We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A work in progress”

Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.00*
and up
Mackinaw City Sunset Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A point in the storm and a guiding beacon since 1889, Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse helped passing ships navigate through the treacherous waters of the Straits of Mackinac. There's just as much to see from the top of the tower as inside the original buildings. Authentically restored quarters and exhibits, including the original lens and the Straits of Mackinac Shipwreck Museum, this "Castle of the Straits" is a true gem of the Great Lakes.
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,631 reviews
1,093 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,310 helpful votes
“A work in progress”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a beautiful lighthouse for those looking for a wonderful sunrise picture. We stopped to take the tour and most of the rooms are stored with a few to go. Donations will help them tremendously as the attraction is free. Great views of the bridge and Mackinaw City. The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Easy access to the top of the light. Afternoon, the sun is behind you and makes for a better picture.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    136
    27
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angola
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stopped at both the lighthouses (McGulpin Point and Old Mackinac Point) and enjoyed both. This was a guided tour through some of the museum, although you were welcome to look on your own also. Even at the top there was a guide to answer questions and give information about the lighthouse. The view from the top was great and the artifacts and historical information was good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnitaS369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful view and educational!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The view from the top of the lighthouse is amazing! It was a clear day so we could see for miles. We were also able to take pictures while up there. Our tour guide to the top was a very knowledgeable gentleman and had answers for every question asked. However, if you don't like stairs or really tight quarters, going all the way to the top isn't for you. Maybe its possible to get in a smaller group but our group was really crammed in at the very top which made it very cozy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emptynesters50613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
128 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Neat but do McGulpins”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

So its odd that one lighthouse is free and one is like 5 bucks a person....well this light house is right by the mackinaw bridge...so Im sure you have a good spot to take pics at the top of light house. I got there about 15 min to late, so didn't get to climb it...but the beach area is nice and also allows for good picture taking.

Im glad I didn't pay to go up to the top because it isn't that different than the McGulpins and the other one is free and you can walk down to the shore and take pics

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank elizabethw001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMurray, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun place to visit”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place is really pretty and we were also able to take our dog with us all around the Lighthouse. The ground and park are beautiful....a must see in Mackinaw City.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank debski49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing