We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, hosts are very nice,breakfast was outstanding.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Deer Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deer Head Inn
Holland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B, hosts are very nice,breakfast was outstanding.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

Rooms are very nice well done. Hosts gave us a number of day trips. The breakfast was outstanding. We will recommend this Inn to friends!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
82
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids Mich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

We have traveled to over 35 different B&B's in Michigan alone. Deer Head Inn has proven to be number one in the state. At times our group has occupied all five rooms and everyone has been very impressed.
The personality of the inn keepers makes a huge difference. The couple are both very gracious.
Their breakfast is second to none.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbieGrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed in the Hemingway room at the beginning of the season for two nights. The negatives are the walls are very thin. Could hear other people come in, talk, and on the stairs. I could not believe the noise on the street as well...people going to and from the Crossing, very loud. The single most disconcerting thing was the street cleaner (very large, huge machine) that went up and down the street at 5 in the morning. The positives were that this place was immaculate. The breakfast was okay, standard and the owner did ask for dietary restrictions. Also, be aware the owner likes to talk.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the lighthouse room for 3 nights. Our only complaints were that the bed was a little too firm and the walls were kind of thin. The Inn is very well kept and the rooms clean. Breakfast was amazing and different every day - don't expect simple pancakes, eggs, and bacon. Breakfast conversation was always interesting and everyone was so friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msuadamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

The owners were great. Breakfast was exceptional! The location was only one block from the ferry to Mackinac Island and only 300 ft from the main shops in town. We stayed in the "Henley room" which was very roomy. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anfrale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

Our stay at Deer Head Inn was our first B&B stay in the States, although we have stayed in several excellent B&B's in Europe. Barry and Nancy Dean are terrific hosts who are most knowledable and helpfull with tips and suggestions on the area. The Inn is spotlessly clean and well furnished. Breakfasts are gourmet. Check out their website deerhead.com - the real thing is better than the pictures. We heartedly recommend a stay at Deer Head and will be back ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimONeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Deer Head Inn Bed & Breakfast in Mackinaw City, MI and give it our heartiest endorsement. The owners, Barry and Nancy, were great hosts and very engaging. We stayed in the Bear Room, which had its own bathroom, bedroom, and a sitting room with an extraordinary, almost magical star-painted ceiling. Our room, with two TVs and WIFI, was very clean. The home-like atmosphere was comforting after lots of sight-seeing, and the location made it easy to walk to our destinations. We especially enjoyed Barry and Nancy's warmth throughout our stay. The conversations around the breakfast table (wonderful food) and on the front porch added to the charm.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huntjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.5 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#28 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
#8 of 39 in Mackinaw City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 39 in Mackinaw City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Head Inn

Property: Deer Head Inn
Address: 109 Henry, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-8602
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing