We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could ask for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We were on a motorcylce vacation and stayed here for 1 nite. Was very clean and quaint. Loved the rooms! They were all decorated to match the seasons!! Thay had a heated pool that was outside and very clean. It was right across from the lake and the the veiw or the bridge was awesome! It was walking distance to many shops and resturants. I cant wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tncutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 252 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2010

Cheaper compared to other motels in area. Seemed a mom and pop operation - very nice people, very clean, nice pool, nice location. Stayed in a "theme" room that was rather small and cramped. Few surface areas available were taken up by large artificial flower arranagments. Bed rather hard. Pillows were "cement." Water was never very hot - warm but certainly not hot. Were on second floor - no elevator - and would be very concerned if had children. The railing around the second floor is very low and rather fllimsy - would certainly consider it a safety concern.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PasCaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We were here for two nights. My family used to own a small motel and I was very impressed with the amount of work that had been done to update this property. It is very nicely landscaped with chairs and swings abounding to enjoy the beautiful property and Mackinaw Bridge views. Nice heated pool. Beautiful outdoor atmosphere. The rooms are scrupulousy clean and some are themed for an extra touch. An easy 4 block walk to town. We loved it. A couple of cons- There is no continental breakfast of any kind, but free coffee in the office. No elevator to the 2nd floor. They advertise bridge views, but from our room all we could see was a hideous monstrosity of a house just built, blocking any bridge view. Not their fault, but still no bridge view. Overall, a great value compared to other properties which go for up to and over twice as much. We had a great time here. I very much recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikenvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We didn’t stay in a themed room, but the owner was more than happy to show us around. The “Somewhere in Time” room was darling! The care and attention to detail show the love & pride the owners have for their place. It is more of boutique-type hotel than anywhere we stayed our entire vacation, and it was a real treat. It had a very homey atmosphere. The gardens are beautiful, as well as the view of the Mighty Mack over the lake. The owners were extremely helpful in suggesting places to go & things to see while we were in town, and also suggested things to see in our travels throughout Michigan. We just loved our stay and our hosts! If you’re looking for a brand new, run of the mill hotel for the night…this isn’t it…but I just know you’ll love the change of pace, should you choose to try it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joyjeff1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We just returned home from our summer vacation. We stayed 2 nights in Mackinaw City at the Budget Host. It was lovely. It is not a "new" luxury hotel directly on the sands of Lake Huron...........it's even better. The location is directly across the street from the Mackinaw Bridge with a perfect view. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. The pool right outside our door was crystal clear and a perfect 82 (hope I have that right) degrees. The grounds surrounding the motel were manicured and spotless. What more could you ask for. The beach was right across the street on two sides of the motel. It was within easy walking distance to the shopping area, marinas, island boats, churches, dining and public parks. We have stayed at many of the hotel / motels at Mackinaw City and this is top of our list now.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmb1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

The room was decorated with great detail, a themed room! With a park accross the street, we made a short walk to an enjoyable view of the bridge, which we could also see from our room. The Host and Hostess gave us a warm greeting, even at our late hour arrival. We were delighted with the room, not only due to detail, but also the cleanliness. Value was very good. It will be a destination for future trips north. The Host also gave us information about the area, which aided us in our enjoyment of the City. The pool looked great, we did not get a chance to use it, fenced in with many chairs. We enjoyed 2 of the lawn chairs in a well landscaped yard, and watched the lights of traffic on the bridge.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

The best thing going for Budget Host is its location -- it is directly across the street from the beach. Having said that, the building is old and tired. My room, "A Summer Place" was up on the second floor and the railings are so wobby that you cannot rely on them at all.

My room was fine. It certainly was clean. The bed was fine for me, but then, I have a firm bed at home. If you are used to a pillowtop mattress, you won't like the bed.

\It was cold in Mackinaw and the heat in the room seemed a bit iffy. The room was either too hot or not hot enough. Same with the hot water in the shower.

The pool was closed, I presume. It had leaves floating in it and the
innkeeper didn't say the pool was open.

It's a decent hotel provided you aren't paying a boatload of money for it. If I had to pay more than $65 a night, I'd go elsewhere. The next time I go to Mackinac, I'd prefer staying on the island.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cakokoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#21 of 40 in Mackinaw City
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#12 of 40 in Mackinaw City
238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Boutique Inn - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Boutique Inn - Lakeview

Address: 517 N Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9727
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mackinaw City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range: $94 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Boutique Inn - Lakeview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a full city block with shade trees, lush gardens and water fountains overlooking Lake Huron, and just across the street from the Mackinac Bridge and the Old Mackinaw Point Lighthouse. Award winning themed rooms. Expanded continental breakfast served in our SerendipiTea Room or opt for our signature "Breakfast Basket" delivered to your room. Evening candlelight wine and cheese reception for guests staying in themed rooms. Luxurious outdoor pool heated to 88 degrees (mid-May thru mid-Sept). Professional personalized service. Discounted ticket for Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry available in our lobby. Free shuttle service to and from the dock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your American Boutique Inn - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing