We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Priced Low Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Choice Inn & Suites Lakeview & Waterpark
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Two Nights in an overpriced and cramped two-room suite - connected by a single walkway that stuffed in a small kitchen, a closet, and a single bathroom. Hardly suite-worthy, and certainly not worth the almost $800 bill for two nights. Breakfast was skimpy, the water park was nice, but not that inviting. Granted, it was the busiest weekend of the year....and our view of the parking lot was stunning.

Room Tip: Go across the street to the other Comfort Inn, but book well in advance of a holiday weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trippished
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 352 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is not your normal Comfort Suites Hotel, first we are sent to the 4th floor of an adjacent building when the elevator only goes to the 3rd floor, then go across to another building and cut thru the breakfast area (that was shared with 3 other hotels) and up another flight of stairs to a small single area room. This room did not provide the normal in room safe as Comfort Suites always do, the fridge was so tiny you could hardly fit 2 litre bottles in it, also no freezer space as ordinary Comfort Suites will provide a separate couch and sitting area, a place to work with your computer, and a medium size fridge with a small freezer in it for reusable blue ice. This place provided non of the above, but when looking out the windows the screens had fish flies and spiders all over them. This hotel never locked any of the outside doors as a quality hotel would after 10 or 11 pm and force you to use your key card or the main front door. The carpet was filthy in the room and in the hallways as our bare feet proved that very fast in our room. As for the complementary breakfast this was the normal Comfort Suite type spread, only this hotel shares the breakfast with 3 other hotels, so the line was a minimum 1/2 hour long every morning, and non of the customers seemed happy about this, it was very clear by the grumbling and conversations taking place the 1st day at breakfast and did not even attempt to get anything the 2nd day as the line was just as long as the day before. Must give credit were it is due, the bed was solid and firm, and the bedding was clean as was the bathroom and shower. The staff was not rude but if and when you passed them they would not even acknowledge your presence. Also the trash cans around the hotel were jamb packed with trash (if you could find a garbage can) and did not seem to be emptied on a regular basis. This hotel was horrible and I would make every effort possible to stay at another location as Mackinaw City was a real jewel and had a great time in the area. This hotel is a dump and that is a very kind description for this facility

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel, they do not lock outside doors at night so anyone could just walk in, complimentar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a very nice hotel to stay at! I first read the reviews before I booked our hotel, at first I was a little worried. However, after arriving I very quickly realized that the reviews were completely false!!! This hotel was extremely clean and the customer service was great! The water park was perfect for my two young boys, and I loved the large pool. The free hot breakfast in the morning was really nice. I will stay here again next time I come the mackinaw city!

Room Tip: Right across the street from the ferries to mackinac island!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Unique experience made in America, go back in time on Mackinc Island-no cars or motor vehicles everything by horse or bike! Have been to Mackinac Island, Mackinaw City and have traveled all the ferry lines from Mackinaw City and St Ignace. All ferry lines are competitively priced abiout $25.00 Adults for a round trip ticket or $23.00 if you buy on line. Many of the ferry lines take the visitor up close and personal with the Mackinac Bridge( 5 Miles in Length) the largest suspention bridge in the Western Hemisphere.
Mackinac Island is beautifully kept all buildings are well maintained and horses are in excellent condition. Mackinac Island is visited by travelers from all over the world and offers a unique and wonderful vacation-

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathieH921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The reviews for this hotel on the Mackinaw Tourism site were very positive- I should have come to this site first (much more accurate). This hotel has a great marketing person as it looked great on paper, but not in real life. It is nothing more than a glorified motel. The rooms are old, not very clean, and very over priced. The front desk people were rude and not helpful. They would not honor the price I was quoted through the tourism site (even though I had printed proof. They told me to take it up with the tourism people or with corporate.) The woman could not care less that we were not happy with our visit. We picked this hotel as it had the water park for the kids- little did I know that we could have stayed somewhere else for more than half the price and get bands to come over to the water park anyhow. The water park is great for kids 8 and under, but no older than that. The free breakfast is a joke- not enough seats and/or food for the number of people it was to serve. Save your money and keep looking for a better value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Comfort Suites by name, are not all comfortable. Choice Hotels by their brand names leaves a lot to be desired. And so it goes with this very large hotel. I cannot imagine their CEO, Steve Joyce, not having something to say to fix some obvious problems and designs. Torn balcony screen-doors, closet doors too short that were not made to fit, closets too shallow that hangers don't fit. How weird are these oddities? The food is just average. Yes, it was a large setup, but not convenient to approach with large crowds of people. More coffee stations would be an obvious improvement at that point in the AM's. The beds were above average and surprisingly firm. Our room, and access and exit points, are poorly located, necessitating considerable walking to and from the free breakfast. A couple of positives are: it is close to their business district and shopping, and on the main road of hotels, across from Lake Huron, so that is a convenience. Maybe it was JUST this hotel, but who knows? Steve Joyce no doubt, knows these problems are out there. I'll bet these will go unfixed, unchanged, and swept under the rug... and all will go on as it has. Ignorance is bliss.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PapaDaddyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Do not complain about weak or no wifi signal. If you do, management will threaten to call the police on you. Senior staff named Michelle will tell you all sorts of fluff about getting things done but you can witness her slacking off at the front desk chatting it up with her friends for the most part of the day. Her manager Ben Luchese is even worse. He threatened my family and even a specialist at Comfort Inn HQ that they will call the police on us for complaining about service we're not even receiving. Here's a quote from the manager, "I don't care about your satisfaction". This is towards getting some type of service in the hotel.

The last night before we had left, my sister and I witnessed the the most disgraceful and disgusting service we've ever seen from "customer service oriented" people. They literally fudged up a reservation for a family who had no where to stay. When the father got upset, the police was called in.

Worst ever. Do not even bother with these people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeoff_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
#20 of 40 in Mackinaw City
951 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#21 of 40 in Mackinaw City
649 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bridge Vista Beach Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.3 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Choice Inn & Suites Lakeview & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Choice Inn & Suites Lakeview & Waterpark

Address: 722 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9618 (Formerly Comfort Suites - Mackinaw City)
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range: $87 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crown Choice Inn & Suites Lakeview & Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crown Choice Inn & Suites Lakeview & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites - Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing