We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as our launching site to mackinaw island. Staff was very helpful to walking through everything with us. The room was large and clean. The free breakfast was good but fresh fruit would go a long way instead of canned.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boyd4715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    148
    131
    96
    196
See reviews for
317
262
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westland, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Kari and I stayed at the Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront for the second time this May, and we were generally very happy with our stay. There are places for improvement - the swimming pool looked like someone went from the beach directly to the pool, and room service would be a huge plus. What we love best about this hotel is their customer service. The staff is always nice and accomidating, and we have found that the front desk is very informative. The rooms to get are the ones facing Lake Michigan, and we were fortunate to have a first floor room that allowed us to hear the waves, and watch the Memorial Day fireworks in the City. One of the perks to the Hamilton Inn is that it is close enough to walk to the Downtown, and the Star Line is right next door, ready to take guests to Mackinac Island.

Room Tip: Anything that faces the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nardecaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

"My husband and I went there to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. It was one of the nicest facilities we have stayed at. Very clean, friendly staff, and an amazing breakfast bar. Have already referred a friend who will be staying there. Loved the memory foam bed."

Room Tip: Stay on the beach side and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I make an annual trip to Mackinaw to celebrate our anniversary. Normally we stay at the Best Western down the street and have never been dissappointed.
This year because of apparent renovations or just bad timing, our usual hotel was closed with a sign that directed us here. In fact I think nearly every hotel on the drag was closed with signs telling you to come here, as I recall.
The room we were given was very clean and top notch, and the staggering view of the lake from it or sitting on the small but adequate patio is a memory my wife and I will always savor.
I do believe the rooms are over priced, but for what we got with view and everything I can overlook that.
What I cant overlook is that after I paid for our room for our 3 day stay with a debit card, a mystery $55 charge was in the total that I did not discover until a few days later when I called my card to check the balance. Eventually this charge dissappeared and the money was back in my account, but as to whether it was some odd amount debit hold or something else....who knows.
Also was not impressed with staff, most of whom seemed either indifferent or annoyed. The woman who checked us in spoke such broken english she reminded me of the people I talk to when I call customer service for my credit cards. The housekeeper was very friendly.
Personally I dont foresee staying here again, but as Ive stated before, nice view.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ezrapound1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I were moved to this hotel when the Super 8 we had made reservations for didn't open in time to make our reservations. I was very skeptical because I hadn't researched it and we were moved unexpectedly. However, when we got here we had a beautiful view of Lake Michigan from the balcony of our room. The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean and neatly decorated. They have a huge breakfast buffet and the staff is incredibly friendly. It's a great place to stay and next door to the Star Line boats to the Island!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms add a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishpeming, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and 2 young kids as a place to sleep on a long road trip (we arrived at 8:30 at night and left at 9:30 the following morning). For this short stay, and the great off-season rate we received, it was great and I would return.
Pros: Great offseason rate, friendly staff, pool open late (great to tire out the kids before bed after riding in the car for a long time), nice breakfast are with decent food (but bad coffee).
Cons: Hotel could use a "refresh" (carpeting and paint seems worn, pain in pool is chipping), our room wasn't extremely clean (my 15month daughter found a hair tie covered with hair next to the phone, and also random stickers in the room, there was melted ice cream in the refrigerator).

For the rate and location, I was happy with this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UPtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed for one night and it was very nice. The lobby was beautiful, the room was nice, and the continental breakfast was decent. I did have a hard time sleeping because of loud people walking in the halls, so the walls are thin. It was very inexpensive, yet a very good quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desifoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bridge Vista Beach Hotel & Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.4 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront

Property: Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Address: 701 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9664
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront Hotel Mackinaw City
Hamilton Hotel Mackinaw City
Hamilton Hotel Select Beachfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing