We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deer Head Inn
Save
You added Deer Head Inn to your Saves list
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I had never stayed in a B&B before. We took the recommendation of a friend and decided to give one a try. We are so very glad we did! The Deer Head Inn was perfect! Barry and Nancy are so nice. We were greeted by Nancy who checked us in and gave us the tour of the house. The rooms were beautiful...when I called to make our reservations Nancy recommended the Bear room for us, since we were traveling with our 4 year old. The Bear room has an additional sitting room with a pull out couch.

Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Our first morning we had scrambled eggs, sausage links, and stuffed French toast (I don't typically like French toast, but this was so tasty). Our second morning we were served eggs Benedict, Apple crisp and a fresh fruit platter. They made our daughter her own scrambled eggs since she didn't want the eggs Benedict.

Nancy was so kind to our daughter, she gave her a project to find out what Mackinac meant. Our daughter was so excited to figure this out. When she didn't have the answer that night, Nancy lent her a book about the legend of Mackinac. Our daughter just thought that this was so cool, and couldn't wait to go to breakfasts the next day to tell Nancy what Mackinac meant.

I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkcsmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
78
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

we just returned from a whirlwind trip around the Michigan UP and Door County, Wisconsin. Stayed two nights at the Deer Head Lodge in Mackinaw City, MI and found the inn keepers to be a vast source of local knowledge as well as great cooks. Our room was on the small side but very well equipped and maintained. But the breakfasts are well worth the stays. We were treated to huge breakfasts consisting of eggs, french toast delicious sausages and fantastic desserts. The dining facility couldn't accomidate the entire number of guests in one table so we were unable to meet all the guests since there was two tables for guests but the conversations were lively and we enjoyed meeting the various travelers from other areas of the country. All in all, we highly recommend staying at this lovely B&B

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hiawatha room quite nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bendworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We are actually still in the Hiawatha Room checking out soon. I couldn't wait to post this review. We did a Bed and Breakfast tour of the area and this was the BEST all around experience. The Inn isn't your typical old fashioned B&B, although it is almost 100 years old. So if you're looking for that victorian feel, it won't happen here. However, it is very clean! The decor is more on a wilderness theme with deer heads, stuffed small game, and indian decor all around. The most notable factor about this place was the breakfast. WOW! Eggs Benedict with fresh fruit and other compliments. You eat breakfast in a very nice eating area and get to sit with other guests and mingle over fresh coffee and good food. It was a nice social experience. We actually had quite a few younger people there too (we are late 20's - newlyweds) The Inn Keepers are very polite, informative, and all around just very nice people. I can't say enough about this place! Stay here. Also, the location is PRIME! within walking distance to everything. We were NOT IMPRESSED in Mackinaw City. The food was terrible and service even worse in the city. Go to the island and enjoy! It is within a 3 minute walk to Sheplers Ferry. Just excellent. I could go on forever!

Room Tip: Hiawatha Room is very native american. I loved it! Bearclaw tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coastie165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Shannon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Deer Head Lodge is a very nice place to stay, within walking distance of many shops, the waterfront, and restaurants. This was a bonus for us because we did not know it was only 1/2 block from numerous shops and restaurants, plus a movie theatre and the waterfront.
The buffet breakfast provided something for everyone. We stayed in the Hemingway Room, which was immaculate. There is no door separating the living area from the bathroom sink/whirlpool though, so if you prefer the privacy of a door, you should choose a different room. The street cleaner did come around 5 am, as another review stated, but this did not bother us. We couldn't hear anything from other rooms because the Hemingway Room is on the opposite side of a staircase from the other rooms and probably also because of the window air conditioner running.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveTravelling52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, MS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and stayed there for three nights and were very pleased with this B&B. The breakfasts were excellent, our room (the Wilderness room) large and comfy, and the hosts very friendly and informative on visiting around Mackinaw City. It's on a quiet street, but it is a short and easy walk to the main street and the ferry to Mackinac Island. We highly recommend this B&B, and we would certainly stay there if returning to this area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aeroguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Barry & Nancy have created a great spot. If you're looking for accommodations in Mackinaw City, or as a jumping off point to Mackinac Island, this is where you should look. We stayed in the Hiawatha Room and it was very nicely appointed and certainly clean; the clawfoot tub was really great after a long day of cycling up from Gaylord. They let us store our bicycles in the garage and gave us good restaurant recommendations. Also, the Deer Head is conveniently located next to downtown Mackinaw City (only tourist traps there, though) a few good downtown restaurants, the state historical site and all the ferries.

The location and appointments are all great, but our favorite part was the delectable homemade breakfast (stuffed French toast, fruit & eggs) and the fellowship with the other guests and innkeepers. We're almost always younger than other B&B guests by 30 or 40 years (another young couple at Deer Head, though), but it's the only way to fly and Deer Head was among the best we've found!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This B&B is not only beautiful it is in the perfect location in town. We are very picky about our stays especially while in B&B's but this one was at the top. The breakfasts were outstanding, and served in such a elegant & creative way. Bavarian cheesecake, eggs benedict, fluffy eggs, etc, too many delicious food selections to mention. The proprieters were very attentive answering all of our questions & giving us great recommendations on where to go & what to do & see. We would definitely go back. Probably the best B&B we have stayed in. Stay in the "Wilderness" room but all the rooms are gorgeous. Thank you Barry & Nancy, the proprieters, for having such a great place.

Room Tip: Stay in the Wilderness, Hiawatha or Hemmingway rooms. All beautiful & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
1.0 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 39 in Mackinaw City
4.5 of 5 stars 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Head Inn

Property: Deer Head Inn
Address: 109 Henry, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-8602
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing