We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Thunderbird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Port Hope, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice, clean and affordable! The only disappointment was the WiFi very bad reception. This is a place we will visit again next year. Hopefully next time the internet will work better. The pool was great it even has a deep (9 foot end).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and will be returning. I am sorry about the WIFI we have had a lot of troubles with that this year, and yes hopefully next year you will have great reception. Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    72
    42
    21
    24
See reviews for
73
81
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shippensburg
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here recently for several nights. Requested very quiet room and did get one. It was clean enough but I am guessing no one stayed here for a while before us and they didn't do a re do. Some dead bugs when we entered and it took a LONG, LONG time for water to get hot. But once it did it was great. This happened often in our stay. To be fair, didn't say anything as I liked location of room and we could deal with it. Do agree breakfast is somewhat limited. But, not with AC comments that are negative. That is VERY important to me and ours worked wonderful. The interactions I had with staff were SUPER. Very friendly. It was irritating that the internet didn't work well and was actually out for a few days when we were there. I realize it is just nice to have as a benefit but there should be some refund or something I think. I book to have internet to have travel assistance and stuff. I understand connectivity is up and down (breakfast room was always good) but when completely out something should be adjusted a few dollars. Didn't use pool but it looked super. All in all pretty clean other than the bugs. Would I stay again...not sure. There are so many choices, may take another shot. However, price was VERY good here for time of year. Also close to ferries/restaurants that were good and EZ access to roads (interstates/traveling highways).

Room Tip: Request one of the rooms in a single level building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WHISKEYTIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I am so sorry about the bugs and hot water. This should have never been missed in the room. And the internet is up and running now I am just so sorry for all the things wrong with you room. I am glad you enjoyed the quietness of your location and the staff and the ac...We try very hard to ensure everyone has a wonderful stay with us. So thank you for the honest reviews it helps us to know what is going on with the rooms as we dont stay in them so we rely on our guest to let us know, Please fell free to call me if you would like to discuss this any further. Teresa 800-633-1515
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. At the price, we expected a motel that we could tolerate for one night before staying on the island for several days. Instead, we found a comfortable, clean room with air conditioning and a refrigerator. The room was quiet even though it had an outside entrance door and it was ready when we checked in early. The wi-fi was fast and reliable. There is an indoor pool that's in the middle of the parking lot and is connected to the room where breakfast is served. It looked nice but we didn't try it. Breakfast selections were limited, but good especially considering the price for the night. No lake view or waterfront, but it's a quick drive or walk over to the lake, shops and restaurant. This is a great city option.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rameyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for the great review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I also am a big fan of our location. It is great being so close, yet feeling so far away. I am gald you enjoyed it as well. I wish you safe travels back home and hope to see you again in your travels to Mackinaw. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Pros:
Very friendly and helpful staff
convenience of parking in front of your door
Throwback pricing
fridge in room
Cons:
Wireless just didn't work
Breakfast is just not very good
tough to maintain comfy temp in room using AC unit

Overall, it is tough to ask too much of the hotel given the VERY low price we paid. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a simple night's stay in a convenient location, this place is for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingman979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay, I do apologize for the wireless we were battling it out with att.. I did get it working the next day, but I am sorry we didnt have it during your stay. Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentwood, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The staff was very friendly and courteous. The complimentary breakfast was very good. I just loved the fact that they have a printed list of the channels available on TV. It's small things like these that make the stay at this inn very pleasurable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amruta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the channel guide. We try very hard to make the hotel as enjoyable as possible. I hope to see you again in the future in your travels to mackinaw. Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redford, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have looked over many reviews for hotels in Mack city and this one had the best reviews I've seen. I love how attentive the GM is and she seems to really make herself available which is really awesome! We are coming in today to stay here before we head out to the island for the next night and I'm excited to stay here already lol!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
I am glad you choose our hotel, and I truly hope you enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to contact me with any comments you might have about your stay. :) Teresa 800-633-1515
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Loved it on our trip up north and loved it on our way back home. I will try to stay at this type motel where you park directly in front of your door. It's so easy to unpack and pack the car. When I made a mistake, they went out of their way to help me. On our next trip up north, we'll be staying again. Continental breakfast has a good variety of foods, and the indoor swimming pool is fantastic.

Room Tip: Make your reservation early, before the no vacancy sign appears.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiggerthehun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
I am so glad you returned and enjoyed your stay once again. I hope you have safe travels home and come see us again soon. If I can be of any further service please don't hesitate. :) Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#19 of 39 in Mackinaw City
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
0.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites-Mackinaw City-Bridgeview Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Inn

Property: Thunderbird Inn
Address: 146 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful and historic Mackinaw City, the Thunderbird Inn is the premier choice in accommodations. Situated less than 1 mile from the downtown area, the Thunderbird Inn boasts a quite location still within walking distance to area shops, restaurants and attractions. Offering all the amenities you have grown to love, our property offers free Wi-Fi, a complimentary breakfast, indoor seasonal pool (May 15th - Oct 15th), coffee maker, iron and ironing board, and so much more! We are a AAA approved, pet friendly (specific rooms, subject to availability) property offering the very best customer service Northern Michigan has to offer. Take advantage of our packages and discount tickets to local attractions and ferry lines to Mackinac Island. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Mackinaw Area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Best Western
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing