We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Trip, good inn and had good time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Mackinaw City
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was one of the user who read blogs and select my stay, when i read the blogs about this inn and kind of double mind to select this inn, so called the Manager and wanted to talk to see i can go with this inn. After talking with the Manager, i didn't even think again i booked the room right away, she was so nice and helping. After we reached the inn, we really enjoyed the stay, we got what ever we wanted and what ever we asked. Rooms where clean and it was really pleasent stay, add the inn in my good books... would sure recommend for my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohamed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Knights Inn Mackinaw City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 75 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

As a group, we had several rooms. They made sure we stayed together. The rooms were clean and the rate we got was what made us come back a second time. The owner is very friendly and accommodating. You can always see improvements of any place that you stay but I focus on customer service and that rated #1 in my book. If I had a camper, I would have also stayed at her campground that she owns. You get the best of both worlds, close to the water and shopping downtown at a much cheaper rate than the hotels next door. They are working on updating and repairing. Chris, the owner, has a colorful personality. She made the stay more fun and interesting.

Room Tip: North side room are nicer.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lhehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

A group of eight of us stayed here 6-13-13 on our way to the U.P. for a weekend motorcycle trip. The owner Chris (?spelling) was so friendly and accomodating. She gave us a GREAT rate. We planned on staying again on Saturday evening on our way back from the trip and she let us leave our truck and trailer we hauled up in the parking lot. The rooms were a bit dated but everything was VERY CLEAN. The place was quiet and everyone was friendly. Upon our return on Saturday we received a free room upgrade! Those rooms were absolutely wonderful. We had our own little area with a deck so that our group could sit outside and relax after a long weekend of riding. The owner explained to us that she just recently took possesion of the hotel and is working to upgrade and fix it up. She's doing an excellent job. We are planning another motorcycle trip to the U.P. again next year and will stay here again for sure! The only negative thing I could say about the hotel is that there were coffee makers in the rooms but no coffee to brew. They did have free coffee in the office but I have to say it's some of the worst coffee I've ever tasted. We can't wait to stay again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHilt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Now called the STAY INN with new owners that have a lot of work to do. Stayed here Sept 15, 2012 for the Richard Crane Truck Show. Its a great location for viewing the parade of semis coming over the Mackinaw Bridge. Thats the best part of this hotel, the curb.
The bath is so small you won't want to or can't use it. It's old tired and needs alot of work. It had WIFI but only 20 channels on the TV. The closet (10 inches) was in the bathroom next to the cracked sink.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IMMRSPZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Same property, just a different name. They have painted over the sign out front for Econo Lodge, and use the marque sign below with the name "Stay Inn". The big "e" logo remains. We rolled into Mackinaw City never expecting to need a reservation, as they always seem to have lots of rooms. The weekend we came to town however was the one when two conventions were in town. Everyone was booked. We came to this property as they had several rooms available. No wonder! The room was expensive for what we got - $69 + tax. There are two parts to this property - a one level of very old and dated rooms, and a two story building with somewhat newer rooms. The woman at the front desk was very pleasent, and even suggested other properties that had a pool (this one does not). After a few calls we realized these may be the last rooms in town, so we stayed. From the maintenance of these though it is likely that they have not seen much maintenance in a decade or so. The stairs and decks to our second floor room were very worn and splintery. The room door was opened with a key, so very poor security compared to a cardkey system. The room was mostly clean but dated. Although we were shown a room with a mini fridge and microwave there were not these in the room we rented. There were only two small bath towels available. There was no hair dryer or iron in the room. My girlfriend brought her own small travel hair dryer, plugged it is, then POP - blew the circuit for the whole room. There we were, in the dark. I called the front desk and heard "Oh, yuo must have been running the bathroom fan while running a blow dryer. You can't do that" (Oh, silly us, thinking there would be enough power to meet code?!) This room likely should have rented for about $40 then I would not have been dissappointed. Although they claimed to provide a continental breakfast it was lame. There was no coffee in the pump thermos. I rang the bell on the desk. An older man, not too friendly, took the thermos but it never re-appeared. There were a few cheap store bought tiny swirl cinnamon buns and a loaf of bread, a toaster, a pitcher of O.J.. This place needs help.

Room Tip: two story rooms are newer.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jiml3222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We booked our cabin in January for July. After doing more research of cabins we decided it would be to small. So we cancelled and booked some where else. Well or plan changed we did not make it to Mackinaw City. I cancelled my cabin by Febuary. We still made our trip to Michigan. While on vacation we got a call from Mike the manager saying we would be charged for no show. Someone down the line in reservations screwed up. Never cancelled our cabin. Now he is going to charge us 215.00 for never being there. This is bull. Never stay there manager Mike needs customer service training. He hung up on me very rude guy. Does not believe my story that his team could have ever made a mistake. Please never ever stay at Cabins of Mackinaw.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessy2577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Arriveed in town without reservations so spent some time searching. Prices were ranging from 198.00-308.00.then we checked econ.89.99! clean. comfortable. convenient. no extras like pool or breakfast but we didnt need those. the hotel is right next to a family owned restaurant which was wonderful. we were 3 blocks from downtown shopping,ferry to islands and museums. Glad we kept looking!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
0.5 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#15 of 39 in Mackinaw City
209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Budget Inn Mackinaw
Budget Inn Mackinaw
#25 of 39 in Mackinaw City
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
#19 of 39 in Mackinaw City
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Great Lakes Inn
Great Lakes Inn
#26 of 39 in Mackinaw City
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites-Mackinaw City-Bridgeview Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Mackinaw City

Address: 412 S Nicolet St, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9657 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range: $53 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Mackinaw City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Knights Inn Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Econo Lodge
Econolodge Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing