#11 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#17 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Bridgeview of Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
#8 of 39 in Mackinaw City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Mackinaw City Waterfront
Ramada Mackinaw City Waterfront
#28 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embers Inn & Tavern
Embers Inn & Tavern
#5 of 8 in Mackinaw City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 712 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackinaw City Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Mackinaw City
Econolodge Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing