We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Our three night stay was a excellent experience. The property is located in a nice quiet part of Mackinaw City, but close to everything. The ferry to the island is less than a 10 minute walk, there is a park directly across the street with great views of the bridge. The room was very comfortable with a different theme for each room. Breakfast was a quick start up in the nicely decorated breakfast room. The owners and staff were very helpful and friendly. The grounds are very well done with beautiful gardens, a nice place to sit and relax at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 220ord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 246 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

This motel is highly overrated when going by Trip Advisor. We were visiting the Mackinaw City area for our 40th wedding anniversary and were hoping for something a little special, so paid extra and got one of the themed rooms. The room was small with a bathroom that you could not turn around in with the towels having to be hung on the coat rack in the room. The furnishings are old and junky, no in-room refrigerator, no in-room coffee maker, no security locks on the door, no safe. The "award winner" breakfast was a continental breakfast and no fresh fruit served in a space where 10 people made it crowded. We talked with several other folks who stayed at hotels that had all these amenities plus a hot breakfast and both indicated they paid @$40 less per night. The view of the bridge is across the street and you have to look through the trees. I was so disappointed, hoping for something a bit different and quaint, a "boutique", but what we got was a look back at the 60's. You can do so much better.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bluejay6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit with us. We have owned and operated this property for the past 28 years, and are known for our hospitality, beautifully decorated rooms, spacious shaded grounds overlooking Lake Huron and the Mackinac Bridge, Our expanded continental breakfast and our complimentary evening wine and cheese reception.

We heard no complaints from you while you were on the property. We have several hundred repeat customers that visit us for special occasions every year, many having stayed with us for over 20 years. Obviously, they wouldn't be back if the experience we offer was not relaxing and enjoyable.

William Bertchinger
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Our recent stay was a treat. The themed room was so delightful and fun. Breakfast was great for a quick bite and the owners were very helpful. The location was close to the fun but quiet and peaceful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielleB67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

If you're visiting Mackinaw City and want a quiet, moderately priced, well cared for, and CLEAN motel, This is a good choice. All the rooms are furnished like they're part of a quaint Victorian bed & breakfast. The business is part of the Budget Host chain and those motels don't always get rated very well, but don't let the parent company name fool you. This place is worth a 5 star rating. It's located across the street from the Mackinaw City Lighthouse Park and Colonial Fort Michillimacinac, but there is no traffic or hustle and bustle. There's also a great view of the Mackinaw Bridge. The continental breasfast is good and they hosted a wine and cheese get-together on Friday & Saturday evening. This is a family owned property. That makes a big difference in today's world. This is the kind of place people return to many times. Severaol good restaurants very close. Ask Bill, the owner, for directions to Darrow's for great whitefish.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room for the best views.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne_Zurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms very nicely decorated and clean. Breakfast and wine were good. Only complaint was that it was a little noisey and the outside light was too bright in the room. Overall, a good buy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HonestOpinion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This hotel is one of Mackinaw's best kept secrets! The owners are very friendly and personable. The room I was in was decorated beautifully and I had a great view of the lake and of course, The Mighty Mac. In addition, breakfast was delivered to me in a cuite wicker basket. Great Job Bonnie & Bill!! :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hiexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Staying here twice a year for the last decade, excellent experience everytime! Owners Bonnie & Bill have taken great pride in the beautiful landscaped grounds so one can just relax in reading a book, take a swim in the pool, or people watch. Rooms are very clean...thanks to Patti & Mary! Within walking distance to bridge,park,and downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank donlsales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
1.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
635 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#21 of 39 in Mackinaw City
918 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 39 in Mackinaw City
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Boutique Inn - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Boutique Inn - Lakeview

Address: 517 N Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9727
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mackinaw City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range: $79 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Boutique Inn - Lakeview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a full city block with shade trees, lush gardens and water fountains overlooking Lake Huron, and just across the street from the Mackinac Bridge and the Old Mackinaw Point Lighthouse. Award winning themed rooms. Expanded continental breakfast served in our SerendipiTea Room or opt for our signature "Breakfast Basket" delivered to your room. Evening candlelight wine and cheese reception for guests staying in themed rooms. Luxurious outdoor pool heated to 88 degrees (mid-May thru mid-Sept). Professional personalized service. Discounted ticket for Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry available in our lobby. Free shuttle service to and from the dock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your American Boutique Inn - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing