We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pictures of the rooms are everything you see”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Wayne, Michigan
1 review
“The pictures of the rooms are everything you see”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Myself and two other women stayed 2 nights here. We done a lot of pricing and checking and when we send the picture of the hotel our first thoughts were "no we can't afford that one" but checked it out just for the heck of it. The prices were in our price range, we loved the view and everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. I highly recommend for anyone, oh and breakfast comes with it. How much more could you ask for,

Room Tip: Lake side view is beautiful in morning and evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin4159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 231-436-5001.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    266
    122
    67
    52
See reviews for
319
316
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, LA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We reserved a king bed, nonsmoking, lakefront room with sofabed and full breakfast for the night of 9/16/11. Thank goodness we had only planned to use this hotel as a one night stopover on our way to Mackinac Island. We checked in without any problem. Parking was very difficult and we could not find a parking spot anywhere near our room. Upon entering our room, we found that we had been checked into a room with two beds instead of the king bed. Upon calling the front desk, we were told that they had no king room (obviously they had given ours away due to our late arrival despite the room being held with our credit card) - no apology, no offer to decrease our nightly rate of $193 with tax, only a comment that we had been given an upgrade which was obviously untrue. Other problems-couldnt get the wireless internet connection to work and got no help on this matter from the front desk. Lastly, the vending machines were scattered far from our room and the snack machine did not work - a fact that the front desk person knew we will called to complain. The breakfast was average but the dining room was uncomfortably warm.
We would not stay here again - mostly due to fact that the staff was not accomodating in any way. Way too expensive for such poor customer service. There are many hotels in Mackinaw City so next time we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnninBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 231-436-5001.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The rooms had very dated decor, however they were clean and the bed was comfortable.Don't get the 4th floor, it was dark, we sprang for the waterfront balcony and on the 4th floor it was very small, larger on the lower floors. I didn't like it and won't stay there again.
The breakfast is very average.

Room Tip: Don't get forth floor balcony, it's dark and small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUNDAE01Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 231-436-5001.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We got there and the staff is not accomodating. Our room was in an area that was NOT convienent for loading and unloading your luggage and we are not in our 20's-40's year range. I made the staff aware of our difficulty and they ignored it by providing a map as to to one end of the building or to try to cut thru lobby and computer room. I noticed they provided a simple ramp for the laundry and something similar could have been done in the area that we were located. PAY ATTENTION TO YOUR RESERVATION SINCE PRICES DROP!!! Bats are all over the place. Food is ok and cleanliness is only average since I found crumbs on the dress skirt of bed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmingnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 231-436-5001.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarktson, MI
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Check in was quick and efficient. The folks at the front desk were not very personable. Just "did their job"

Room: was quite spacious for the 5 of us. Two queens and a pull out sofa. No microwave (would have liked one). Small fridge that held some fruit/salad. The bathroom was ok. Tiles were dated looking and needed a good deep clean. The rest of the room was typical for this type of hotel. Out room was on the 4th floor overlooking the Lake. Nice view. Could hear the ferry boats' horn early in the am as they were starting their trek to the Island. Beds were comfortable.

Pool: did not visit.

Beach: quite rocky and cold. The beach itself was unkept, there were some beach lounge chairs that looked like they'd been there quite a while. Lots of seagulls (one just missed my wife as she was lounging).

Breakfast. Same offering two mornings straight. The fruit was very unappetizing. Typical waffles, eggs, sausage, bisects, cereal, and breads. Nothing special, but not terrible either. Good way to get your morning started.

Checkout: again it was quick and efficient, but no personality from the folks behind the counter.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herephishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We arrived and were delighted that our room with 2 queen beds was very large. The beds were comfortable and clean. That is where our enjoyment ended. We were on the first floor and could hear our upstairs neighbors walking around all night. It sounded like they were playing a basketball game. In the morning we ate their "hot breakfast." It was terrible. Everything either came from a can or was previously frozen. I stuck to the instant oatmeal. Unfortunately, there weren't many other breakfast options around town, and at $180-200 per room, I didn't want to have to spend MORE money on breakfast. I won't be back.

Room Tip: Check online and AAA for deals. Stay away from rooms by the pool and stairwells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BnG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 231-436-5001.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The hotel sets right in the middle of all the shops and ferry service to the island. The lakeview rooms are worth the few extra dollars. The rooms are good size with room to walk around. The breakfast is one of the best of any hotels. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chops1374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at ------.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinaw City
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
6.9 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
Address: 505 S Huron Avenue, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dockside Waterfront Hotel Mackinaw City
Best Western Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing