We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life's 'a Beach (House!)”
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

What a hidden jewel! Small cottages, right up against the Lake. Great views of the bridge and island. Priced just right, too. Owners were great - took the time to show us their property, which was beautiful with flowers and uber-clean. We booked a small cottage with a view out the front door of the lake. Couldn't have asked for more. They even had a bonfire on the beach for us.

Room Tip: Grab a cottage that suits the # of people in your party - they come in all sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 127 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just visited 8-23 Dirty!!! Very outdated, small updates & cleaning would have made a huge difference! Awful pillows, The owner (man) could use a class in customer service & hospitality, he was extremely rude. Should offer more than muffins for breakfast. The indoor pool was freezing, the only good thing about this place was it being right on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My wife and I had a week to ourselves with kids and headed to Mackinaw. We stayed in a cottage at The Beach House and really enjoyed it. The cottage was very simple - a bed, small TV and a small bathroom, but it suited us very well. We spent the days out and about so only needed a place to sleep at night. We enjoyed walking on the beach and had a very nice picnic on the beach as well. The staff were very very friendly and accommodating. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows not so much. Good thing we had our own. Getting the temperature right in the shower became a game, but was OK. I you just want a place to sleep at night and a fairly nice little beach to enjoy in the Mackinaw area, this is a great option.

Room Tip: Some of the cottages are right on the beach, some are behind them, landward, so make sure you know w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We just had a wonderful time at the Beach House. Roasting marshmellows on the beach, swimming in Lake Huron, wonderful view of the Bridge, clean, owners very friendly and beautiful landscaping. Look forward to going back!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bellemere102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

We love this place. This was our second yr to stay. We won't stay any other place but here, have been coming every year to Mackinaw city now for 6 yrs. Have stayed many places but this is the best by far. The owners are very personable and care about your needs and want you to have a good stay. You can build a fire on the beach at night and sit by the water and sun during the day. Shopping is just down the road. Always sad to leave but we know we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crislynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I try to get up here at least once a year. We LOVE the cottages and the owners are amazing! I almost wonder if some of the "bad" reviews are rival cottage/hotel owners but that's just a hunch. We have come here alone and have also brought family and everyone loved it. I will not stay anywhere else in Mackinaw. I've even passed up a chance to stay on the island to stay here. it's my little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This places is off the beaten path, the cottages are so charming, the grounds are beautiful ! You have the lake front, fire pit at night and they supply the wood and anything else that is needed. They have a pool and jazzi. Its not the Hilton but if your looking for the laid back cozy feel and not the big corporation. This is perfect! ( and the owners I can't say enough about! the two of them are the most amazing people, so accommodating!) Pricing fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshinemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#21 of 40 in Mackinaw City
649 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.6 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
#20 of 40 in Mackinaw City
950 reviews
1.4 mi away
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
#8 of 40 in Mackinaw City
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Address: 11490 US Hwy 23, P.O. Box 141, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-8709
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Mackinaw City
Price Range: $90 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Beach House 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is the last stand of cottages on the water in Mackinaw City. We have a beautiful beach, great view of Mackinaw Island and Mackinaw Bridge. Nightly bonfires, kitchenettes available. We are pet friendly upon approval. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing