We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible Customer Service No Carmel Corn”

Alice's Kandy and Korn
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Horrible Customer Service No Carmel Corn”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have been going to Alice's for fudge and Carmel corn since I have been 5 years old. I just turned 50 and let me tell you, the past 5 years of my annual visit has been horrid. I have come come empty handed, but to top it all, they were open, the sign said open, but the man running the show is RUDE. We asked him to refill our bucket with cheese corn. He replied, we don't have any. We asked for caramel corn and he replied, we don't have any. No further how about... Or..... Nothing, nada, just rude and to the point. Let's just say my refillable buckets of old are now in a landfill. My annual visit to what was once a nice family run establishment has ended. Out with the old, in with the new... Hello Murdick...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GLOBAL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlicesKandyandKorn, Owner at Alice's Kandy and Korn, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We are sorry to hear you had such a terrible experience when you last visited Alice’s. We are excited to announce that Chuck and Ginny Brew (the original owners) are back as of May 1st, 2014, and are making fresh Cheese Corn and Karmel Korn every single day. We also would like to thank you for your years of patronage and hope that you may someday come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    0
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Great caramel corn”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I think this place has the best caramel corn in the area. Prices are reasonable and they have a good selection of candy. It's close to the ferry docks but not in the main group of shops. It's definitely worth the short walk or drive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rameyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Huge mistake”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This has been a favorite but not anymore. Not like it used to be kinda burnt flavor and not as Carmella as it was before New owner new recipe huge mistake

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mom6647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlicesKandyandKorn, Owner at Alice's Kandy and Korn, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We are sorry to hear you had such a terrible experience when you last visited Alice’s. We are excited to announce that Chuck and Ginny Brew (the original owners) are back as of May 1st, 2014, and are making fresh Cheese Corn and Karmel Korn every single day. We also would like to thank you for your years of patronage and hope that you may someday come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comins
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“stale caramel corn”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The man sold us a $10.00 bag of stale caramel corn from an old tin under the table. He would not replace the caramel corn or talk to us about it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlicesKandyandKorn, Manager at Alice's Kandy and Korn, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We are sorry to hear you had such a terrible experience when you last visited Alice’s. We are excited to announce that Chuck and Ginny Brew (the original owners) are back as of May 1st, 2014, and are making fresh Karmel Korn every single day. We also would like to thank you for your patronage and hope that you may someday come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice's Kandy and Korn also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Alice's Kandy and Korn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing