We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!”

Historic Depot Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 52 Restaurants in Mackinaw City
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a family friendly restaurant
Chicago Area
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

the waitress was very nice and let us substitute items on menu. The food was very good and service was fast!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoveDisneyWorld1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    34
    35
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“After all these years a great place to eat in MC”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Saw this nice looking place in Mackinaw City next to the Outfitters toward the Northside of Town. It's a bit back from the madness of the main drag which I liked. The building is an old train station and they specialize in BBQ. I got the Turkey and cole slaw sandwich. Turkey was the kind that looks like it was carved off a real turkey that came out of an oven, them lightly smoked and has some secret sauce on it. Just a little kick and not drowning in smoke. Succulent is the work or perhaps savory. Topped with a nice layer of coleslaw on a nice Kaiser bun. All fresh and very very tasty. My table mate got the grilled portobello and she loved the version they served there. A few fried mini cheese cakes finished the meal. Really fried cheese cake. Hey it's the midwest and they fry everything and they were good. I will be back. I have not been able to find a good place to eat here (other than Audies) for a decade of coming up here. I will be back. Service was great and we sat in the back porch and it was very quiet and pretty.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RUATurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not the best. Poor service, mediocre food, overpriced.”
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in because it was conveniently located in a quaint shopping area called Mackinaw Crossings Mall. The atmosphere was fine, and they had Oberon on tap, but that is basically it. Food was sub-par and over-priced. The wait staff seemed overwhelmed and there were still open tables on the inside. We wouldnt go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jluther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not bad...”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

It wasn't the worst meal we had in Mackinaw City, but we would probably not visit this restaurant again. The atmosphere was fun, but the food was average (ie, the mashed potatoes were very gummy) and the waitress was not interested in helping us decide between two menu items.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RecklessKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful patio spot to people watch”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Food was great; the waitresses were wonderful; great beer and live music from the concert in the square. We went back a second time and it was also great, BUT the live music wasn't quite as good. Still the people watching was perfect both times. We'll come back for sure.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Depot Restaurant also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Historic Depot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing