We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lamplighter Motel
Nearby Hotels
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach House(Mackinaw City)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$129
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Motel(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vindel Motel(Mackinaw City)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baymont by Wyndham Mackinaw City(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveler rating
140
27
5
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
140
27
5
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomother guestscamp firewithin walking distancethemed roomsmackinac islandparking lotfive minute walkplace to staywell maintained and cleanthe main stripreasonable ratesfridge and microwavedowntown areaterrybuickbonfire
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 178 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

First off, the 2-star rating has to be taken in context. There were things to like about the Lamplighter, but based on the reviews in TripAdvisor I was expecting more. The price is very reasonable for the area but just keep in mind, you get what you pay for. We stayed in the Lighthouse room (2 adults, 2 kids) and we had a hard time fitting everything in the rooms. Both rooms were very small (beds take up most the room) and the bathroom was even smaller. What made it "less than" what I read on TA was that my wife really didn't care for it. Granted, she likes major chains that have all of the amenities, but this place only had its location and the charm of the owners going for it.
It was fine for me, and perhaps some of my traveling buds, but if you like spacious rooms with the latest decor this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jluther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The whole time at this place was awesome. The owners were warm and made us feel like home. The closest to everything was incredible. We were up there for a triathlon and during the race the owners came down to watch and take pictures. The fire and s'mores at night were heart warning, to be able to meet up with people from all over. Thank you so much for everything. Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in a Garden theme room. It's cozy with pretty decor, but the room is small. I guess you've got what you pay for.

Pros: walking distance to downtown, attractions and Shepler's ferry terminals; towels are clean; camp fire at night; next to a playground

Cons: no hair dryer, no microwave or fridge in standard room, small room and bathroom, no laundromat

I think I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed one night on our way to Macinac Island in the Dragonfly room. It was extremely clean and cozy. The campfire in the parking lot in the evening was a relaxing way to get together with other travelers.We liked our stay so much that when returning from the island two days later we spent a night in the Somewhere in Time room one night. A lot of their buismess appeared to be from return customers and if in the area again we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OCDtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

For several years during the week of July 4th, we have stayed at the Lamplighter Motel. We usually stay two nights when we take our annual family trip with our kids and grandkids. Over the years we've added 7 grandkids and everyone considers the Lamplighter our "home" in Mackinaw City. We have never been disappointed with our stay at this great little motel. The motel is situated in a quiet neighborhood away from any traffic noise and crowds yet it's only 2 blocks from the main street in Mackinaw City. It's also within walking distance from a fantastic view of the Mackinac Bridge. The rooms are always SUPER clean and the rates are VERY reasonable!!
We already have 3 rooms reserved for next year's (2013) annual 4th of July family trip! I highly recommend this motel. You will NOT be disappointed with your stay!!! .
.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol49426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews