We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and Clean Restaurant”

Darrow's Family Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: American & Family cuisine
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious and Clean Restaurant”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We just returned from a vacation to Mackinaw City. We ate at Darrows twice First we had the whitefish sandwich with a salad or soup. The restaurant is very clean and the service was wonderful and fish were delicious and so fresh tasting. I had broiled and my husband tried Cajun. The only problem was it was such a big sandwich we did not have room for their fabulous pies we had read so much about. Last night we shared the whitefish dinner. I think the piece of fish was over a foot long. We had mashed potatoes and a salad. The waitress was so nice. She gave us separate plates, even for our salad to split. We had banana cream and rhubarb pie. It was sooo delicious. We stopped on our way out of town today and got a piece of the 4 berry pie to take home and it was delicious. We also saw the portions of other patrons and they are huge. We would highly recommend this restaurant and don't feel bad about sharing. They are used to it. It was the best of about 4 places we ate.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rovidesis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,001
    358
    127
    26
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best comfort food ever!!!!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We visit this establishment every time we come from NC. Best comfort food znd best pie hands down...lemon is my favorite. ...you should do a cookbook

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelrncdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always Great Food”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great food, great service. Real home cooking - not fake food. The portion sizes are generous. Had the same waitress this time as we had 2 years ago - and she remembered us! Pie was a highlight, too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armada, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Had good home made food.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place has been in business since 1957 that tells you off the bat has good home made food! Prices were ok, heard but didn't try home made pies are great would eat here again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2goodtimes07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“PIE!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Okay, so I won't make any secret of the fact that we went here for the pie. We were not disappointed. After a delicious lunch of a cup of homemade chili (sweet chili, the way northerner's like it) and a crispy, perfectly fried whitefish fillet sandwich we were ready for some of the amazing pie we glimpsed when we walked in the door. My husband got the peanut butter and chocolate pie and I got the coconut cream and they were both insanely delicious! They don't skimp on the portion size either. Each slice was very large, and the price was awesome. You want a piece of pie like that in Dallas, and first, good luck finding somewhere that even serves it, and second, it would be about $8 a slice, which is about what we paid for both slices together! Do yourself a favor, your mouth will thank you!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nightingale7703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darrow's Family Restaurant also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Darrow's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing