We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Inn and great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deer Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deer Head Inn
SOUTH FLORIDA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable Inn and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just returned last month from a two week MI/WI vacation and spent two nights at the Inn. The hosts, Nancy and Barry were very nice, warm, and welcoming. We stayed in the Hemingway room and found it quite adequate for the two of us. However, you need to get use to the animals mounted all over the room and the Inn. I guess if you're a fan of taxidermy, its great; if not, you might get a little frightened if you have to get up in the middle of the night. The location was great and in walking distance to the ferry, stores, and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bevsouthflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
81
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Deer Head Inn recently. You can't beat the location in a quiet neighborhood for taking the ferry to Mackinac Island. The home is comfortable, and the hosts, hospitable. We were in the smallest room, the one with the Lighthouse decor. It was manageable, but a bit cramped for two people. There wasn't much room for our luggage, and there was very little space for hanging clothing. The bed, however, was the most comfortable of any place we stayed on our 10-day road trip. (All our other lodging was in hotels, not B&Bs). Mini-blinds are not room-darkening, so the light filtered in at dawn. (Fortunately, I travel with a sleep mask.) The Lighthouse Room may be the only room that does not have a mounted animal head on the wall. Nancy and Barry were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were tasty and filling although there wasn't nearly as much food the second morning as the first morning we were there. We enjoyed meeting the other guests and chatting with them around the table. There is parking for guests on the property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here three nights after being five nights on Mackinac Island. This B and B is VERY close to town and the ferries, yet felt quiet and peaceful ( like a country setting.) Barry and Nancy were awesome hosts. Nancy made terrific breakfasts and we enjoyed visiting other guests at the big table in the huge dining area. Barry was fun to visit with on the cozy front porch. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CozSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed there last year for our yearly trip to the Mackinaw City area and stayed again this year. Wonderful room, short walking distance to downtown, great breakfast and wonderful hospitality. It is our go-to place to stay in Mackinaw.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyb16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Lovely house with delicious breakfast and friendly hosts. They even sat with us during breakfast. Its an easy walk to the ferry to Mackinac Island and its just a few steps from shops and restaurants in Mackinaw City. l would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mailbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Deer Head Inn (Bear room) for 6 days recently. The Inn is the nicest house in Mackinaw City. It is clean and well kept. Our room was just the right size for myself, husband and daughter, who was able to sleep on the fold out couch at night. A second room also served as a sitting room, which had a lovely planetarium effect at night that we all enjoyed. The Inn is situated so you can literally walk out the front door and be within steps of main street Mackinaw.
The breakfast served was good quality and plentiful. I like staying in bed and breakfasts for the privacy aspect and pride that the owners take in their business. The Deer Head Inn lived up to all my expectations. Clean, quiet, comfortable, welcoming, enhanced by privacy that you expect from a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slimzeeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were vactioning in Northern MI with family and needed to get away for a night. We kind of randomly picked Mackinaw City and the Inn. My expectations were low as my memory from the 70s was a run down city. But I was wrong and they have rebuilt the whole city with stores and restaurants. Overall the Deer Head Inn was a good experience start to finish. The house is downtown and while the original home is quite old the rooms looks fairly modern. Most rooms have animal heads in them. Our room was quite large with a bath and shower and fireplace. We were very comfortable and breakfast was good. No complaints. Take a walk downtown, enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pjay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.5 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#28 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 39 in Mackinaw City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.3 mi away
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
#8 of 39 in Mackinaw City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Head Inn

Property: Deer Head Inn
Address: 109 Henry, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-8602
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing