We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poop in the pool”
Review of Thunderbird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I also booked this place based on Trip Advisor reviews and price. My family arrived at check in, got our room, relaxed a few minutes and got ready to go to the pool. This was very important in our mini family vacation to have a place with a pool. The kids were so excited. Until we got to the pool and seen poop in the bottom of it! Disgusting!! We went back to our room, packed everything back up into the car and check out. The desk clerk gave us no hassel, just told him the pool was very unacceptable and he refunded my money and we moved on.
Later in the weekend I was looking for hotels to stay at for another night, I see the Thunderbird Inn listed, one room left for $500! I don't know how rates can fluxuate so much for one place, but I wouldn't spend a dime here!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Unfortunately things happen that are out of our control. We didn't hassle you about the refund as we know how important a pool can be to guest on a warm summer day. If your not happy with us we want you to be happy somewhere else. We hated to lose your business but appreciate the red flag about the pool as we had to shut it down to properly clean it. Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Thunderbird Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 209 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

I chose this hotel because of good reviews and good price. I was disappointed in the quality. First morning tub filled up to 6" during shower and drained ever so slowly. I informed desk clerk in the late morning and was disappointed in the evening when we got back that it was not fixed. Second call resulted in repairman who "fixed" it. Next morning same thing. Notified desk early in the morning. Came back in evening and still not fixed. Requested new room. He said he would send repairman. Later I called again to find repairman had already went home but we could take room with one bed, so we moved. First 2 days Wi-fi kept kicking us off periodically. Last 3 days it showed we had signal but would say we were not connected to Internet. Shower water would go cold periodically. Pool felt cool and had dirty junk in bottom, which was not appealing so we did not use. One day our room did not get cleaned. Room could stand a better cleaning, like dust top of tv cabinet, clean above shower edge - garbage from last tennant up there. Good things were location, price, comfortable beds, nice staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa12755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

I would love to speak with you directly about your stay as I cannot see your name to see what room you were in to see who cleaned it previous. I would like to speak with them to make sure they are doing there job properly. As far as maintenance goes I do apologize I have since let him go, not that it helps you for your stay, but I wanted you to know I did correct the issue. I deeply apologize and would again love to speak with you so I can make sure no other guest has to deal with these issues. Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We enjoyed hotel was clean good location till breakfast on August 2 stay. Male attendant was so RUDE. No fresh cereal bins filled 2 days waffle maker not working properly NEVER ever greeted one guest was so hateful acting, many people were complaining to front desk staff upon checkout. Totally uncalled for with his poor attitude. He Needed a major attitude adjustment. We were there for Mini Cooper rally. Front desk personnel went out of way to be helpful with directions and all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

I am so sorry about the breakfast attendant, I am not sure what was going on with him that day but I have since spoke with him about how we do things here. I also got word about it that morning and immediately assigned someone to work with him the next day. Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I'm not usually too picky for a budget hotel, but with all the hotels in Mackinaw City, there has got to be better. My hudband and i stayed two nights in a room with a queen bed and pull out couch with our two small kids. The negatives:
1. Musty smell in room
2. Old and worn looking furniture and wallpaper
3. Shower runs hot and cold
4. Neighbors shower is really loud on our room
5. Internet did not work
6. Tv remote did not work
7. Breakfast was pretty bare and ended too early
8 coffee maker in room looked and smelled as if its never been cleaned.
9. Pull out couch was very uncomfortable (even for a pull out couch) although our kids didn't seem to mind.

Positives:
1. Decent location
2. Very friendly staff
3. Indoor pool
4. Price

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenah918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

I am so sorry about your room. I will inspect that room right away and make sure no other guest feel the way you felt in there. I am glad you enjoyed the location, price and pool but that doesn't make up for the rest of your stay. I assure you we hold ourselves to the highest standards and these comments concern me deeply. They will be taken very seriously and attended to right away. Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had stayed one nite, July 11 2013, our bathroom vanity was covered with ants. We did not keep any food in the room and was afraid to leave any of our bags/luggage open. I did not sleep well that nite at all. I did leave a note in the room, becasue we left very early the following day. I will not stay here again

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

I apologize about the Ants, I was unaware there was a situation with them. If you would have called me or the front desk we could have switched you rooms and tended to the problem right away. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, this is never our goal. Our goal is to provide superior customer service with a clean and safe room for you to enjoy. If you ever come back to the Mackinaw area I would love another chance to WOW you with our services. Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Spent the night here with a tour group in July and the rooms are clean and good size. The only issue was the shower water temperature was constantly changing. The breakfast room was nice and had a typical breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captainfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you so much for the nice review. I apologize about the shower it is a constant concern we are always working on. I hope you enjoyed your tour to mackinaw. :) Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Allen at the front desk was very helpful and courteous. From the outside the Inn was welcoming and the grounds neat. Our room had everything we needed to spend a comfortable night. Good Bed, pillows too big. Clean and spacious bathroom. The carpet was wet around the refrigerator. There was a bit of an odor. The free internet was so slow. The Inn is very handy to all the eateries and shopping areas.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grayson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

I deeply apologize about the carpet in your room. I will check that out immediately as whatever is causing it needs to be tended to in case there is a leak. Thank you so much for bringing it to my attention so the next guess won't have to experience that as well. Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites-Mackinaw City-Bridgeview Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Inn

Address: 146 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range: $62 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful and historic Mackinaw City, the Thunderbird Inn is the premier choice in accommodations. Situated less than 1 mile from the downtown area, the Thunderbird Inn boasts a quite location still within walking distance to area shops, restaurants and attractions. Offering all the amenities you have grown to love, our property offers free Wi-Fi, a complimentary breakfast, indoor seasonal pool (May 15th - Oct 15th), coffee maker, iron and ironing board, and so much more! We are a AAA approved, pet friendly (specific rooms, subject to availability) property offering the very best customer service Northern Michigan has to offer. Take advantage of our packages and discount tickets to local attractions and ferry lines to Mackinac Island. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Mackinaw Area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Best Western
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing