We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sucks, sucks, sucks” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sucks, sucks, sucks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Checked into cabin at 10:30 PM. The heater in the room was not working. Outside temp was 31. Called front desk and they sent someone who fiddled with the controls and said it would take about 20 minutes to warm up. Half an hour later it was still not blowing warm air. Was finally moved to another cabin. The heater works but it was not turned on and took a very long time to warm up the cabin. Worst place I've stayed in a very long time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camperjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    32
    29
    93
See reviews for
88
47
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ANNA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were there in July, 2012. The photos of the cabins found in the AAA book really looked nice, so we made our reservations through the Mackinaw City website online. We stayed 3 nights in a very small, one room cabin that was hidden behind the "nice" looking ones in the photo. It looked horrible from the outside, and on the inside, there was hardly room to walk around the bed. The bathroom was large, but no soap dishes, towel or grab bars in the shower (no tub). I had to use an upside down wastebasket for soap, shampoo, etc. My husband was afraid to get into the shower. There were no comfortable chairs to sit on. There was no closet, just hangers on a rack, no place for suitcases except the floor. We spent a lot of time at the lakefront because sitting in our car was more comfortable than being in the room. On our 10 night vacation, this was the very worst place we stayed --- and the most expensive. We do not recommend this place to anyone. Mackinaw City should be ashamed to show it on their website.

Room Tip: Nothing good to say about this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank JOYCE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We made an on line reservation which was confirmed in writing and specific to a chalet with a Queen bed. When we arrived the staff stated the website showed just a Queen bed (even though we had the printed confirmation to the contrary and they had called that morning to confirm the reservation). It was the beginning of the holiday weekend and they tried to force us into a very dirty second story, old room with a Queen with $10 off. We then had to find another hotel and of course the adjacent one (share the same staff...hmmm) offered us a clean room for more than double the price at the Comfort Inn. Can't help but be suspicious and was certainly dissatisfied.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Unpretentious208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

when we got there, we were early so it was understandable the room wasnt ready, but when we came back, they gave us a room key and when going to our room, the room still had the cleaners cart in it. We had to wait in the hall for 45 minutes before the room was ready. When entering the room, we noticed hairs on the towels in the bathroom, disguisting.
Also the woman at the front desk was rude.
They also misrepresent themselves on the website. They say check in is at three, but it is at 4, and they say there is a basketball court but there hasn't been one in four years.
The breakfast is excellent but it is in another location and is shared with 3 hotels, equaling a lot of guests, and the silly part about that is it is only open between 6-830 am, pretty stupid considering three hotels share it.
We would never stay here again.

Room Tip: stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

One room, 2 queen beds, separate bathroom. Room needs updating and more lighting. Didn't spend a lot of time in room, so the price paid was ok. Breakfast is located in hotel next door - waiting line is horrible and is only from 6:00am to 8:30am. Waterpark is also located in hotel next door.

Room Tip: If you want to spend a little more for a room, upgrade to the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikki27f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in one of the renovated cabins. When we pulled up to the cabin and saw the outside I was not impressed to say the least, but was pleasantly surprised when we opened the door. The inside was completely revovated. It had 2 bedrooms, a tv in each room and a small table and refrigerator also a small table and chairs outside. It was a little cramped but served its purpose. For the price you couldn't beat it. It also included breakfast and the indoor waterpark next door. Also had an outdoor pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank endlessbeachdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloyne, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

What a pleasant surprise to open the door and find all the walls redone in new "tongue and groove" pine. Really made the place appealing. The breakfast included scrambled eggs and sausage patties, as well as waffles toast and cereal. Only an outdoor pool, but it was hot the day we were there so no problem with that. The new cabins looked terrific but would probably command a much higher rate the the senior deal we got. Worth the money!

Room Tip: If you want to splurge a bit reserve a cabin with a spiral staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinaw City
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
#19 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.5 mi away
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
#21 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 712 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackinaw City Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Mackinaw City
Econolodge Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing