We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lighthouse”

Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.00*
and up
Mackinaw City Sunset Cruise
More Info
$24.00*
and up
Mackinac Bridge History Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A point in the storm and a guiding beacon since 1889, Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse helped passing ships navigate through the treacherous waters of the Straits of Mackinac. There's just as much to see from the top of the tower as inside the original buildings. Authentically restored quarters and exhibits, including the original lens and the Straits of Mackinac Shipwreck Museum, this "Castle of the Straits" is a true gem of the Great Lakes.
KS
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lighthouse”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Love their gift shop and feel like when I make a purchase there I'm helping the light house. Lots of good photo opportunities

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank counselorKs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    147
    30
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very pretty”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very pretty and well kept. Easy to get to. Walkway in that area is very nice too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very interesting”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Can actually climb to the top. Tour was well done.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank bluejay6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is the first lighthouse I have actually been in. I was actually amazed that the public was able to go to the top. I admit the spiral stairs scared me a little as I am not big on heights. I think 12 people being squeezed in the top was a little too much and felt bad for a couple older people who seemed to struggle getting up that last ladder. The view was amazing, but maybe the tours should be kept at a max of 8.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank OonasMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Small but interesting”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The climb up to the light (inside the lighthouse) is steep, small and may be difficult for some older or larger people but it's worth the climb if you can do it. There is a lot of interesting information and the tour guides know a lot of the history of the lighthouse. It's worth it even if you can't climb up to the light.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rameyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing