We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would never stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Macomb, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would never stay here again.”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

On arrival, the room had a spider web with bugs in it in the corner behind the door, there was a spider on the shower curtain in the bathroom and the coffee pot was dirty. The pool and spa were green, I would not let the kids swim. The second day we left for the day and when we returned, the beds were not made, the floor was not vaccumed and the cleaning staff left three sets of towels even though there were four people registered to the room. The towels were dingy looking and rough. The bed sheets were very worn out. We did complain to the front desk and they were only able to refund us $15 because they could not get ahold of the manager. The girl at the front desk said she had been refunding money all day due to rooms that were not cleaned. The motel does offer free breakfast which was ok the first day, the place was clean and there was a girl there making waffles who was nice and friendly. The second morning, the girl that was making waffles looked like she did not want to be there at all and the waffles were not cooked all the way. We were very glad we only had to stay for two nights and very glad to leave. If we had not arrived so late on the first day, we probably would have looked for another option, however, we were there the week of the holiday and everything else was already booked.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJRP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvi_mackcity, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we are very sorry that you were not happy with your stay. It's unfortunate that you had to experience these things while you were trying to enjoy your vacation. We take these comments and concerns very seriously and it lets us know what we need to do to improve our property. Just to let you know I am the new manager and have taken over since you stayed with us. There have been a lot of changes made and many of the issues have been addressed so I hope that you will give us another chance to make your vacation great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    36
    37
    34
    46
See reviews for
86
62
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We were over charged and then the room was dirty and had all kinds of spiders and bugs crawling in the bathroom. Slept with socks on top of bed. Afraid to sleep under dirty blanket, they probably don't change the sheets! YUCK!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebaby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvi_mackcity, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
I apologize that your stay with us was less than perfect, and I want you to know that we do take your comments and concerns very seriously. I am the new manager and have taken over since you stayed with us. I am doing all I can to improve the property and appreciate all of the input I can get from our guests. It's unfortunate that you didn't have a great experience with us but I do hope that you would give us a chance to make your next vacation in Mackinaw City a great one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed at this hotel from 6/27 to 6/30. The room was clean when we arrived. The bed was /horrible/. It was a Queen, and when my fiance and I were both on it we both rolled towards the middle. We would leave during the day, come back, and discover that the Maids had cleaned. They would throw away whatever soap they had left from the day before, and leave us with no shampoo. The last night they didn't bother leaving anything. They did nab a few of my fiance's beers, however, and our rum was gone a lot faster then what we were drinking it!

Didn't get up in time for the breakfast, but the pool was large. The hottub was hot enough, but the jets don't work. None of the employees would come out to replace towels for the pool area.

The internet access was horrible. 75% of the time we couldn't use it. In general this place is kind of run-down, and the staff seems lazy, and they'll drink your beer!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlahBlah61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvi_mackcity, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
I want to apologize for your stay with us being less than perfect. I have since taken over as the general manager and there has been a complete turn over of the staff because of it. I am doing everything that I can to improve the property and I take the guests comments and experiences very seriously (both good and bad). I hope that with the improvements that I am making you will give us another chance to make your experience in Mackinaw City a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, MI
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Pros: Curb appeal of the Inn was good. The pool was big, and even though the hot tub jets did not work it was very hot. The room was very big. Breakfast offered a lot of food.

Cons: When we arrived, they did not have our reservation. We booked through booking.com and I had called to confirm right after booking. We drove 4 hours and were told no reservation. It was kind of up in the air until they finally found a print out they had, even though they still did not have our reservation their system. Management was very unprofessional. We waited to be checked-in while she called in her prescription to Wal-mart on her cell phone. The room was outdated, towels were thin, cable was fuzzy, walls were thin... but it's what is to be expected at $40/night. Breakfast had plenty of food, but it was VERY low quality. Stale donuts and biscuits... and they made the waffles with water they got from a laundry sink. :( Also, they offer high speed internet, but it only works on the lobby.

Summary: This place is fine if you know what to expect. If you are willing to risk not having your reservation on file, a little dirt and noise, and just need a place to lay your head..... then this may be the place for you. I will not stay here again.... a little extra $$ is worth a nicer experience. :)

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikejameevm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvi_mackcity, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
First I would like to apologize for all the trouble that you had while you were supposed to be enjoying your vacation. There is no excuse for the things that you experienced especially during checking in. There are times that the paperwork gets misplaced but there is no reason that your reservation shouldn't have been entered into the system. I can assure you that the behavior of the staff is unacceptable and with the turn over of the staff since you stayed with us that will not happen again. I personally, take your comments very seriously and do all that I can to make the changes necessary to be sure that someone else won't have to have the same things happen. I hope that with the changes I have made you would give us another chance to make your vacation a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed here for one night, and it was a neat, clean hotel. No frills, but a decent place to stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. Cant beat it for the price. A good overall value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hbar223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Over priced, noisy with overhead walkways. Room was in need of remodeling.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elglide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comstock Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This is the cheapest Hotel in Mackinaw City i guess we got what we payed for. The room was decent actually very clean no complaints on that. Then when we went to turn the air on it was BROKEN! Some of the workers at the front desk are not helpful at all. So we ended up sleeping the whole night with no air and it being 70 degrees outside, VERY UNCOMFORTABLE!!! Then to top it off there was a wedding party outside until 3AM partying, drinkin and being very loud. Front desk didnt do a darn thing! WE WILL NOT BE GOING BACK AND I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE!!!!!! SERIOUSLY PAY THE EXTRA MONEY TO STAY SOMEWHERE ALOT NICER.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRAggidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.1 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn Mackinaw
Budget Inn Mackinaw
#25 of 39 in Mackinaw City
46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
#21 of 39 in Mackinaw City
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Great Lakes Inn
Great Lakes Inn
#24 of 39 in Mackinaw City
63 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites-Mackinaw City-Bridgeview Lodge
0.0 mi away
Starlite Budget Inns
Starlite Budget Inns
#17 of 39 in Mackinaw City
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
Address: 112 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9652
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing