We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food at the Dixie Saloon!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dixie Saloon

Dixie Saloon
Ranked #14 of 52 Restaurants in Mackinaw City
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sauk City, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great food at the Dixie Saloon!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I had the 1lb of Fish and Chips and my boyfriend got the Pulled Pork Sandwich. We received our food instantly: fresh and hot. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. Waiter was great, friendly staff, great food and wonderful atmosphere. We will be going back: check out the coupons that are available prior to visiting.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    348
    266
    175
    165
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dixie Saloon experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

It was end of season but the Dixie Saloon was packed with patrons. We were fortunate to find a parking place right outside the entrance door. Jan had the Fish and Chips dinner and it was a pound of food. Very good. I had one of the steak dinners and it, too, was very good. Waiter was very attentive and helpful with the menu. Prices were moderate, plus we received a discount from the motel we were staying at. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vicksburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“great food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this place! The staff is always nice and helpful and the food has been nothing less than fabulous! Eat here!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank missie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“maybe just for drinks, never again for food. table was disgusting.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went here on the advice of our hotel, big mistake. My husband ordered their (famous) fish; he barely touched it. He said it wasn't very good. I had the chili & side salad -- the salad & chili at Wendy's is better and half the price. Will avoid this place next time we're in town. They also put us in a booth where the table & benches were carved into, graffitti-style. We joked that that's where the staff put the tourists to keep them from returning; it worked in this case.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
638 reviews
467 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I read some of the other reviews and almost did not go there. It is late October and there are not many choices of restaurants in Machinaw City this time of year. My daughter wanted to go there and it was her turn to pick the restaurant on this trip.

The service was friendly and fast. The restaurant was not very crowded. We both ordered the fish and chips. Both of us thought it was excellent. We enjoyed it.

We had a window table that overlooked Shepard's Marina and the water. I recommend a window table.

The restaurant is well kept up and has a Northern look to it.

Again, we both enjoyed it

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixie Saloon also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Dixie Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing