We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Do not let the past negative reviews scare you away from this place, for the price you will not get any better view of the island or the bridge. The beach was nice and you could walk further in either direction if you chose to do so, the weather was poor during our 4 days here so that took away from enjoying the full experience that we could have during our stay. But the view was beautiful and they were very attentive to the grounds and they pretty much leave you to yourselves to enjoy your stay in quiet, if you were bothered by the current owners then you are going out of your way to attract attention. The walk to get coffee is not far and the muffins are to die for so I would have walked further if needed. Be aware though that these are basic accomidations and you should go in with that in mind because this is not a luxury hotel or would you want it to be because it would take away from the experience. The only negatives was lack of a microwave they would seem safer than the hot plates and be more practical If you are seeking a beachfront cottage I would request to not get the one by the fire pit as that seemed a little awkward having groups of people outside your door. But overall a nice experience and if you are looking for simple pleasure then you must stay here you will not regret it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phooeypapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    31
    10
    9
    12
See reviews for
49
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We rented a cabin for a long weekend with our 2 dogs. The cabins are old and not well maintained although the beds were comfortable. Nothing is furnished except for an old 2 burner hot plate and towels so if you want coffee bring your own coffee maker if you want coffee without the inconveience of getting dressed and walking to the office. The outside of the cabins look alot better than the inside of the cabins. You could sit on the deck to enjoy the view if you didn't mind getting sap dripped on you from the pines around the cottage.

The beach is nothing to brag about either. A little bit of sand with grass showing in places and the sand in the water is mucky and rocky. There was a nice view of the bridge and of the island. For what you are paying for the rental you could do alot better than what you pay for here. Even the owner told my husband that he would not pay to stay there.

We were told that this place was pet friendly which was the reason we stayed there even though I had concerns after reading the reviews as to whether not we should reserve the cottage. We took a supply of plastic bags and a small shovel which was kept on the deck to clean up after them. There were several vacationers there with dogs and the only fire pit was next to our cabin so there was alot of traffic past our cabin to get to the pit which meant dogs were also walking past the cabin.

The owner was out every morning between 6 and 6:30 picking up pine cones or raking up the pine cones so I'm sure he knew that the area around our cabin was being kept clean. However, when we got home, we had an email from him telling us our dogs had s!!! alot and that we were rotten dog owners.

We loved Mackinac City and it is a very friendly pet city and will return in the future but we will not be returning to the Beach House.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank traverlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Russ and Maxine were wonderful, friendly hosts. Our trip to Mackinac was our first family vacation in 10 years and the Beach House made it special. Even with 5 adults, cabin #30, on the beach, was very comfortable. We had plenty of room, AC, cable TV, and a bath with a tub, not just a shower! Our beds were made daily and the beach area and grounds were kept very tidy--even the pinecones were picked up! With a few groceries and a couple of pots, we could have stayed on the beach or our own deck without leaving. There is a full-sized fridge and only a hot plate but it is not your usual "roughin-it" cabin. We were able to walk to the shopping area and restaurants. The beach access was the best of any we saw and parking is right outside your door. We woke to sunrises at the foot of our beds and turned in after sitting around the campfire on the beach. Wish I was there right now!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtrippinfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhmc, owner at The Beach House, responded to this review, July 4, 2009
Thank you for your great review....
and the superb pictures....
hope to see you guys again.

Russ and Maxine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudenville, MI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2009

This is one of the last of the charming cottage-on-the-beach places. The location is close enough to town without being in the noisy hub-bub. We were steps from the water in our own little cottage with a view of Mackinaw island and the bridge lit up at night. We would go back in a heartbeat. This place has all the charm that seems to be missing in the big, mega-water-park-hotels. It's very affordable and the owners were pleasant and provided excellent service. I hope others support this great little place too.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PupPrudenville_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2009

The Beach House is a quaint, warm and friendly place with a spectacular view of Mackinac Island and the Mackinaw Bridge. These beach cottages are a reminder of what vacations in Northern Michigan used to be like before hotels and condo's. The cottages are spotlessly clean, with comfortable beds and traditional cottage furnishings. The owners attention to details like flower boxes on the cottages, porch chairs, adirondak style beach swings, a beach volleyball net and a community campfire make this a great find. This is a place where families can relax and kids can make sand castles on the beach. A place for all folks who want to experience the casual cottage life .....or for those who want a reminder of vacations past.....this is a good place! A pet friendly place too! Less than 5 min from the Mackinac Island ferry's and downtown Mackinaw City where you can find miniture golf, shopping, restaurants, light shows, fudge of course and nitelife. We loved it! ;)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luriesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2008

The "Beach House" has a nice website, but it is nothing like it is in person. Our cabin was very old, very smelly, outdated, and it was very small.
The owners were terrible. They had two large dogs that would come by your cabin. I walked out of my cabin and the male owner was standing right at our window looking in, he jumped back when he saw me. Then the samething happened at night. It was dark and I went out to my car and he again was at my window. I did not know what to do. I'm grateful I only stayed the one night. We jumped in our car and took off never to return

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Owners
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank runfar26mMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Beach cabin #27. STRONG smell of urine inside, I mean like somebody had a kidney infection smell. BAD. I cannot believe somebody actually has the guts to rent a place out for $250 for 2 nights and put their reputation on the line, and not clean the carpet. The floor was even sticky and stunk! We had to wear slippers all weekend. So much for the romantic weekend with my wife on the sandy beach with a great view. Within 20 minutes of our arrival, the owner walked two large dogs within 2 feet of our deck and door, led them to the corner of our cabin where the dogs peed. Pi$$ puddles within 4 feet of our cabin to welcome us!!!
I WILL NEVER BE BACK!!!!!

  • Liked — Beach and View
  • Disliked — The strong smell of urine inside and sticky carpet
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TimmyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#19 of 39 in Mackinaw City
872 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#13 of 39 in Mackinaw City
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Property: The Beach House
Address: 11490 US Hwy 23, P.O. Box 141, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-8709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Beach House 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is the last stand of cottages on the water in Mackinaw City. We have a beautiful beach, great view of Mackinaw Island and Mackinaw Bridge. Nightly bonfires, kitchenettes available. We are pet friendly upon approval. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing