We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prices went up and the service went down, new management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starlite Budget Inns
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
299 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Prices went up and the service went down, new management”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Bonnie is gone and so is the friendly service. We have been going here for years and liked the friendly service, but that is now gone. You can't even call the hotel, you have to come through a central reservation desk that supports multiple hotels. The prices have also gone up from the previous years. I doubt that we will be back

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HyattHilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starlitebudgetinn, Owner at Starlite Budget Inns, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
We are so sorry you were dissatisfied with your stay. I do want to explain that our prices have
been the same for several years with no price increase even though costs have risen.
However, prices are different for different times of the year and Friday and Saturday is always
more than Sunday Through Thursday. The off-season prices are in effect until last weekend in
June when summer rates begin. We have always had our reservations lines ring into our Central Office. The resident manager has no control over these policies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    21
    9
    12
    7
See reviews for
18
33
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Daggett, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My Wife & I stayed here this past weekend 6/21/14 the rooms were clean and nice we had no problems friendly guest' grounds where clean and nice[ price was right ]'the hotels down by the city I think are a little over price but what do you expect for 52.00 a night great job starlight we will be back had a great time thanks the MIchels

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 324Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starlitebudgetinn, Owner at Starlite Budget Inns, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our friendly staff all try very hard to please all our
customers by provided a clean, comfortable environment at a very reasonable price.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The service was good, but my room was dirty. Slugs climbing on walls, flies, spiders, cobwebs, finger smears on walls and water smelled like sewage. Room smelled musty and breakfast was pretty much first come first serve, stale bagels. Will not return to this motel again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chevyguy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starlitebudgetinn, Owner at Starlite Budget Inns, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
The manager in charge at that time and her housekeeping staff are no longer working
for the Starlite Budget Inn. As you can tell from the more current reviews the new resident
manager offers a much more clean, comfortable, friendly lodging facility. We are truly
sorry the problem was not corrected earlier and that your stay was not a pleasant experience.
We try to insure that everyone enjoys their time in Mackinaw City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

Mackinaw City, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Came here because the other nearby hotels were full. Regret ensued. The first room that we were assigned to was a mess - first and foremost, the electricity was completely dead. Two beds were crammed haphazardly into a tiny room, hardly bigger than a walk in closet, and one of the beds had no bedding. We were transferred to a larger room - an improvement over the original, but not by much. The floor could use a good sweeping, and i would not suggest showering or using the water during your stay here, as the hot water runs yellow and the cold water smells faintly of sulfur. The pillowcases were definitely not clean - they smelled like greasy scalps. The tv in the separated room didn't work at all; the tv in the main room was missing a remote. The owner was nice at least - she gave us the bigger room for no extra charge.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LysaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starlitebudgetinn, Owner at Starlite Budget Inns, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
The manager at that time is no longer employed by the Starlite Budget Inn and we are
very sorry you had such a bad experience. The reviews from the next season show the
improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here only because we had been traveling all day and were tired from driving and driving around trying to find a place to stay. It was Labor Day weekend so most places were charging WAAY too much for a basic room. We got a room that had dirty fingerprints alllll over the walls (would be so easy to clean!!), it smelled awful, the windows would not lock, had no screens, there were dead bugs in the window wells that easily should have been picked up and dumped. The refrigerator didn't work. The bed was hard and TINY for two people. In the morning there was a massive spider in the tub, the butt bucket outside was a coffee can that had about 200 butts in it. So many easy quick things could have been to make our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CassiePeterson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starlitebudgetinn, Owner at Starlite Budget Inns, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Again, the manager at that time was not doing the proper job. The new manager makes sure
the rooms and property are clean and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Highly recommended. Bonnie, the owner/manager, does a great job and gives recommendations for the area. rooms were clean, breakfast was excellent. Outdoor pool was nice and there were bar-b-q grills for guests to use on the spacious grounds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Starlight budget inn two nights. The pool was filthy. The WiFi wasn't working. The room had an old stale musty smell. No coffee in room as advertised. We found numerous spiders in the room. Shower pressure was a trickle and not very warm. Snack room only had pop. Thought we would save some money, lesson learned.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PnPRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.1 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Budget Inn Mackinaw
Budget Inn Mackinaw
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#13 of 39 in Mackinaw City
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlite Budget Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Budget Inns

Property: Starlite Budget Inns
Address: 116 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9652
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Starlite Budget Inns 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starlite Budget Inn has re-opened under new ownership. We are known in the Mackinaw area to provide friendly hospitality at budget prices. Our goal is to offer clean, quiet, comfortable rooms to fit any budget.The Starlite Budget Inn is located near Ferries to Mackinac Island, shopping, restaurants and Waterpark. All 1st floor rooms Park in front of your door. Single,double,adjoining,family rooms and King jacuzzi rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Starlite Budget Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Budget Inns Hotel Mackinaw City
Budget Inn Starlite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing