We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for breakfast!”

Darrow's Family Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Description: American & Family cuisine
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Ate her with my family on our way out of town. Clean, service was fast and friendly. Pancakes were great, eggs and homemade biscuits were good too! We left full and happy with the service we had. I would go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerryrenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,031
    370
    137
    30
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good Place for Lunch”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stopped here for lunch during a recent trip around Lake Michigan. Service was good and so were the burgers. Too bad there weren't more gluten-free options. When you're passing through and need a clean reasonably priced place for lunch, stop here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trailman1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinaw City, Michigan
1 review
“Not the restaurant of my dreams...”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hostess was very short - not welcoming at all.
Have never felt as rushed (felt like we were being pushed through).
Food was ok, but prices were a little high (sandwiches and burgers start around $10).
The restaurant doesn't have an adequate waiting area.
If you're going with a family, consider going before 5 pm. That's when the lines start to form.
Not sure we would go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Pie”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Family of six, had late lunch here, place was kind of quiet. Excellent service from our waitress, who was funny, friendly and helped with dinner suggestions. The pie is fantastic. would drive back for just the pie. Will come back later in day to try the dinner specials.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ont
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Family Restaurant, Home Style Food”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We visited Darrows twice on our vacation last week. I will say that our first visit far surpassed the second one. On the first visit our waitress was helpful, friendly and attentive. She made great recommendations and made us feel welcome. The second visit, our waitress was rude and abrupt. She gave the impression that we were an inconvenience to her, not the reason she had employment. if we had have had her the first visit we would not have been back. The food was good and homemade. The pies we had were both very good. Darrows is not a fancy or trendy restaurant. If you are looking for that type of atmosphere choose a different venue. It is a family restaurtant with home cooked meals. I did not find it to be overpriced, but I suppose that would depend upon where you where from. Also keep in mind it is a tourist area, so prices may reflect that as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djsunfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darrow's Family Restaurant also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Darrow's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing