We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Pizza in Mackinac!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizza Palace

Pizza Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $56
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A family-friendly and VERY CLEAN restaurant, completely remodeled inside and out, features the best hand-tossed pizza, with doughs and sauces made in-house daily. Many other choices, including Ribs, Entree Salads, Great Unique Sandwiches, Pastas, Burgers, even Pasties ... and a glamorous full Bar featuring local wines and Michigan micro-brews. Family owned, with Owners on-site to assure your complete satisfaction. Always the top-rated restaurant in the area per TripAdvisor!! - #1 for 2010,2011,2012,and so far in 2013! Thank you patrons.
Detroit
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza in Mackinac!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our family of four ate lunch here and were very pleased with this place. An older gentleman (I believe he's the owner) greeted us at the door and assisted us with finding seats. Our waitress was attentive and friendly. We were trying to decide which house made sangria to purchase, so she brought us free samples to try! We went with the strawberry rhubarb sangria and it was awesome! Yes, it's a little pricey; however, you're in a tourist city so I believe the higher prices are to be expected. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a good lunch and friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheGrizwulds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pizzapalacemanager, Manager at Pizza Palace, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello,
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the sangria as well as the food. We would love to have you visit again.
I would like to explain our pricing a little bit. We are a locally owned, hometown diner, with a hell of a lot of pride in what we serve. That is why we have home made as well as special order foods. We have talked at length about whether we should cut our quantity, cut our quality, or what to have cheaper prices. we voted to keep quality and quantity and go through pricing to serve who we are......THE PIZZA PALACE! It had nothing to do with summer business.
We know we did the right thing when we see return business. I hope you you will become our return business. It's the difference between a steak or a hotdog, (which I love both). LOL...

Thank you for the great review!
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    178
    57
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Yummmmmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

No acid, high flavor pizza!! If I could have them deliver to my home this is the only pizza I would eat!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pizzapalacemanager, Manager at Pizza Palace, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Randy,
Don't count us out of your home town yet. One never knows where this might take us. However, while we are still in Mackinaw City only, we would like to see you more often.
Thank you so much for the nice comments! I love it!!!! Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

This pizza is the best gluten free pizza ever! It is the second time I have eaten it and it was still delicious. Medium thickness crust not paper thin like most gluten free crust. Told my husband I would drive from Detroit area to eat this pizza!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissasp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pizzapalacemanager, Manager at Pizza Palace, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Yes, we have had good luck with this pizza. We are happy to find something for the special diets. We are happy to hear a good review for this pizza. The gluten free eaters are the best critics.
We will look forward to seeing you again. ~Marie~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Pizza was amazing ,as were the pretzel bites! Margaritas housemade and again good craft beers! Fun place!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pizzapalacemanager, Manager at Pizza Palace, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Margaritas and pretzel bites.......sounds great to me. Thank you so much for a nice review. We are aware you are taking time out of your day to do this. It means a lot to us. This directly affects our decisions about how we are going to do things. Thank you! Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very good - VERY expensive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

So, they can charge a lot because of their location - and because the food is good. We split the wedge salad and a pizza - though now I can't remember what size. I believe it was a 14" pizza. The salad was great. Quarter head of iceberg lettuce, blue cheese, ranch dressing, an enormous amount of bacon (too much), and a couple of breadsticks. It was really great. Now, it was also $15. Was it $15 great? Meh. Probably not enough to order it again, but it was great.

The pizza was good. We did the garlic crust, which they make a big deal about it being "free" to flavor your crust. It was pretty good crust as far as crust goes. The pizza itself was good, and this was the best meal we had in Mackinaw City. I would order their pizza again, but probably for delivery, as the location isn't much to be desired. People are crammed in everywhere, and if you're seated where I was, you get to watch one of the servers scrape plates into a bin all night.

Honestly the food is really good - just really overpriced for what you get. I would absolutely order again and encourage people to go - just don't be shocked by the bill!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderingslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pizzapalacemanager, Manager at Pizza Palace, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Iowa, hello, thank you for a great review!
Salad was great, pizza itself was good, best meal we had in Mackinaw City. What more could we offer you.
Yes, sometimes space is close, but, we are trying to get all of our customers in and seated , we are very very busy at this time of year.
Maybe we should cut the amount of bacon on our salad, however, most of our wedge eaters love their bacon. Something for me to think about though.
I love and welcome constructive criticism, some i actually address, and some I just read and think about it. I try to weigh what you say that is positive and what you say that is negative, and then deduct a logical opinion. This one was hard for me to decide for sure. Thank you for reviewing us. Please visit us again. Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Palace also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Pizza Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing