We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our first time at a Bed and Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of American Boutique Inn - Lakeview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Our first time at a Bed and Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We had already visited Chicago and Toronto and had a few extra days so we came to Mackinaw City and Mackinac Island on a friends recommendation. We found the American Boutique Inn online. It is a lovely place but request a themed room over the standard room. The rooms are named after movies and are worth the upgrade. My kids loved the pool and spent all of their time in there when we were not sightseeing. The breakfast is wonderful and was more than enough for me and the kids. My kids were particular fond of the hard boiled eggs and the mandarin oranges. Breakfast is from 7:30-9:30 and there is a steady flow of people...be patient for a table. The owners will set you up with discounted ferry tickets and will call the shuttle for you. They also have great restaurant recommendations. A short walk up Henri gets you to town and one hotel over there is a Party Store for grown up drinks and ice cream for the kiddos. Across the street there are great views of the bridge but out favorite was to walk down for an ice cream and sit in the swings out in front of the Inn, idealic. Few people in town or on Mackinac Island take American Express so keep that in mind. We travel exclusively on AMEX so it was a monkey wrench for us but the Inn does take AMEX.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DobsonWilsonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    71
    26
    9
    7
See reviews for
66
98
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
541 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

The name got me really excited. It was not cheap, either, so I mistakenly assumed it would be nicer than it actually was. It reminds me of those "motor inns" I used to stay in with my parents while travelling in the 1960s. There is nothing wrong with this, mind you, but the price was excessive for a property of this sort. And I did compare with a couple of other places in town. They advertised a heated pool, but it was drained. We had a major negative issue upon which I will not elaborate, and ended up leaving shortly after check-in. The only reason I am giving it three stars is that the innkeeper refunded our money. If you don't mind paying in excess of $100 for an average room, you would probably like it.

Room Tip: For safety, request a room on the front of the property. The back and the parking lot look a bit sk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heyjudithz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Comfortable, clean lodging on the shore of Lake Michigan. Staff friendly and helpful. Close to major attractions of Mackinaw City. Heated pool on premises and well-manicured grounds. Breakfast included in lovely tearoom

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanH1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

I was a bit weary booking a 'themed' room. I read and re-read reviews and decided to go with it. I'm SO glad I did! My husband and I stayed in Endless Summer room. The room was nicely decorated and very comfortable. After a long car ride it was nice to have the wine and cheese reception. There were some great Michigan wines on hand. The hosts were very friendly.

This place is really close to the bridge and we enjoyed a nice walk along the front and got some great sunset Mackinaw Bridge pictures. I am more than happy to recommend this place to anyone. We will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: Of course I have to recommend Endless Summer - nicely decorated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Very nice place, the rooms were clean. We had a theme room which was really nice, the beds were fantastic we had too look to see what brand they were and surprisingly it was a Temperpedic. breakfast in bed was the highlight for my wife as it was a weekend for her birthday. There was also a wine and cheese reception the first night, great time for getting together with other guests and enjoy a glass or two. Owners were delightful and very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in the room 'Roman Holiday' which was decorated very prettily. Breakfast room near reception also lovely. The cheese and wine evening was an unexpected bonus on the first night! Gorgeous setting and one of the comfiest beds we've ever slept in, very enjoyable experience all round.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I booked a room here for OCT 11, 2013, - our 33rd Wedding Anniversary.
It was part of a Northern Michigan Color Tour. We hope to have a great room, a nice dinner out to celebrate and enjoy our happy occasion.
The hotel is no where near the top ten in Mackinaw City; Here is what we found, factual information, no dramatics, or inflated negative, just what we experienced.
1. Hotel is 50-60 year old Mom & Pop hotel with very little $$ spent on improvements.
2. Wall in the room are original wood paneling painted white.
3. Television was an old tube set, about 15-18 in screen.
4. Various small holes in the walls where there apparently used to be towel racks I think.
5. Clean towels were in a basket on floor as there was no counter space or shelving area to store them.
6. Dropped ceiling tile metal runners are rusty.
7. Internet connection very, very poor and so weak it cut in-out and was most frustrating.
8. Extremely low water pressure - so low in fact that when I flushed a toilet in ran for over 10 minutes because it filled up so slowly. FORGET TAKING A SHOWER.
9.There was hole in the side of the Entrance door where the dead-bolt lock used too be - now missing = Poor security and not a good feeling as we were at the more rearward end of the hotel and adjacent to an open stairway off the back of the building.
10.Bathroom very small. Room with toilet and tub had area about 30in square where you could stand in front of the toilet or to the tub on your right side. You had to open/close the door utilizing this small as well since it opened inward.
That is my list of things I noticed and decided to write down in hopes of saving other travelers the same disappointment.
We are both sorry we did not check the room out first as they told us it was the last room available and we knew the #1 and #2 rated Hotels were already filled / sold out.
We thought, "How bad could it be at #3 rated? Poor decision on our part.
Probably should have went to the front desk and attempted to get our money back right then and there. I would have rather of driven the 4 hours back home than stay here.
Oh yes, the beds are extremely soft, and I woke up with a backache.
Needless to say, this was really a disappointment and it really spoiled our special Anniversary evening.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamandbonnie, Owner at American Boutique Inn - Lakeview, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Cheryl... We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit with us. As luck would have it, you walked in off the street and got one of the two rooms in our establishment that have yet to be renovated on the night before we closed for the season. We have owned and operated this business for 30 years and take a great deal of pride in our property. We are surprised that you did not come to us and note your dissatisfaction as we would have refunded your money immediately. Unfortunately we heard nothing from you during your visit with us, making it virtually impossible for us to do anything for you. Many, many couples celebrate special occasions with us, and our repeat business is outstanding as you can see by the overall content of our Trip Advisor reviews.

Please be assured that the maintenance issues that you highlighted will be addressed before we reopen the room that you occupied We hope to see you again, and will credit 100% of what you paid toward your next visit with us. Just call ahead for your reservation.

Sincerely,

William R. Bertchinger
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinaw City
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
1.1 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#15 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Boutique Inn - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Boutique Inn - Lakeview

Property: American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
Address: 517 N Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9727
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mackinaw City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Boutique Inn - Lakeview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a full city block with shade trees, lush gardens and water fountains overlooking Lake Huron, and just across the street from the Mackinac Bridge and the Old Mackinaw Point Lighthouse. Award winning themed rooms. Expanded continental breakfast served in our SerendipiTea Room or opt for our signature "Breakfast Basket" delivered to your room. Evening candlelight wine and cheese reception for guests staying in themed rooms. Luxurious outdoor pool heated to 88 degrees (mid-May thru mid-Sept). Professional personalized service. Discounted ticket for Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry available in our lobby. Free shuttle service to and from the dock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your American Boutique Inn - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing