We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Clean - Very Safe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very Clean - Very Safe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2006

I am single female that travels alone for business. I only stay at properties that make me feel safe. I have been using the Hamilton for about a year now, and I can honestly say that it is the cleanest, safest place I have ever stayed on my sales route. The breakfast is bountiful and the security is good.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    148
    131
    96
    196
See reviews for
317
262
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
detroit
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2006

Stayed here beginning of February. Room was clean. Staff was mainly indifferent. Didn't seem to care if we were there or not. Breakfast although plentiful, was not of good quality.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2006

Manager never returned my calls - caught him after 4 days of my calling the hotel.

Room - very dirty - candy wrappers on floor glass rings on nightstand juice box and straw on floor under bed

Breakfast bar barely edible - stick to waffles... cereal & bread stale, eggs - powered, sausage - not sure it was even a meat product, fruit - soggy canned stuff! TERRIBLE!


Hotel charged my CC# with an extra night - said I moved to a jacuzi room - NOT TRUE

Spent days trying to resolve with hotel staff - no manager help - ended up having to dispute charge

STAY CLEAR!!!!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank egarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2006

I stayed in December and asked to have my Daughter and small children be able to sign in if I wasn't there. They had my credit card # and was confirmed no problem the day I called for reservations. The day we were to arrive by phone call (earlier that afternoon-evening), They still said No problem. Well my daughter got there and was told they couldn't get into the room with the kids. This was around midnight and they had traveled over 7 hours. My daughter had to come across the bridge to find us. I asked to have the manager call me. The manager never called me back and I finally on the 18th of January called again (after I had called 2 other times in Dec and once in Jan) and the manager hung up on me before talking to me. This is no way to run a motel. The rest of the experience was ok. The room was clean, the help at the desk was so sorry and said they would have the manager call me.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2005

This place is a joke and so are the owners they own eight hotels there the Best Western, Both Super 8's, Econo Lodge, Comfort Suites, Clarion, Quality Inn. We made reservations here when we arrived they said they had no reservation under our name I gave them our confirmation number and the saud they still couldn't find it. So after 30 mins of wasting time they tried to send us to some of the other dumps that were mentioned above, needless to stay we had to find accomodations in anothe city because the great hospitable people at the hamilton don't care about customer service they just care about ripping customer off.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2005

Our experience at this hotel was extremely poor. Front desk staff were rude and arrogant. They do not have the basics of customer satisfaction, an unhappy customer can eventually ruin any business. We were kept waiting in line, and then kept waiting to see someone who supposedly had authority. It was clear no one was really in charge of anything. The staff were in jeans and t shirts with no name tags so it was difficult to know who exactly we were dealing with. With so much wonderful competition out there, be sure and stay at a place that has a reputation that is built on customer service and knowing how to deliver that service.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2005

This stay was for a special occasion of my parents 59th wedding anniversay. As they went to Mackinaw on their honeymoon they thought it would be interesting to return one more time. From all the reviews I read there didn't seem to be any place better than this location. The rate was a little higher than others but I thought it would be worth the money. From the moment they arrived it was a lot less than average. The staff was totally unhelpful and were much more interested in their social life than in accomodating their guests. I'm a travel expert and I was very disappointed in what they had to say about the experience. They never complain and yet they said it took 45 minutes to get a cart to more their luggage, the staff was not helpful in the least, the bed was terribly uncomfortable, the room was a little worn and overall they would never recommend this property to anyone. I unfortunately had booked them in for 3 nights thinking it would be a real pleasure but that could not have been further from the truth. Sometimes it all goes well and sometimes it doesn't but I just wished this had been a better experience for them.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bridge Vista Beach Hotel & Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.4 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront

Property: Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Address: 701 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9664
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront Hotel Mackinaw City
Hamilton Hotel Mackinaw City
Hamilton Hotel Select Beachfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing