We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great anniversary dinner”
Review of The Chippewa Room

The Chippewa Room
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Audie's Chippewa Room offers casual, fine dining surrounded by Native American decor and an extensive collection of local artifacts. Chef Nick Jaggi and his family have built a reputation for excellent food and service as well as offering fine wines and hand-crafted cocktails. The menu, created by Culinary Institute of American graduate Chef Nick, offers a variety of seasonal specialties and local fare as well as hand cut steaks, seafood, and ribs. The Chippewa Room has won a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for our wine list and offers over 2 dozen wines by the glass. We open daily at 5 p.m. but are on hand to take your reservation at any time. Our staff is eager to welcome you!
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our 35th wedding anniversary was celebrated at the Chippewa Room. The waitress Lark was exceptional and paid attention to every detail. The starters of garlic bread with the house cheese and the French Onion soup were to die for. Very much enjoyed the baby back ribs and filet mignon entrees. Topped off with a complimentary delicious anniversary maple sundae. Lark was a pleasant addition to our special evening. We will return to the
Chippewa Room!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank chiefbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudiesRestaurant, General Manager at The Chippewa Room, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Chiefbud,

Congratulations on your anniversary! We are so glad you chose Audie's for your celebration. We hope to become part of your anniversary celebration each year!

Best,

Katie Kosorski
Audie's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for The Chippewa Room
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 174 of 186 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

The service it beyond slow. It took us 90 minutes to get our food. Too long for the price. The waiter is well intentioned, but the kitchen is helpless. Not high summer either. I wonder what this place is like during the high season!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ferropn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudiesRestaurant, General Manager at The Chippewa Room, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Ferropn,

Thank you for you review. I have to agree 90 minutes is an extremely long wait for a meal, I have never heard of a delay that long in our Chippewa Room. We also do not have any waiters in our Chippewa Room at this time. Maybe you were in our Family Room? I am not sure what night you dined with us but September 14 is our busiest Saturday of the year. Even so, that sort of time for a meal to be served is unacceptable and I apologize. I would like to get to the bottom of this, so I am going to contact you for more information.

Sincerely,

Katie Kosorski
Audie's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very nice restaurant with fantastic food, great menu selections, and superior customer service. We live in town and consider The Chippewa Room a special treat.

1  Thank Sheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudiesRestaurant, General Manager at The Chippewa Room, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Sheryl,

Thank you for your kind words and sharing your review of Audie's Chippewa Room with Trip Advisor readers. We are so grateful for the support of those in the local community who enjoy dining with us and spreading the word to visitors. We are blessed with wonderful guests who we consider to be part of our Audie's family. We always look forward to seeing you!

Warmly,

Katie, Nick and the Audie's Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Dinner two nights in a row. Margot served both nights she was 5 star. Planked whitefish,veggies with sauce and potatoes done to perfection. Apple pie a must. Chefs are Mackinaw city best. Greeted both nights by staff very focused and professional.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank maryannandgilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudiesRestaurant, General Manager at The Chippewa Room, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Maryann & Gilligan,

Wow! Perfection is hard to achieve! We are so excited we provided you with great food and service 2 nights in a row. Thank you so much for your patronage and for sharing your review. We are blessed with the best staff in the north as well as the kindest guests.

Cheers,

Katie Kosorski
Audie's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The chippewa room had a great casual fine dining atmosphere. The prime rib is to die for and my wife loved her seafood alfredo. Our waitress, Lark, even asked us if it was a special occasion. When we told her it was our anniversary, she went and grabbed a michigan maple sundae for us at no cost. I am definitely looking forward to next year and another great experience at Audie's.

1  Thank kevinoR732BY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudiesRestaurant, General Manager at The Chippewa Room, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Kevin O,

Thank you for the rave review of your dining experience in our Chippewa Room. Congratulations on your anniversary! I would like to thank you for celebrating with us. We try to offer a great atmosphere for celebrations, excellent service, and outstanding food. We slow roast our Prime Rib all day Friday and Saturday to serve our guests a tender and delicious meal. Our alfredo sauce is made from scratch---to order! It starts with butter, cream and parmesan cheese each and every time. Nick created our Michigan Maple sundae a couple years back and it has been a huge hit. We are excited to become a part of your anniversary tradition.

Cheers,

Katie Kosorski
Audie's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chippewa Room also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to The Chippewa Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing