We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Beautiful View”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

When we first arrived at the hotel, they had a problem with our reservation so they upgraded our room at a small fee. The room was so hot and was set up so there was one room with a queen bed, then a bathroom and then a large room with a King bed. The AC was in the big room and took forever to reach the first room. The ad said elevator to all floors, but we were on the 4th floor and the elevator only went to the 3rd. We had to walk up 16 steps. The ad also said free access to 3 waterparks, but we only free access to 1 waterpark and it was just for kids. We would have to pay $6 a person to go the adult waterpark. The sink was very slow for the first part of our stay, but then totally plugged by the end. Apart from these things, we really enjoyed it. The view was so beautiful and the worth what we paid. The breakfast was delicious and a good variety. The pool was okay. The rooms were clean. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    155
    135
    103
    206
See reviews for
349
278
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Room was fine, but a little dated. Our shower drain was very slow, but someone arrived promptly to clear it. No problems after that. The kids enjoyed the pool. We arrived after 8pm and left before 9am, so we really didn't have much time to look around the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarcethings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MI
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is one that we revisit over & over again. The rates are great. It is next door to the Star Ferry lines, which is very convenient if traveling to Mackinaw Island, no need to drive your car & do a shuttle. The staff is mostly Jamaican, & do a great job of keeping on top of everything. The breakfast room is large. This is perfect, as it is a large hotel. Good beach. Close to walking to town. Rooms are clean. Try to get a balcony room to view the Star Lines & lake.

Room Tip: Third floor balconies are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teachall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I don't believe this is the newest hotel in Mackinaw City. The rooms are small and dated. The breakfast bar is loaded with bread products, over cooked scrambled eggs, thin gravy to go over poor quality biscuits. When we first got to our room we considered not staying but decided to give it one night. We eventually decided to stay for duration of trip, primarily because we didn't want to hassle with looking for another place. If we make the trip again we wil not stay in Mackinaw City, but more likely Petoskey, which we enjoyed much more than MC. The purpose of our trip was to go to Mackinac Island, which turned out to be a bit of a disappointment, unless you like fudge shops, which there is an over abundance of.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank raltur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as our launching site to mackinaw island. Staff was very helpful to walking through everything with us. The room was large and clean. The free breakfast was good but fresh fruit would go a long way instead of canned.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boyd4715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Kari and I stayed at the Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront for the second time this May, and we were generally very happy with our stay. There are places for improvement - the swimming pool looked like someone went from the beach directly to the pool, and room service would be a huge plus. What we love best about this hotel is their customer service. The staff is always nice and accomidating, and we have found that the front desk is very informative. The rooms to get are the ones facing Lake Michigan, and we were fortunate to have a first floor room that allowed us to hear the waves, and watch the Memorial Day fireworks in the City. One of the perks to the Hamilton Inn is that it is close enough to walk to the Downtown, and the Star Line is right next door, ready to take guests to Mackinac Island.

Room Tip: Anything that faces the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nardecaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

"My husband and I went there to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. It was one of the nicest facilities we have stayed at. Very clean, friendly staff, and an amazing breakfast bar. Have already referred a friend who will be staying there. Loved the memory foam bed."

Room Tip: Stay on the beach side and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#13 of 39 in Mackinaw City
213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront

Property: Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Address: 701 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9664
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront Hotel Mackinaw City
Hamilton Hotel Mackinaw City
Hamilton Hotel Select Beachfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing