We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Mackinaw's best”

Darrow's Family Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: American & Family cuisine
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
162 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“One of Mackinaw's best”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Went here with a friend on a Thursday about 4 pm. Have eaten breakfast here many times over the years and it is simply top notch every time. We had no waiting as we specifically tried to get the in between lunch-dinner crowd and usual dinner line. I had the perch sandwich (fried) and my friend had the whitefish sandwhich (broiled) Both meals had the choice of one side. I had the homemade mushroom soup. Quite simply one of the best I have ever had! Food was prepared just right and server was on top of things. Place is clean and overall a great restaurant. Be sure to read the front of the menu for a history of the place.....very enlightening, There is a reason it has been in business for over 50 years........a must stop if you want quality food in a tourist town.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bikeboy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    970
    353
    123
    25
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The hot roast beef was great; if your use to a turkey club with lunch meat your in for a surprise (comes with real slices of turkey) - delicious but almost too much turkey. The pies looked heavenly but you almost don't have room after all of that. We did have the peanut butter and chocolate; my daughter said it was great since she's the peanut butter person. The atmosphere and waitress was delightful!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HumpertC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food.”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Great food, clean restaurant, good price. Best place we ate in Mackinaw City during our six night stay. Worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurium, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy and quick!”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We went here for lunch on a Wednesday, and the food was excellent, and the service was beyond fast. The pies looked excellent, but by the time we had our food, we were too full.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuperYooper97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The wait in line was long, but the fact there was a line on a week night tells you how good the food is. The place was packed! The fried fish was very good. I preferred the Walleye to the Whitefish, simply because the walleye had a firmer texture than the whitefish, but both were good. My daughter, the coleslaw hater, finished her entire bowl of the sweet & sour coleslaw (much to my disappointment because I was hoping to eat her bowl too!) We did not eat any pie, but they looked fantastic. This place is definitely worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WyEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darrow's Family Restaurant also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Darrow's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing