We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat quiet setting reveals secret.”
Review of 'Neath the Birches - CLOSED

'Neath the Birches
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Indiana
Level Contributor
197 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Neat quiet setting reveals secret.”
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Wife and I ate here last night for our 4th anniversary. This is the 3rd year we have ate here for our anniversary.
Food comes out quick and prepared as orders. Service is friendly. Place has been open 40+ years and is set right off the highway about 1/2 mile south of town. Building is very spacious with plenty of windows to take in the scenery of the trees and nature. Wood paneling and tables and chairs reminds me of what it was like to go out to eat back when it was a treat to do so instead of an every day thing.
Salad bar is well stocked and plenty to eat from it.
They gave us a free cake for our anniversary and take home box for us to eat on at the motel.
This is my favorite place to eat when we vacation here and look forward to going back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iam4pacers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    9
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
alabama
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and good food.”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I loved my meal there. The service was super. The buffet was well maintained with lots of choices. I loved the ice cream and drinks.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alabamabusybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“awful food”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We ate here last weekend. We have eaten here before and it was very good. Should have been a clue when there was only one other table filled while we were there. It was 5:30 on a Saturday night. My husband and I both ordered prime rib. It was over $22.00 each. It look gray and very tough not at all what I expected. It was the worst prime rib I have ever had. I will not go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Good food, fairly expensive”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We ate here late on a night during the week while staying in the city. The food was very good and there is a pretty view, but the prices are a little steep. I think we paid about $25 per entree. I wouldn't take the family here, but it was nice for a romantic meal.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rameyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheboygan, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great off the path setting”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great food, especially the seafood. Off the beaten path in a beautiful setting tucked away just south of main Mac Cty. Don't buy gas at the Citgo there, though. Highest in area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank soub7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 'Neath the Birches also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing