We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
ann arbor
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good place to stay”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

NIce hotel, kept up well. Really clean, they even disinfect the tv remotes. Parking can be tight when they are full. Easy walking distance around town. Breakfast they serve is just okay. Would like to see yogart, and more fruit.

Room Tip: MAke sure you get a water side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkie4450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
THANK YOU LETTER

Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 231-436-5001.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,


General Manager
Best Western Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    273
    131
    67
    53
See reviews for
337
324
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed for a night. Nothing spectacular, but not bad either. The room was comfortable as was the bed. Front desk gave us a deal on a two bed room for the price of a single, as they were out of other rooms.

Very nice view of the lake and the coast guard ship museum. Walkable distance to downtown as well as to Shepler's Ferry Dock. Only bad about the room was that one part of the ceiling appeared to need to be repaired. Also, the parking lot was nearly full at one point and we got the last spot.

Not spectacular, but not bad. I would recommend it and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
THANK YOU LETTER

Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 231-436-5001.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,


General Manager
Best Western Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our room had a damp smell to it, the bathroom had mold all over and the deck was VERY small. I would never stay at this hotel again. I called the front desk numerous times to switch rooms because of the mold and a manager never called back. The breakfast was awful and the staff wasn't friendly...in fact they were more concerned about if you were a guest than treating you as a guest.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrvlMom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
APOLOGY

Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 231-436-5001.


General Manager
Best Western Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is a good motel with clean rooms and friendly staff. super comfortable beds.friendly stff. have stayed here several times. walking distance to downtown dn many resturants,shops.

Room Tip: large 25 ft breakfast buffet is on the third floor- hot waffles free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headvase_1799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 231-436-5001.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I booked online via 3rd party the morning of the stay and caught a fantastic $99 AARP rate for lakeside - probably a vacancy they were eager to fill. The published rates north of $150 appear more in line with this type of lodging during peak season. Mackinaw City is a hub of activity in the summer. That said, this is a peaceful and attractively laid out complex. Only a 15 minute stroll to the charming business district or any of the 3 ferries to the island. Beach is wide and long, but had some small stones mixed with sand and just a few larger ones under water near shore as you wade out on the sandy bottom. The lone pool looked small and I did not try it out. Rooms appear upscale - among the nicest I've seen, with very comfortable beds. Agree with another that under the surface you get the feeling construction is on the cheap side. Staff was fantastic from start to finish. Enjoyed the varied foods at the continental - especially the do it yourself waffle maker. One issue is that the sole elevator is near the lobby. It's a big complex, so should your room be on the far end, expect to do some climbing. I got a good workout going and coming to my 4th floor room - too stubborn to walk all the way to elevator. Lake view is splendid, though mine seemed a bit narrow. Nice view of two large ships docked nearby and the ferries running to and from the island. Couldn't see the bridge from my angle. Overall, highly recommend hotel - but the published rates look a bit steep.

Room Tip: Be aware there are four floors and the elevator is quite far from some rooms. Didn't much bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
THANK YOU LETTER

Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 231-436-5001.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,


General Manager
Best Western Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Our room overlooked the lake. It was a great room, clean and comfortable bed. As said previously breakfast was the only drawback.
We were lucky to be able to watch the fireworks from our balcony.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 68diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
THANK YOU LETTER

Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 231-436-5001.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,


General Manager
Best Western Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night we had no service related issues. Rooms were clean and continental breakfast had multiple choices. The location was very convent.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faith327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
THANK YOU LETTER

Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 231-436-5001.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,


General Manager
Best Western Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinaw City
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#19 of 39 in Mackinaw City
627 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
902 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#12 of 39 in Mackinaw City
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
Address: 505 S Huron Avenue, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dockside Waterfront Hotel Mackinaw City
Best Western Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing