We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place, a few minor issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Clarktson, MI
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent place, a few minor issues”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Check in was quick and efficient. The folks at the front desk were not very personable. Just "did their job"

Room: was quite spacious for the 5 of us. Two queens and a pull out sofa. No microwave (would have liked one). Small fridge that held some fruit/salad. The bathroom was ok. Tiles were dated looking and needed a good deep clean. The rest of the room was typical for this type of hotel. Out room was on the 4th floor overlooking the Lake. Nice view. Could hear the ferry boats' horn early in the am as they were starting their trek to the Island. Beds were comfortable.

Pool: did not visit.

Beach: quite rocky and cold. The beach itself was unkept, there were some beach lounge chairs that looked like they'd been there quite a while. Lots of seagulls (one just missed my wife as she was lounging).

Breakfast. Same offering two mornings straight. The fruit was very unappetizing. Typical waffles, eggs, sausage, bisects, cereal, and breads. Nothing special, but not terrible either. Good way to get your morning started.

Checkout: again it was quick and efficient, but no personality from the folks behind the counter.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herephishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    266
    122
    67
    52
See reviews for
319
316
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We arrived and were delighted that our room with 2 queen beds was very large. The beds were comfortable and clean. That is where our enjoyment ended. We were on the first floor and could hear our upstairs neighbors walking around all night. It sounded like they were playing a basketball game. In the morning we ate their "hot breakfast." It was terrible. Everything either came from a can or was previously frozen. I stuck to the instant oatmeal. Unfortunately, there weren't many other breakfast options around town, and at $180-200 per room, I didn't want to have to spend MORE money on breakfast. I won't be back.

Room Tip: Check online and AAA for deals. Stay away from rooms by the pool and stairwells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BnG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 231-436-5001.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The hotel sets right in the middle of all the shops and ferry service to the island. The lakeview rooms are worth the few extra dollars. The rooms are good size with room to walk around. The breakfast is one of the best of any hotels. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chops1374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at ------.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Our room was great! We loved the king sized bed,and the whirlpool. It was also great to have the ground floor that opened up onto the beach .

Room Tip: The bottom floor lake side was the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybuglover_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at -------.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-MI
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

It just keeps getting better! We've stayed at this location on three separate trips - each time for three nights, and plan to go back again this fall. We have stayed in a Jacuzzi room with a king-size bed on the first floor (124 and 125 I believe) on all three of our trips, and have been extremely happy with the accommodations.

The women at the front desk are very friendly and efficient with check-in, and have quite a bit of local knowledge that they can share if you are not familiar with the area. A packet of coupons for restaurants, etc. and a local information flier are provided at check-in.

The rooms are furnished appropriately for their size. Each room has an individual wall AC / heating unit. All room furnishings are of wood, with most being oak finish adding to the "Up North" feeling that being in Mackinaw country always gives you. The rooms contain a table with two tastefully upholstered and comfortable chairs and a floor lamp in the corner of the room. There is also a chest of drawers, and a matching armoire for any clothes that may need to be hung. A work desk with table lamp and chair are located between the chest and the armoire, and the television is located on a slide-out tray in the middle of the clothing storage unit.

The beds consist of very attractive wood headboards with semi-firm mattresses. The mattresses and pillows are extremely comfortable - we're never sure if it's that, or all of the walking, biking, hiking, etc. that we do in the fresh Mackinaw City air that puts us to sleep almost as soon as our heads hit the pillows! We found the bedding to be clean and of decent quality (maybe a bit above average) and consisting of sufficient layers to allow us to adjust as desired. Due to the location of the Jacuzzi (to one side of the bed), there is room for only one night stand, although there is room for any items you may want to keep on a nightstand on the edge of the Jacuzzi housing.

The rooms also had a small refrigerator located under the sink area. Due to its location, the refrigerator might be a bit rough for people with back, hip or knee issues to access, but it is out of the way and not accessed very often, so it wasn't an issue with us.
The Jacuzzi is located in a corner of the room (sharing a wall with the bathroom) and fits two comfortably. We found it to be very clean and in excellent condition inside and out, and were pleasantly surprised with the speed with which it filled and drained. The two walls that make up the corner where the Jacuzzi resides are fully mirrored, and there is a light located directly above the Jacuzzi if you choose to read while relaxing. Extra towels and a separate floor mat were located at the Jacuzzi.

The bathroom consists of a toilet and a tub with shower. Shower water pressure was good, and the water warmed very quickly. The shower head adjusts to meet your requirements, and a correctly sized curtain keeps the water in the tub during your shower. Towels are located on a rack above the toilet, and a bath mat is also provided. There are two sinks located outside of the bathroom, with a full length mirror and a wall mounted blow drier. The sinks, toilet and tub all appeared to be very clean and in good repair.

There is an outside walkway to access all rooms, and with the rooms that we stayed in being on the bottom floor, there is a walkway above that extends out above the window. We enjoy sleeping in while on vacation, so the added shade provided by the walkway was appreciated, even though the shade provided with the windows does a fair job of blocking out the sunlight. Foot traffic on the walkway did not seem to be inordinately loud.

Having not used (or even looked at) the pool or breakfast that is offered (as noted above, we like to sleep in....), we cannot comment on their quality.

It's a short walk to the center of town, and ferry rides to the island are equally accessible.
Based on our experiences, my wife and I would strongly recommend that you give this property a try on your next trip to Mackinaw City!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Happytrippers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at ----------.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed one night for $129 and our room had a queen size bed and a two person jacuzzi. There was a free breakfast included consisting of hot and cold items. The room was clean and the help was cordial. I would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davechrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at -------.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Ok, I was a bit nervous after reading SOME of the reviews, but, WOW how can you complain???????? We got the 1st floor waterfront room and it was PERFECT! Super clean, access to the beach from room, super clean, friendly staff, GREAT breakfast... What more can someone ask for?????? We WILL be staying again! The shower is awesome to, water pressure is GREAT! The beach is super clean, its nice watching the boats go back and forth.. Cant wait to visit again! 5 stars easily, BEST location as well, we walked to town and had a blast at the crossings, outside bar and live entertainment.. Really fun! thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank New_Travel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear New_Travel83,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Anna L.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinaw City
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
6.9 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
Address: 505 S Huron Avenue, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dockside Waterfront Hotel Mackinaw City
Best Western Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing