We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, worn out, way too much $ for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Mackinaw City
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed August 8, 2011

If this room had been $39.95, I wouldn't have left this bad review. So when our reservation came in at $120 + tax, we expected more. We experienced a very old motel room with stained carpet, tiny, old, patched up bathroom, and a unusable, terrible shower. None of us could take a shower since the water was either SCALDING HOT or FREEZING COLD and would shift constantly between the two temps no matter how you tried to balance the flow. The man at the desk appeared to be bothered in general and esp by my request for extra pillows. In all fairness, he appeared to have a physical disability so we don't want to blame him too much. The hotel advertised a free breakfast. Here's what we greeted us in the cramped, outdated lobby: a 12-pack of mini donuts from the conveniecne store, bad coffee, and a couple of old apples . All of this might have been funny/charming had it not been for the way-too-high-discounted price we paid for the night. We certainly were not expecting a four-star hotel, BUT we thought the experience would be much better considering our typical stays for $70-90. Our advice to the owners? Listen to the reviews, fix the things that don't work (especially the hot/cold shower issue), update, clean your carpets, take 15 minutes to reconsider what you serve for breakfast. Perhaps it is that the whole area in the UP where we stayed is over-priced? Nonetheless, we stayed the night previous at Niagara Falls where room rates were less and the rooms 100-times better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelartistgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Knights Inn Mackinaw City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 75 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2011

Room appeared clean, but very much needing updating. Bathroom was very, very small. The internet was not working at all even though it is offered "free wi-fi". We went to speak to the manager and he seemed rather annoyed and replied, "I don't recall you asking about the internet and informed us we needed a user name and password." In most situations, a hotel clerk would write this down for a guest, but he gave it to me verbally to remember. After countless times of trying, we still never connected. The TV in our room wouldn't work at all and was all scrambled. Again spoke to the manager and his reply was " the housekeeper must have not checked it and he didn't know that it wasn't working." He further stated that he would have to wait for his wife to return home before he could look at it and for US to wiggle the cables. We walked out the office thinking that we were an inconvience to him. So after the wife came home she (who was nice and attempted to be accomodating) she couldn't get the internet or the TV to work. At this point we decided that we were going to attempt to find another room in the area. It was Friday night at 6:30 p.m. and I got on the phone with Choice Hotels and complained and they got us another, much nicer room in St. Ignace for the same price as this hotel.
I will never ever stay at this hotel again... Between the outdated non-working equipment, the uncaring attitude of the male manager, no chain locks on the doors and the noise of the freeway, this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcbigdogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

We stayed at this motel for one night. The owner, Dave, was nice. For a short stay, the room was perfect. The room was small and clean. The motel hasn't been updated (except for the carpet), so it's quite old. No hair dryer in the room, but there is a coffee maker. Nice restaurant next door....great for all three meals.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delsolseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

The hotel's location is very nice and you can see the foot of the bridge from your window as well as beautiful lilac bushes and a windmill.
I was shocked to find out that the part of the hotel we stayed in had two sliding glass doors and no solid exterior door. This was a real nightmare for us, as our 18-year-old son has severe autism and does not have the ability to keep himself safe.
I went to the front desk upon checking in and realizing we could never keep him safe in that room and explained the problem. After waiting for a group of people and their huge dog to be helped, I explained our situation. The man at the desk told me there was only one other room. I took the key to that room to go check it out while my husband was in the other one hanging onto my son so he could not get out.
The other room had one normal exterior door and one sliding door. There was a wasp in the room that I tried to kill so I could look over the room. It doesn't take long to look over the rooms, as they are very small.
Since we had already booked online and I wouldn't get my money back, we accepted the other room, but not happy about it. The wasp survived my attempt to kill it and my husband finally got it and then spent the next 20 minutes looking for the body on the floor. We had to rig up some clever ways to block my son from having access to the sliding door. I didn't sleep well worrying about it all.
There are no amenities to speak of, but the room was clean and there were no noisy guests. Don't plan on anything good to eat at their breakfast. It's not far from the ferry boat docks and is right by the lake. You can walk literally half a block and be at the waterfront where Lake Huron and Lake Michigan meet and walk right underneath the beautiful Mackinaw Bridge.
We had other family members who stayed in another room. I had booked their room for a rollaway bed. The man at the front desk asked if we REALLY needed it. We did! He brought it down later and it barely fit. You could barely squeeze through to get to the bathroom after it was unfolded.
It's not the place for you if you have someone with autism or another disability with you!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank autismadvocate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2008

while clean, and employing a pleasant staff, this motel is extremely old and in dire need of an update. And for the price that they charge, they should be able to afford the upgrades that they need. The small chipped and cracked sink hung on the wall with a metal shelf mounted above it - I guess it was their idea of a vanity. The tub was so old, it was permanently stained. A drop ceiling is obviously in place to hide the other defects that I am sure are above it. Breakfast was bread - oh, you can toast it. My advice, pay more and get a whole lot more bang for your buck somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelingalColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

We stayed on a Friday night. Had no reservation, was given a room immediately. Friendly owner. We were on a motorcycle. Asked for some older towels to clean the cycle. Owner was very helpful.

Only glitch we had was the a/c in the room was not working properly. The room was clean. Great value. Would recommend this facility.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartiniWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2007

Nice clean hotel for a very fair price on a Wednesday night.
Honored a AAA discount after quoting standard room rate.
The owner operators are very friendly people. Even when we asked for extra pillows at 10 pm the service was givin with a smile .

-Paul from New Hampshire

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgcpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
0.5 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Budget Inn Mackinaw
Budget Inn Mackinaw
#25 of 39 in Mackinaw City
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
#19 of 39 in Mackinaw City
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Great Lakes Inn
Great Lakes Inn
#26 of 39 in Mackinaw City
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites-Mackinaw City-Bridgeview Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Mackinaw City

Address: 412 S Nicolet St, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9657 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range: $53 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Mackinaw City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Econo Lodge
Econolodge Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing