We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location an friendly staff. We also liked the outdoor pool and the view of the Mackinac bridge. The rooms were a little small but manageable. This hotel was repurposed as a boutique hotel and they did a great job. The place is very clean and within walking distance to the ferries for Mackinac Island or the front desk can call a shuttle. I will stay here again. Can't beat the view and location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gbtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 246 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was our first visit to the area in several years so I spent a large amount of time reading what were medicore reviews of other options before choosing this Inn. Unique 50 style motel redone in several themed well decorated rooms one of which we stayed in for 3 nights. Owned by a local friendly family which was available daily to meet, greet,answer questions or address any concerns. Peaceful convenient location, lovely grounds and clean. Lake views, nice pool. Staff gave us good recommendations for local restuarants which we tried and loved. We would definitely stay again. The Eagles

Room Tip: We stayed in a theme room. It was a little more money, but still reasonable. Upgraded linen, decor...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The American Boutique Inn is very nice hotel, but the hotel is not for everyone. We loved out stay and will stay again if we return to the area. If you like supporting independent ‘mom and pop’ establishments who are putting their heart and soul into their business: this hotel is worthy of your consideration.

The hotel is an early 1970’s era hotel. So yes, the rooms are medium small size (or just the right size in my opinion) the bathroom is small, and the sink is outside the bathroom. However the owners are doing a great job of maintaining and up-keeping the hotel. Our theme room was very nice and we felt like we were staying at a nice bed-and-breakfast home. The beds were very comfortable and the room included two chairs and a small table. The room had an old-style television, but we were on vacation and only turned the TV on for weather reports. The rooms do not have a refrigerator or microwave, but we had a cooler and no need for the microwave. The hotel offers a light continental breakfast that was good to start the day – coffee, juices, cereals, milk, bagels, etcetera – and perfect for us as we wanted to eat a nice lunch and try local treats during our explorations. The outdoor pool is very nice and the grounds are nicely landscaped with plenty of chairs all over to sit and relax. The owners run the hotel and a very nice, friendly, and genuinely care about their hotel and guests. We did not get to try the wine and cheese hour. The second floor rooms require climbing stairs.
The hotel location is fantastic and in a quiet area. Beaches are a block away to the east and to the north. The lighthouse is by the north beach and maybe two blocks away and the fort is three blocks away. The north beach also has nice views of the Big Mac Bridge. The tourist shopping area is an easy 4 block walk to the south. Ferry shuttles will pick you up and drop you off and the front desk has discount tickets.

If the above sounds good to you, I highly recommend The American Boutique Inn. I rated the hotel Excellent because of our relaxing experience and overall feeling about our stay. This hotel is an ‘old school’ type of travel hotel, and I mean that in a very positive way. We stayed two nights and wished we could have stayed a little longer.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms require climbing stairs.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TreborJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our first room's bathroom door did not close. To be fair, I could open/close it with force, but the kids could not. I believe the room was freshly painted, and that was the cause of the problem. When we reported it to the front desk, we were advised by a woman that we could "upgrade" to another available room for an additional $10 per night. We thought about it, then said, "Wait, that's not fair!" Returned to the office, and luckily there was a gentleman there who said we could get a new room at no additional fee. He apologized for the inconvenience, and, although we appreciated him, we wonder what kind of fight we'd be in for if he hadn't been there!

The breakfast could use improvement, for sure. I would have appreciated at least one option of fresh fruit. During our stay, the following were available: Bagels/cream cheese, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, canned pineapple, danish, cold cereal/milk, donuts, tea/coffee/juice, and I think oatmeal. The woman working in the breakfast area was really nice.

The pool was great, but the hours were inconvenient (noon-9). You know how it is on vacation - you are out all day, maybe go to dinner, come back to the hotel & want to swim. But, seemed like by the time we got back to the hotel, the pool was closing!

I don't have a strong opinion on the actual room. The pictures are pretty true to what you get. If the decor in the photos is not your style, you are not going to be happy when you arrive. Our room was clean, and we did have enough towels.

The location is GREAT (beach right across the street). The view is GREAT. There are comfortable swing benches out front where you can just chill and watch the lake, the people walking by.

Oh, a nice surprise was the very young man (maybe 13?) working the desk upon our checkout. He was so nice!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Karen1__R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamandbonnie, Owner at American Boutique Inn - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was glad to upgrade your room when you experienced the problem with the bathroom door. If we feel that the problem cannot be corrected within a very reasonable amount of time, we always upgrade if another room is available. Pool hours are noon 'til 10pm throughout July and August, weather permitting. We're breaking my 11 year old grandson in on the front desk. He is an asset to the property and will be thrilled that you mentioned him!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We only stayed for one night because we were passing through. The facility is extremely clean and pleasant. We were invited to a wine and cheese reception in the evening and breakfast in the morning. The very pleasant desk clerk also told us that we could have coffee and a continental breakfast delivered to our room in the morning if we preferred. The heated pool looked very inviting and, if we had been there earlier in the day, we would have used it. The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is the lightbulb in the toilet/shower area was very hot and made the room rather uncomfortable. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The rooms were so cute, not decorated like a typical motel room. Quiet location, right across from the water. Within walking distance to town and the ferry docks. The owner/manager was really friendly. We were able to buy our discounted ferry tickets right at the front desk. The pool is heated to 88 degrees so even though the weather was unseasonably cool, we were able to swim. The breakfast is a basic continental breakfast...bagels, danish, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal. It was good and kept us going til lunch. This is a clean, quiet motel in a perfect location. We'll definitely stay here the next time we go to Mackinaw.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebsar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a beautiful and friendly Inn. The staff including the maid were pleasant and extremely helpful! The location was excellent! The pool was small but heated and very relaxing. If you are looking for a quiet and pleasant stay this is the place for you!

Room Tip: The themed rooms were a bit dated but comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AStr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
1.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
635 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#21 of 39 in Mackinaw City
918 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 39 in Mackinaw City
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Boutique Inn - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Boutique Inn - Lakeview

Address: 517 N Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9727
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mackinaw City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range: $79 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Boutique Inn - Lakeview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a full city block with shade trees, lush gardens and water fountains overlooking Lake Huron, and just across the street from the Mackinac Bridge and the Old Mackinaw Point Lighthouse. Award winning themed rooms. Expanded continental breakfast served in our SerendipiTea Room or opt for our signature "Breakfast Basket" delivered to your room. Evening candlelight wine and cheese reception for guests staying in themed rooms. Luxurious outdoor pool heated to 88 degrees (mid-May thru mid-Sept). Professional personalized service. Discounted ticket for Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry available in our lobby. Free shuttle service to and from the dock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your American Boutique Inn - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing