We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel was very clean, the rooms were very clean and large. The front desk staff weren't the freindliest people around but I had very little need to converse with them so it was all good. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Used the lakefront King. Very nice room in comparision to others on the strip.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 231-436-5001.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 877 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

this hotel is a really nice place to stay. there were 3 of us ladies traveling the 1st week of October and I couldn't believe how readsonable the room was! room was just gorgeous and had 2 flat screen TVs, refridgerator, huge clean bathroom with 2 entries. the suite itself had 2 queen beds, queen sofa bed, and recliner. stayed for 2 nights - would have liked to stay longer.
the pool looked real inviting & the hotel staff was real friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariwal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 231-436-5001.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I tried to cancel my reservation, but was shocked when the 72 hours cancellation period is counted by noon of every day, not the check-in start time of every day. The lady over the phone at the hotel did not tell me about the noon when I made reservation.

The manager on the duty insisted on the policy and I could not cancel the room because I called 2 hours later than the 'noon' deadline.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank HenryInMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 231-436-5001.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

But it had a few issues, starting with the desk staff. It was like pulling teeth to get information out of them, they're not the friendliest people there.
Some of the hallways and elevator lobby are rather dark.
The room was good, clean. And so was the bathroom. Some of the rooms have the old "hose" style hairdryers. I hadn't seen those since some of the older hotel rooms in Europe!
Overall, a great place to stay if you're in the area for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor and ask for a great view of the bridge.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dian6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 231-436-5001.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Right on the beach so ask for a sea view! Large, comfortable well fitted rooms. A decent breakfast although not amazing. Great indoor pool that we always seemed to have to ourselves!
Handy for the ferries to the island and to a myriad of local restaurants. Only disappointment was the fact that the staff were a little humourless!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bargrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 231-436-5001.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here for business. I didn't care for my room overlooking the parking lot with a walkway outside my door that allows people walking by to shake the floor and look directly into my room. So it was either sit with the curtain drawn in the middle of the afternoon or have people looking in as they walked by. Cleaning staff constantly yelling to each other across the parking lot and from the upper walkways.
That said, it was probably average for Mackinaw when you pay about $100/night in the summer.

Room Tip: The rooms on the waterside are worth the extra money. Ground floor rooms where you can walk directly...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M5Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 231-436-5001.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stay of 8-12-13-2012, Mackinaw City, MI

Two Nights Stay without reservations. Very nice and clean Top Floor two Queen Bed Room with Couch. Stay here about ten years ago – room looks like recently remodeled. Private Balcony with two chairs and table overlooking the lake. Very peaceful – private beach below – can watch the boats coming and going to Mackinac Island.

Can walk to Shelpers Boat Dock (they take you to Mackinac Island). Hotel has free pick up and drop off service. Downtown Mackinaw is also walkable from this hotel.

Beds were comfortable with more than enough variety of linens and pillows. Ceiling fan over the beds – nice. Air conditioning also works well.

One item that needs improvement – the outer door is hard to shut – you need to slam to close and lock.

I must complement – Judith of the housekeeping staff – she did any excellent job of cleaning room each day. Always very friendly.

Breakfast is served each day in a separate large room overlooking the city and lake. Wonderful selection of both hot and cold foods – Fresh fruit selection, waffle maker, scrambled eggs, sausage, breads, etc. Attendants keep tables clean and food area full.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinaw City
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
635 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#21 of 39 in Mackinaw City
918 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#12 of 39 in Mackinaw City
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn

Address: 505 S Huron Avenue, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range: $83 - $740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dockside Waterfront Hotel Mackinaw City
Best Western Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing