We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Just back from four nights at the American Boutique. This was our first time in the area. We found the hotel enjoyable from the point of view of location, management, fellow guests, comfort and charming breakfast room. We travel a lot, and do a lot of checking before booking, so the $112 we paid in high season for this place seemed fair. The management even bring continental breakfast to the room on request. It is obvious that the owners really love the place, as flowers and grounds are very well cared for. Recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank losdosgringos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 252 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2014

Nicely themed rooms, seemed clean and orderly. Owners were on premise and nice. The wine reception was a nice touch. We didn't use the pool but it was well maintained and others were enjoying it. We'd recommend it again to someone looking for a reasonable/simple motel location.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My granddaughter and I stayed along with my pet Shih Tzu for 2 nights in July. Although the room was small, it was exceptionally clean and comfortable and it appeared to have been recently updated. Everything looked new. The theme rooms were adorable! It was in a prefect location for us - across from the lighthouse and the park along the shore by the bridge. Great for walking the dog! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Although the Manager offered to call the ferry shuttle for us, we chose to walk to the dock. We were able to purchase our tickets at the hotel so we didn't have to stand in line when we got there. It was so peaceful and quiet; unlike staying at some of the larger hotels that may offer more in amenities, but you have to put up with a lot of noise and commotion. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when I return to Mackinaw, as I frequently do. It was awesome!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

My husband and i stayed at the American Boutique Inn for two nights. We found the owners to be very friendly and helpful. Although the rooms are older, we thought they were very quaint. Our room was very clean and the hotel itself was very quiet. Great location and in walking distance to everything. The only thing I felt was lacking was coffee making facilities in the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DandJ82014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Bath room in room 110, is so small that it's unbelievable. There is not much room to take a shower. The tub is very slippery. The entrance door when close daylight cones right through it. No door stop seals.
Not much for a breakfast. Same food high in sugars everyday.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Ernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were on our HONEYMOON!!! We had prebooked this DIVE based on its reviews and the fact that it was the ""4th best hotel"" in Mackinaw City!!! WHAT A LOAD OF @$!#!!
The only reference closely related to the ""Roman Holiday""" that was supposed to be our ""THEME ROOM"""was a cheap movie poster framed on the wall..There was also a ""sheet"" nailed to the wall that was behind the bed...probably another movie reference...The floor was disgusting. .the bathroom was FILTHY.. with hair in the drain. ...There were also ants in the bathroom..My husband went to the front desk to tell the manager that we were not happy at all and wanted to leave with a full refund..The only thing we could get was 2 nights..He refused to give us the entire 3 nights...I guess he needed the $$130 more than we did..
I IMMEDIATELY looked in the phone book for another place to stay starting the 1st thing in the morning. .The ONLY reason this hotel got a ""ONE"""is because there's nothing lower!!!!!

What a wonderful surprise!!! The next day we stayed at Mackinaw Bay and Beach for only $$$89...with a free hot breakfast and BALCONY overlooking Mackinac Island....Please read THAT review!!!!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamandbonnie, Owner at American Boutique Inn - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Upon your departure, my wife and I inspected your room thoroughly and found none of the conditions you have mentioned. The tub enclosure did have hair in it, but it had been used by you, your husband, or both. No ants were discovered in the bathroom or anywhere else in the room.

Your review is especially peculiar because the room (Roman Holiday) was totally refurbished for the 2014 season, and has been very well received by guests who have occupied the room both before and after your visit. You apparently found accommodations in Mackinaw more suited to your budget.

Our cancellation policy requires a 72 hour notice for any change or cancellation. You and your husband occupied the room for several hours before registering any complaint with the front desk. All deluxe King units were occupied the night you stayed, and you had tied up the room with a reservation weeks before your arrival. We are sorry that no refund was possible in this instance, and hope you enjoyed your visit to the Straits area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Cute, bathroom needed an update. Shower needed adjustment. HOT water, hard to adjust! Nice proprietors, will bring breakfast to your room, and it's Free. Very close to the Mac Bridge! No elevator to upstairs rooms. Nice outdoor pool. Beautifully kept gardens.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowerfriend2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#21 of 40 in Mackinaw City
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
#20 of 40 in Mackinaw City
948 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites-Mackinaw City-Bridgeview Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Boutique Inn - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Boutique Inn - Lakeview

Address: 517 N Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9727
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mackinaw City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range: $94 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Boutique Inn - Lakeview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a full city block with shade trees, lush gardens and water fountains overlooking Lake Huron, and just across the street from the Mackinac Bridge and the Old Mackinaw Point Lighthouse. Award winning themed rooms. Expanded continental breakfast served in our SerendipiTea Room or opt for our signature "Breakfast Basket" delivered to your room. Evening candlelight wine and cheese reception for guests staying in themed rooms. Luxurious outdoor pool heated to 88 degrees (mid-May thru mid-Sept). Professional personalized service. Discounted ticket for Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry available in our lobby. Free shuttle service to and from the dock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your American Boutique Inn - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing