We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Deer Head Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Welcome Inn(Mackinaw City)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamplighter Motel(Mackinaw City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Motel(Mackinaw City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
90
22
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
22
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshemingway roomnancyhostshiawathafireplacebreakfastjacuzzi
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 115 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you have an idea of how a B&B should be this is it. Beautiful rooms, great breakfast and a great location! What more could you ask for? Fantastic mounts all about the house of deer, pheasants.... Barry and his wife take time to be sure their guests are happy. We were very happy!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PDvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed for a night in the Wilderness Room - a spacious and cozy suite on the 2nd floor of this home. The temperature outside was cold and the fireplace in the room was especially delightful. The king bed was comfortable and the room was decorated tastefully...so relaxing and quiet...clean enough that I even walked barefoot in the rooms!! Barry and Nancy were friendly and eager to meet all our needs - the breakfast in the AM was delicious and the conversation at the table was enjoyable as well. Would recommend this delightful spot - close to ferry docks and right near downtown.

Room Tip: Wilderness Room - cozy and romantic
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We recently stayed two nights in the Wilderness Room at Deer head Lodge. My husband and I were impressed with the size of the room and the warm, cozy feel to it. We also appreciated how quiet the room was in the evening (which we could not say about the hotel we stayed at the following evening). As other reviewers noted, the breakfasts were incredible. My husband even raved about it and he can be a picky eater. The inn's location was within walking distance to the shops, restaurants, ferries, bridge and lighthouse. If heading to Mackinac Island, we recommend the Seabiscuit Cafe for lunch. Best sweet potato fries I ever had.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was our first time staying at a B&B after being married for 35 years!! We absolutely loved the time we spent there. We will definately go back. Barry and Nancy are extremely friendly and accomodating. They make sure everything is perfect for your stay there. From the food (absolutely wonderful stuffed French Toast!), the 2 room Bear Room w/ private bath (very homey and very clean) to the safe, private parking area. We enjoyed the conversations with Barry at breakfast and met a very nice and fun couple who were also staying there. We are so glad that being our first experience with a B & B that we chose this one. We are looking forward to the next trip to the Deer Head Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ejsvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Best Eggs Benedict I've ever had - and the accommodations were very nice too. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast the next day was also excellent. Barry and Nancy were friendly and knowledgeable and happy to make recommendations. Location couldn't have been better -- an easy walk to attractions in Mackinaw City and to the ferry to Mackinac Island. All around excellent choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NECmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews