We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel”
Reviewed August 19, 2008

The Budget Host Inn is clean and cute. The pool is well maintained and warm, around 88 degrees. There are colorful deck chairs by the pool, and there's a pretty little garden area in front of the hotel. The outside appearance is attractive. The owners of the hotel are friendly and the parking is convenient. The location is a bit of a hike to the downtown area, but not far from the beach area and the lighthouse. If you do decide to go for a walk, be aware that this area is not well lit at night. We went for a walk before dark, and returned after dark, and it was pitch dark, no streetlights throughout much of the surrounding area, and in some areas no sidewalk, either. It is near a nice little neighborhood, though, and walking in the daytime was a pleasure. We were just a few blocks away from a nice little park with slides, and swings, and a nice little sandy area for kids to play, as well as picinic tables.

The themed rooms are cute, but the standard rooms are just as nice. We stayed in a themed room one night and a standard one another night, and the rooms were pretty much the same, aside for the decor. If I went back, I'd just stay in a standard room. The decor in the themed room was not all that great. In fact, the fancy decorated ruffle at the top of the shower curtain fell on my head when I was getting into the shower. A quilt on the wall also fell down, and it had only been hung up with a couple of nails. There were fewer items decorating the standard room, but it was pretty, and just as comfortable, and nothing fell on my head while I was there. If you have little kids, by all means get a standard room. The themed room I was in had all sorts of decorative touches, such as a fake plant in a heavy pot, fake flowers in a heavy vase, a glass tabletop.....as a mom traveling with a small child, I was worried the whole time we were in that room that something would get knocked over onto my child or broken. That's stress I'd rather avoid, so my advice is to stick with the simpler rooms if you have little kids.

This is a decent little place that is a nice alternative to some of the higher priced hotels in the area. The rooms are clean, the pool is great, and the location is convenient to most of the area attractions.

  • Liked — Wonderful pool area
  • Disliked — Bathrooms were very small
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skye9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    74
    29
    9
    9
See reviews for
72
107
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
orlando, fl
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2008

Very nice themed rooms and immaculately clean! Our room had view of Mackinac Bridge across the road. We had never been to Mackinaw before, and the lights on the Bridge at night are a sight to see. We stayed three nights and walked everywhere we went, never once moving our car.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank jullee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILLINGTON
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2007

This property is very clean, neat and attractive. The prices are unbelievably reasonable, the pool is clean and apparently enjoyable, from what I observed. The water is kept at 87 degrees and the kids there all seemed to love it. We stayed in two different rooms and both were quite comfortable and beautifully decorated. The owners were very helpful and pleasant. The housekeepers were available when we needed them. What more could one ask for? We were quite pleased and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R&MRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2007

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. We stayed in a themed room with the most comfortable bed ever. The owners are fantastic and the location is wonderful. The swimming pool is to die for...REALLY! I can not say enough about this property. It is a dime a dozen!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank alexisdombro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 11, 2006

We booked the themed room "Somewhere in Time", named for the movie featuring Christopher Reeve and Jane Seymour. The room was beautiful, and we had a memorable stay. We plan to return this fall to take in the colors, and will book the same room again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2006

Do not be fooled by the themed rooms! The beds are absolutely horrible here! My husband ended up sleeping on the floor the bed was so bad! We got up very early and got out of there. Not a bit of hot water in the morning to take a shower. Yes the price is low and you may think it's only for one night but THINK AGAIN! One night can be very long in a place like this!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TomiJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
1.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#19 of 39 in Mackinaw City
627 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
902 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 39 in Mackinaw City
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Boutique Inn - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Boutique Inn - Lakeview

Property: American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
Address: 517 N Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9727
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mackinaw City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Boutique Inn - Lakeview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a full city block with shade trees, lush gardens and water fountains overlooking Lake Huron, and just across the street from the Mackinac Bridge and the Old Mackinaw Point Lighthouse. Award winning themed rooms. Expanded continental breakfast served in our SerendipiTea Room or opt for our signature "Breakfast Basket" delivered to your room. Evening candlelight wine and cheese reception for guests staying in themed rooms. Luxurious outdoor pool heated to 88 degrees (mid-May thru mid-Sept). Professional personalized service. Discounted ticket for Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry available in our lobby. Free shuttle service to and from the dock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your American Boutique Inn - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing