We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Interesting!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Icebreaker Mackinaw Maritime Museum Inc.

Icebreaker Mackinaw Maritime Museum Inc.
Ranked #1 of 6 Tours in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Canton, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Interesting!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had heard of this ship, that it was a self-guided tour, so we went! The attendants were very happy to oblige with our questions, and had many TV's with videos that we could watch about how this ship, came to its rest after being bought by the Coast Guard. We got to see the captain's quarters, pilot's controls, cafeteria, decks, engine room, and more! I spent an hour and an half touring it, because I liked history personally. I recommend this museum because not only is it interesting for kids, as it has many stops and windows into life aboard a Coast Guard ship, it also has many amazing views for picture taking or simply admiring the sea and the ship. Being self-guided, there was the possibility of being lost, but fortunately there are yellow arrows around the ship to help guide everyone around. The only downside to the ship would be that there are many steep stairs, being a real boat. Those were hard to climb but worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    65
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“better than I expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. You can walk though most of the ship. engine room to bridge. The items that were in use are still there. The guides are terrific: they are knowledgeable and interesting. The short videos show firing up the engines, ice breaking and the history of the Mackinaw.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sophiatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
129 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“It was very interesting...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I really like this tour. It is self guided. The kids get a scavenger hunt card to keep them busy during the tour. Its very neat to hear how the boat works and how it can actually climb on top of the iceburgs to break them up. Id recommend as its an original boat and the only boat of its kind.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank elizabethw001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great attraction!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a great time going through the ship and seeing what the inside of an icebreaker looks like. Lots of great things to see and everyone was very informative and friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelique K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Great If You're a Ship Aficionado”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This tour is interesting and will be especially of interest to those with a love of ships and sailing. I found the relics from the Edmund Fitzgerald to be especially fascinating (especially the life boat). There is an admission charge.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank suz1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icebreaker Mackinaw Maritime Museum Inc. also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Icebreaker Mackinaw Maritime Museum Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing