We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent”
Review of Deer Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deer Head Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Deer Head Lodge has an excellent location, just off the heart of the community, bvut still quiet. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfasts are outstanding, and the prices are among the best in Mackinaw City.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lighthouselovertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 113 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you have an idea of how a B&B should be this is it. Beautiful rooms, great breakfast and a great location! What more could you ask for? Fantastic mounts all about the house of deer, pheasants.... Barry and his wife take time to be sure their guests are happy. We were very happy!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PDvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed for a night in the Wilderness Room - a spacious and cozy suite on the 2nd floor of this home. The temperature outside was cold and the fireplace in the room was especially delightful. The king bed was comfortable and the room was decorated tastefully...so relaxing and quiet...clean enough that I even walked barefoot in the rooms!! Barry and Nancy were friendly and eager to meet all our needs - the breakfast in the AM was delicious and the conversation at the table was enjoyable as well. Would recommend this delightful spot - close to ferry docks and right near downtown.

Room Tip: Wilderness Room - cozy and romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We recently stayed two nights in the Wilderness Room at Deer head Lodge. My husband and I were impressed with the size of the room and the warm, cozy feel to it. We also appreciated how quiet the room was in the evening (which we could not say about the hotel we stayed at the following evening). As other reviewers noted, the breakfasts were incredible. My husband even raved about it and he can be a picky eater. The inn's location was within walking distance to the shops, restaurants, ferries, bridge and lighthouse. If heading to Mackinac Island, we recommend the Seabiscuit Cafe for lunch. Best sweet potato fries I ever had.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was our first time staying at a B&B after being married for 35 years!! We absolutely loved the time we spent there. We will definately go back. Barry and Nancy are extremely friendly and accomodating. They make sure everything is perfect for your stay there. From the food (absolutely wonderful stuffed French Toast!), the 2 room Bear Room w/ private bath (very homey and very clean) to the safe, private parking area. We enjoyed the conversations with Barry at breakfast and met a very nice and fun couple who were also staying there. We are so glad that being our first experience with a B & B that we chose this one. We are looking forward to the next trip to the Deer Head Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ejsvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Best Eggs Benedict I've ever had - and the accommodations were very nice too. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast the next day was also excellent. Barry and Nancy were friendly and knowledgeable and happy to make recommendations. Location couldn't have been better -- an easy walk to attractions in Mackinaw City and to the ferry to Mackinac Island. All around excellent choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NECmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I had never stayed in a B&B before. We took the recommendation of a friend and decided to give one a try. We are so very glad we did! The Deer Head Inn was perfect! Barry and Nancy are so nice. We were greeted by Nancy who checked us in and gave us the tour of the house. The rooms were beautiful...when I called to make our reservations Nancy recommended the Bear room for us, since we were traveling with our 4 year old. The Bear room has an additional sitting room with a pull out couch.

Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Our first morning we had scrambled eggs, sausage links, and stuffed French toast (I don't typically like French toast, but this was so tasty). Our second morning we were served eggs Benedict, Apple crisp and a fresh fruit platter. They made our daughter her own scrambled eggs since she didn't want the eggs Benedict.

Nancy was so kind to our daughter, she gave her a project to find out what Mackinac meant. Our daughter was so excited to figure this out. When she didn't have the answer that night, Nancy lent her a book about the legend of Mackinac. Our daughter just thought that this was so cool, and couldn't wait to go to breakfasts the next day to tell Nancy what Mackinac meant.

I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bkcsmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#21 of 40 in Mackinaw City
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 40 in Mackinaw City
1,108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
0.4 mi away
Vindel Motel
Vindel Motel
#2 of 8 in Mackinaw City
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Head Inn

Address: 109 Henry, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-8602
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinaw City
Price Range: $60 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing