We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bayside Hotel of Mackinaw
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Lakeside(Mackinaw City)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Motel(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$81
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamplighter Motel(Mackinaw City)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
21
18
23
32
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
18
23
32
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisland ferrywould stay againdonutspool and hot tubnice staypillows
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 146 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked online, so we believed the nice pictures and descriptions. NOT TRUE! The rooms are so small, i couldnt even set up my sons pack and play and still have room to walk! I was so disappointed that my husband went and requested a refund. The only good thing i can say about this hotel is the lady at the front desk (Ingrid) transfered us to the hamilton for only 55 dollars more then we were already paying. I will never book here again. Just beware of fake descriptions

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pandasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed at the Bayside in Mackinaw City in June 2013. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The problems that I had were with the room. On the first night the closet door fell off and almost injured me and the airconditioner was leaking. When the housekeeping staff came in there were baskets and carts blocking the elevator. The breakfast in the morning was great, they have something for everyone. The waterpark was alot of fun, but the pool and hot tub were very dirty. I dont think the filters were working in either, stuff was floating every where and there was way to much clorine. When we did have issues the staff was quick to try and resolve them. Another issue that we had was the housekeeper unpluged the electronics that we had charging, so we came back to half charged cameras and phones.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masonjar2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We travel to Mackinaw City at least once a summer. We chose this hotel based on availability.

The good:
The bed was clean and comfortable.
The lady at the front desk was nice.

The bad:
The non-smoking room had definitely been smoked in.
On top of the smoke smell, the carpet had a musty smell.
The handicap accessible shower (which we did not need) had a broken drain cover.
The shower had a single fixed position, straight down. Try showering 6 inches away from the wall.
The supports under the sink were rough lumber and plywood, unpainted, unfinished and visible.
The light next to the bed flickered non stop when on.
The "free breakfast" was in the connecting Comfort Suites. The line was 1 hour long. We went elsewhere to get breakfast.
The elevator had popcorn, crumbs and shells of some kind on the floor when we checked in. The same debris was there when we checked out.
A couple that we met there checked out a day early. They had prepaid for two nights and forfeited there second night.

We will not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere. There are better value hotels in the area.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cotto19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

A computer crash caused reservations to be lost. Half our party was asked to switch to another owned property. We were told by the Bayside that the entire group had been moved, that the sister property was next door, and that all amenities at both hotels could be utilized. Don't believe anything Bayside says. The sister property was down the street, the entire party had NOT been moved, the hotel (The Fairview Beachfront Inn) that 1/2 our party was moved to was a TERRIBLE hotel that shouldn't be in operation. The Bayside was run down. We waited 20 minutes in line to have a TERRIBLE breakfast. The only thing that was satisfying was that the kids enjoyed the waterpark. This is a bare minimum hotel. You can do better.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any large groups staying at the hotel during your stay; high school groups, soccer teams, or family reunions. Then, book somewhere else.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellye p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We booked this hotel through bidding on Priceline. Was hoping to get the holiday inn express but ended here. The bidding price was $58 at memorial day weekend. So not bad, we got this minimum bidding price from bidpricecheck.com service. The hotel is ok. We got two queen bed rooms. Very standard. The excitement is they share a indoor water park with comfort suites and you can access the waterpark from 3rd floor directly. So there is no need to go out of the hotels. They serve hot complemental breakfast in the morning with scrambled eggs and sausages. Pretty good, but not great.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank meleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews