We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Passing through” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thunderbird Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9652   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Grand Bend, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Passing through”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Reviews were very good so decided to try on return trip. It turned out to be an excellent choice for comfort, service and value. Breakfast was better than average with a spacious eating area. Rooms were very nice an comfortable. The pool looked nice but we didn't try it. The wireless Internet worked well after a call and starting by going out to the pool area and returning to room. Some sort of weak signal problem. All in all this was a great choice and worthy of a repeat.

Room Tip: For Internet close to office as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loumar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. I do apologize for the internet signal it is something we are constantly working on, and I have no plans on stopping until the issue is resolved.

Sincerely,

Teresa Anderson/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    54
    34
    18
    20
See reviews for
56
65
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calumet, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My friend and I just returned from Mackinac City. We stayed at the Thunderbird on 9/ 15 & 16th. We had a nice clean room, great breakfast, big clean pool! I only have 1 complaint and that is towards the housekeeping. When we checked in we didn't have any towels in our rm. We called the desk in which we were told that they were still being washed. We never got any!! We went and had to take pool towels to use. The next day we got back from the island and we came back to find that our beds weren't made, no clean glasses , 4 bath towels, ( no smaller ones) and no toilet paper! I have NEVER been in any motel where they didn't make the beds , even if you agreed to not having the sheets changed! Overall though, had a good stay!!! Wish the pool opened earlier though, so we could swim before checkout! ;-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplelover45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay, I do apologize about the housekeeping and will work very hard to see that that does not happen to anyone else. I will also get some new towels ordered so people arn't having to wait. I hope you enjoyed Mackinaw.

Sincerely,

Teresa Anderson/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We pulled in just before midnight looking for a clean motel at a good price. We usually stay at larger chains but find the price high in tourist areas. They had a king available at a great price. The room was very clean and in good condition with the room amenities found in chain Boyle's. The hot breakfast was tasty. The folks were friendly and even allowed us to fill our coffee thermostat for the road. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluetvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
I am very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you on your next trip to Mackinaw. If I may be of any further service please don't hesitate to let me know.

Thank you,

Teresa Anderson/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Location was good.room was clean,towels and linens could be updated.could have gotten a better rate as a walkin because end of season. Breakfast was good. Bed to soft for me but overall nice place



  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your stay I apologize if the beds were to soft. I hope we will see you again when you come through the area and we will work on a better price for you.

Thank you,

Teresa Anderson/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My boyfriend picked the hotel on our recent weekend getaway to Mackinac. He was drawn in by the price, the fact that there was a "indoor pool", and that they offered a continental breakfast. When we pulled in to the motel I didn't have high hopes. Walked in to the lobby to find every surface covered in cat hair and a cat jumping up on the counters, all over the sofas, etc. I didn't even want to set my bag down. Not the warm greeting someone with cat allergies needs. The room was ok - no signs of cat hair, at least. Bed/bedding was quite comfortable and contemporary. Decor was dated, but I didn't expect anything too fancy from Mackinaw City, especially for the price. TV was old and the reception often poor. Would have appreciated more outlets or powerstrips for charging the cell phones, iPad, electric razor, etc.

Hotel is very close to a couple ferry lines. In fact we walked back to the hotel when the ferry returned to dock rather than waiting for the shuttle to drop us off. There's a sidewalk the whole way, but you do have to cross two main roads to get back to the hotel. When we got back to the parking lot, we found a note on my windshield stating the housekeeping cart had been blown into my car while we were away. There must have been a hurricane while we were on the island. We found a fairly sizable dent on the front drivers side fender and a large divot and scuffs on the factory chrome rim. Not cheap repairs! Guess the Thunderbird Inn really did leave an impression. It's been almost a month and the hotel's insurance company has yet to even acknowledge the incident, let alone pay out so I can repair my damaged "baby". The manager was very nice and apologetic about the whole thing, but that doesn't fix the $1500 damage done.

If housekeeping had kept better control of their cart, this hotel would easily earn an extra point or two on the ratings scale. If you do chance it and stay here, park as far away from your room as possible. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al54913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Once again I would like to apologize for the cart. There was not a hurricane but it was a very windy day. We have taken way more preventable measures to ensure this does not happen again. If you are still having issues with the insurance company please call me and I will do whatever I can to assist you.

Sincerely,
Teresa Anderson/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The word "Inn" should be exchanged with "Motel". That is exactly what this place is. Small to average size room. Table top surfaces looked clean but it could have used a more thorough vacumming. Few updates have been made but this place definitely could use a few more. Hairdryer is availble but it is ancient. Bathroom was clean. My husband went to take a dip in the pool and came right back because there was a strong odor that he could not stand in the pool area. The continental breakfast was actually decent. It was better than most continental breakfasts I have had. Not a far drive to the ferry's for Mackinac Island. This room was good for one night of sleep. If we were staying in the area any longer I would have looked for somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLK41811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for leaving a comment for our hotel and being honest. We know we are not brand new but we strive to be clean, comfortable, and affordable. We are making more and more improvments everyday the hairdryers have already begun to be changed out. I hope you enjoyed Mackinaw City and your vacation.

Thank you,

Teresa Anderson-DItta/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
0.8 mi away
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
#14 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
1.1 mi away
Parkside Inn -  Bridgeside
Parkside Inn - Bridgeside
#20 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#12 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 41 in Mackinaw City
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Inn

Property: Thunderbird Inn
Address: 146 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9652
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Beautiful Boutique Property completely devoted to customer service and clean rooms. We provide all the things you have grown to love and trust from a hotel including free WIFI, free breakfast, an indoor pool, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, cable TV and much more. We are AAA approved, Pet friendly, AARP accepted, along with many other discounts and very close to all local attractions including the ferry lines and water park. Here at the Thunderbird Inn we welcome everyone with a smile and we are confident you will leave with one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Best Western
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing